We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snoboard class 1”
Review of ESF Avoriaz 1800

ESF Avoriaz 1800
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Avoriaz
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“snoboard class 1”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

the reception was very helpful and informative even we missed ou first class so they told us to go for the afternoon session the class is a bit big 12 student with one instructor is not the best go but it is fair for the money the instructors are helpfull and funny ... really progressed

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank eliebarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    51
    15
    10
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great private ski instructor”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great Ski instructor, French lady who spoke good English, very professional and they gave us much better prices than the English ski school!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZambiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Strong on technique, weak on safety”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

ESF have excellent skiers who can readily demonstrate good skiing technique, sadly they put far too much importance on skiing fast. Who are the fastest skiers on most blue runs, the ESF Instructors racing to their next lesson!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ESF instructors waste of money!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Me and my family had booked lessons with ESF I was not impressed at all. The young French instructor who spoke fairly good English taught us in a group of 8 adult beginners. One of the girls fell over and he made her feel likes she shouldnt of been doing that after lesson day 2!!! His attitude towards us was terrible he would humph and sigh if someone fell over and held up the group, no attempt to go and help, surely when you are learning to ski it's all about confidence building etc and there was no encouragement from him ie "you done well today or you could practice this to help ski better" whilst we were skiing around morzine I noticed there were one to one British ski instructors who seemed far better, I wish I had booked them and paid a bit extra. Also the children's groups were terrible my daughters nicknamed one of the old female instructors "battle axe" as she was awful to the kids! I saw it for my own eyes when whilst skiing around the resort this female instructor was shouting at a poor little 4 year old boy who fell over and started to cry whilst skiing down the hill, I'm sorry but if that was my child I wouldn't of been happy at all! Don't use ESF!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shoppamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent teachers, not enough availability”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The quality of the teachers (technical skills, patience, knowledge of the area, experience) is unbeatable for adults and children. We only wish the could offer more courses and teachers. For children they offer a very small canteen service (only available for 12 students in the whole ski resort) which is not as convenient as the village des enfants where the teaching is a B+ but they provide specifically services geared to children (canteen with excellent food, picnics in the mountains, day care services etc.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank evelynegomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ESF Avoriaz 1800 also viewed

 
Avoriaz, Morzine
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to ESF Avoriaz 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing