We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Club Med Avoriaz(Avoriaz)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
633
342
65
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
342
65
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenski schoolunderground car parkswimming poolamazing viewsextra costreception staffdishwasher tabsspa facilitiesski lockersbed apartmentexcellent apartmentmin walkhot tubwashing machinewinter holidayhorse and cart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This year the resort was finished (almost!).

We were given the Amanda apartments which was better than the duplex in Prana we had last year.
It was all on one level with an extra bathroom we didn't use despite the fact there were nine of us staying in the same apartment.

The views were still very good.

The kitchen was well appointed but could have done with instructions for the ovens and hob but we worked it out in the end.

The lift system to our apartment was a little confusing. At first you had to get a lift to the 5th floor then walk along the corridor and catch another lift to the 7th floor by pushing number 4 in the lift!
It was much easier to move between the buildings by going outside rather than use the rabbit warren of underground corridors.

The barman was friendly and we ate at the pizza restaurant in the complex, which was really good.

We did have to speak to housekeeping as there was dog do on the balcony when we arrived. This was very quickly sorted out!
We also had an issue with a set of curtains in one of the bedrooms, the safe wouldn't open, the windows weren't very clean and some of the lights didn't work. There was also a lack of towels for nine people and no bathrobes.
The safe issue wasn't resolved, the curtains were fixed quickly, rooms stayed dark and the windows dirty. Fresh towels and extra robes appeared soon.
One of the toilets was constantly running water and a chap came to fix it later in the evening. It couldn't be fixed that night but he did come back the next day and all was well afterwards.

We used the bakery order once and it was very good but it was just as easy to nip to the bakers in Avoriaz, thank you GW!

The ski locker was great but not enough boot warming sticks. The ski in-out couldn't have been better.

Having seen so many visitors lugging their luggage around Avoriaz I'm so glad of the underground parking, well worth the E80.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p1ngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed one week with two families (4 adults & 2 children) in a 6-persons apartment of L'amara. Very clean appartement with all required comfort. Very good isolated apartment, resulting in good temperature and no noise disturbance from outside or from neighbours. Two bathrooms, providing the privacy for two families. Perfect accomodations to place all ski equipment, with direct access to the ski resort. Car parking at arrival under the hotel. Conclusion: everything was available to have an outstanding week! We'll probably go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip_De_Mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've skied for 30 years, so I've done the rounds of hotels, chalets and self-catering in my time. We went as a family of 7 to a medium size apartment at l'Amara. There were two compact double bedrooms (en suite), a compact twin room, and extra bathroom and toilet in the hall. The crowning glory, though, was the spacious living / dining area (with excellent sofabed). We really appreciated the space, and the lack of hassle from chambermaids etc, not to mention the cable TV with several English language channels (surprisingly uncommon in France). The reception staff were uniformly lovely and helpful.
The ski storage area was excellent there was actually enough space for skis and boots for everyone; and the heated boot locker meant that I didn't have to dislocate my ankles every day to fit into my stiff boots.
The free wifi was great at keeping everyone sweet, though we actually used up the allocation of 5 devices. So I ran my laptop as a hub for the extra i-devices.
The pool was lovely (remember there's the big Aquariaz in the middle of the resort, too); and there was a nice bar in reception.
Any drawbacks? Well, there's a 5 minute walk up the hill to get to the supermarkets and restaurants in la Falaise. But otherwise, an excellent stay - recommended, and we'll probably come back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiggerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed at L'Amara with my wife and two boys (3,6) for 7 nights from the 23rd March 2013. We were in a two bed apartment over two floors in the Dharma building on the 7th floor with stunning views down the valley to Morzine (and incredible sunsets on a clear day).
The apartment was superbly finished and there were lots of nice touches. The shower in the ensuite was great and the flat screen TVs (one in the sitting room, one in the main bedroom) had lots of British channels including CBeebies for the kids.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and the reception building had a bar - in addition there were two restaurants in separate buildings on site (Le Lodge and Le Grand Cafe). The Sherpa supermarket was around 200m away in La Falaise area where there were more restuarants and a bakery - although you can pre-order bread/croissants etc at L'Amara reception.
The pool was fantastic (and there was also a spa, gym and a creche/kids club which we didn't use so can't comment on)
It's ski-in/ski-out and there's a pick up every morning from the Village des Enfants ski school.
There's also two Skiset shops on site which made picking up and dropping off our kit very easy.
Truly a great family holiday with great memories of L'Amara

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with views down the valley
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for a ski trip of a life time with a group of six. I had no idea about the place as it was a prebooked trip by my father in law. A van picked us up from the airport. It was an hour or so to the destination from Geneva airport but was worth it. As we approached the resort it was blazing hot with the most amazing views. I was taking photos all the way up to the resort at around 2700m. The whole resort is an architects work of art. The buildings look futuristic with the edges and curves resembling rock faces. The resort has the most amazing view from the reception area as its right over the cliff top with views over looking the setting sun. It's has the "wow" factor when you walk in! You can see a jacuzzi on the balcony as you enter the reception. It's the highest standard of luxury and modern decor. Our chalet had a ski-up balcony with a large modern kitchen with induction hobs, 2 on sweet rooms and a room with bathroom next to it. It has a cosy lounge and a wonderful feel. We had a huge wooden dining table and cooked 4 nights whilst we were there. We also had a ski equipment lock up room. There is a large sauna and spa on the 3rd floor. The sauna and pool is free but the outdoor jacuzzi is 10 euros each. You can book ski lessons and even order baguettes and fresh croissants every day from reception. The town of Avoriaz is a walk away or by horse and cart or ski buggy trips running regularly. You even get a free sledge for the kids! We used ours to carry the shopping bags from the local super market. Ski hire shops are just outside reception. The town is like being in Narnia and a winter wonderland at night. There is a buzz in town with lots of bars and things to do for all kids/teenagers. There are wonderful restaurants and these are of a really high standard. The skiing is out of this world with runs for beginners to the professionals. You can even ski to Switzerland or Morzine. This is the most amazing place! The best in Avoriaz! Thanks Mike and Liana!

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Trevis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews