We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Basic accomodation and whilst they could improve with a lick of paint, it is a great base in the centre of the resort, near to everything you need. Been there before and would definitely return. Don't be put off by poor reports!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
2  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

- The day of the arrival we found the dish-ware and the kitchen tools dirty;
- The apartment we've been staying was badly located, at the corner of a major crossroad in Avoriaz, therefore very noisy (due to snowmobiles, sleighs and people in the street): it's been impossible to sleep for us and our two small daughters for the whole week;
- The staff (receptionists and residence director, M.me Sylvie Lobato Barata) was not helpful at all, unable (or not willing) to address our complaints: we called, complained, argued every single day without any results;
- Given all the above, we eventually decided to leave one day before planned, as soon as the skiing courses (we had paid in advance) were over;
- Despite a call from the residence director a few hours after we've left, and an email from Pierre & Vacances customer services, both promising to look into the matter, so far (more than a three months!!!) nobody contacted us again: this is ridiculous!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank morrisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is the 2nd year we went to Avoriaz for snowboarding. Instead of staying in a friendly and fancy catered Chalet near Morzine as we did last year, we enjoyed Avoriaz so much that we want to stay directly at the centre of Avoriaz this year. Base on our vague memory ;) , we picked Residence les Fontaines Blanches.


Location:

What can we say? Unbeatable! Ski-in Ski-out! In the middle of everything, within 2-5 minutes walk to shops, bank, supermarket, skipass ticket counter, post office, tourism office, restaurants, ski lifts, kiosk (right in opposite/next to the hotel) , kids sking area (kids village), skate ring, and maybe a few minutes more by walk to the new Aquariaz, cinema and bowling.

There are more fancy departments/hotels up in the mountain or at other areas within Avoriaz, but after looking around, we truly decided that there is no better place or location except for the hotel/ residences situated in the same 'street' of Fontaines Blanches. Who wants to drag their groceries (or their own bodies after a big meal/ big party :p ) for a long walk back to their fancy hotels up in the mountain in -20C ?

Of course, it is a personal choice. For us, we prefer convenience and great value. :D

The Room/Stuido:

We stayed on the 2nd floor at a Studio that can fit up to 4, so it was spacious enough for the two of us.

Double bed at corridor (opposite to toilet), people who sleep there may find it cold at night as there is no heater there. If you keep the door between corridor and studio open (see photos), then it should be a bit warmer.

Bathroom can be found right at the right-hand side when you enter the room and a small built-in Closet at the left-hand side where you can find extra bedding stuff and a vacuum cleaner.

When you walk pass the corridor, you will find an open kitchen on the left-hand side, with a small fridge, four electronic plates for cooking, a microwave and a big dish washer. you can see two single bed/sofa in this living/sleeping/dinning area. a coffee table , a dinner table with 4 chairs and a dresser.

The room is not so noisy at all. It is probably because we went their during the "off-season" weeks in mid-Jan. The only disturbing noise we had was on a Tuesday, probably due to shuttle loading foods/trashes around 7am in the morning. I would say except a few noises from people walking their way back to their home after partying now and then, it is

The negatives:

- No curtain in the shower and no shower head holder. (well, the staff at the reception was friendly and gave us enough bathroom carpet to soak the water on the floor, not pleasant, but manageable as there were only tow of us)
- No oven.
- No bed lining for the fleece-liked blankets, we admitted that we do not enjoy letting our skin to have direct-contact with the fleece blankets, so we use another bedsheets in-between.

The positives:

** Very helpful and friendly staffs, though their organizations can be a bit chaotic, they were always ready to help/ fix the mistakes. e.g. we found out the heater cable was torn a bit and the heater did not function probably on Sat evening when we arrived. They had a technician over to check and give it a temporary fix at 8:30pm!!! and next day on a SUNDAY morning at 9am, another technician (we were told in advance) came and changed the whole heater within 15 minutes. **

- Cleaning kit is provided with two small drying/cleaning clothes, one universal cleaner, one detergent-125ml each , even a 5 dishwasher tabs too.
- Facial towel and bath towels are provided (guess it is something new as I read some where that people used to need to bring their own towels.)
- Digital TV with lots of channel to choose from e.g. BBC/ZDF/Euronews in 5 languages...etc. (we don't watch TV, but some of you may want to know ;) )
- The management definitely knows how to do business and listen to customers, they improve the reception hours, you can reach them everyday at specified time for any inquiry/ assistance/ complaint.
- Internet is charged at decent price and quick with either cable or wifi (depending on your room) cable 15Euro per week, wifi 20Euro per week.

Tips:

- *Important* It is not a hotel but self-catered apartments,so like other reviewers said, the room is very basic and can even be a bit old at times, but it offers great value and is super clean & tidy. The staffs are always ready to help. Know what to expect and you should have a very pleasant stay here.
- They have lots of magazines (marie clare, cosmopolitan in FRENCH etc) behind the reception, they are free, all you need is to ask them politely (I saw an old French lady did it and followed suit :p)
- For those who have more than one Wi-Fi enabled devices and only get a cable for his room (like us), take a look how to set up an ad-hoc hotspot with your own laptop. ;-)
- Try to book near mid-Jan if your schedule is flexible, it is sort of off seasons and rooms are general cheaper for the whole area, with almost no queue for the ski-lifts and good quality of snow (sounds good, right?).

Wow! Sorry that I have written so much! I really like Avoriaz as a ski resort and can't help to share with others. :D

Room Tip: For studio rooms, they are all located on the 2nd to 4th floor, make sure you ask for the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TwinkleLittleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Basic rooms offering great value for groups. Great location, ski in / ski out. Booked direct with P & V, very straightforward, was also cheaper to book the lift passes through them and they were waiting for us at the reception.

Rooms were a bit noisy, especially early in the morning with the snow clearing and deliveries to the shops & restaurants below.

Useful small kitchen, fridge, coffee machine etc. All very clean and tidy.

Would happily stay here again, especially if there's 4 or more people as it offers great value in a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struthiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here in February 2012, really not a nice apartment at all. Reception is only manned on a Saturday then no one is there so any problems u have won't be sorted, first nite we were there the fire alarm went off and stayed on for a few hours. The rooms are extremely basic, I mean really really basic! You have 2 hobs and a microwave, that's your lot, we had to buy cups as the ones provided are smaller than a thimble. The location is amazing ski to the front door and ski from the front door, it's a really handy location. The apartments are old amd not very well decorated and the beds are brutal paper thin mattress but on a good note there's always warm water and a big bath in very room. When u arrive in avoriaz your luggage is put in a lock up and your dumped off in town and you have many hours to kill before uncan check in and be re-united with ur luggage so wear warm clothes. The whole town is snow u will not see grass or road it's lovely to see but bring good boots that are water resistant and that u don't mind getting ruined, women don't bring ur ugg boots they'll get trashed! If u are going self catering there's not a lot of places to eat and avoid the cheese it will give u a sick belly my wife suffered in bed for 2 days. There's not much nite life about, if u are out wrap up warm it's so cold at night, there are no police at all in avoriaz as its so high up. The only way around the town is by foot or a horse and sleigh which can be expensive. The slopes are good and lots of snowpacks for boarders check out the stash by burton it's amazing. I'd go back to avoriaz again maybe but not to these apartments they are grim!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davefairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

These apartments are centrally located, supermarket, pubs, restaurants are on the doorstep as well as doorstep skiing.

I travelled with 4 other people and the only issue I had was with the noise first thing in the morning; we rented two 4/5 person apartments between the 5 of us and got a great price. These apartments are supposed to be suitable for 4/5 people and 5 beds are provided but you wouldn’t want to have more than 4 in occupancy because you would literally be falling over each other.

The resort is car free and I found that the time most of the deliveries are made within the vicinity are from 5.30am daily. I am a light sleeper so the deliveries woke me each morning but this didn’t affect my friends. To be honest, being woken early was a sacrifice I was willing to make given the great location. Essentially, the plus points easily outweigh the negative.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank NICKEVESussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This hotel is located right in the town centre, is ski to door and very handy for the slopes,ski hire,restaurants,supermarket and pattiserie - all only a minute or two walk away.

We had a room for 4/5 people ,you would be pushed to fit in 5 adults but 2 adults and a 10 and 13yr old were fine.

Beds -There was a comfortable double bed in a room which joined the lounge via concertina doors,the other 3 beds were a sofa /bed with a pullout bed underneath and a chair/bed, all in a small lounge area. There were plenty of blankets,but a couple of extra pillows would have been good.Sheets are provided as you check in, although you can pay extra for beds to be made up on arrival.

Lounge- seating space was fine for the 4 of us with 3 on the safa and one on the chair .The TV was on a swing arm and could be watched from the lounge or bedroom.Space was tight but ok as we were out skiing all day.There is a small balcony leading from the lounge.

Kitchen/Dining - There is a small kitchenette with a microwave/grill,fridge ,d/w and sink -no oven. Compact but fine for simple meals.Table with 4 chairs and a stool for the 5th person-good size dining facilities .Tea towels provided in sheet pack but you will need to take everything else.Plenty of crockery and cutllery.

Bathroom - recently refurbished - loads of hot water,good shower ,ample sized bath.Towels not provided and 9 euros to rent so don't forget to take your own.

Ski Lockers - in the main lobby of the hotel,boots need to be stored in your room.

Skiing - Skiing was fab with slopes to suit everyones ability.

This hotel is really good value ,we had a great time and will go back again staying in this same hotel.The only thing really that wasn't so good was our room was above the hotel bar and we heard the music until about 11pm but to be honest we slept through it and it wasn't much of a problem to us,the rest of the benefits cleary outweighed this.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches

Address: 1800 Avoriaz | Place Centrale, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Price Range: £78 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Animation! Car-free resort in the heart of “Les Portes du Soleil” ski area. Near the shop and direct access on skis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing