We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small apartment in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed in Elinka block and had a top floor duplex apartment for 6 with great views. Sofa and pull out bed in the lounge with small double bedroom and a second even smaller bedroom with bunk beds upstairs. Bonus was loads of storage space and an extra loo. Apartment was very nearly ski in/out and although not near the main area, it was only a 10 minute walk away and there was a supermarket, bakery and some restaurants just outside. Only 2 problems; there was no flexibility on arrival date so you have to arrive with the crowds on a Saturday and don't pre book dinner, this means a very limited choice of both restaurants and menu which is not good when you have 4 teenagers to please and oddly it was more expensive to pre book. Skiing area is great, the lift queues can be busy but it was half term week.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in feb 2013. This great value hotel exceeded our expectations, we were expecting a very cramped room for the four of us but actually the room was a reasonable size. A hallway leading into a lounge/kitchen area with a dining table and four chairs, plus a small bedroom with one set of bunk beds. The lounge had two sofa beds with storage draws underneath. There was also a double wardrobe and a second storage cupboard.

Don't expect luxury but if you want a room on a budget this is great. Kitchen was well equipped with the bonus of a small dishwasher.

Location is fantastic, two minutes out the door with a little shushing and your at a lift ready to hit the piste. You can also ski back to the hotel although again a little shushing is required. There are bars, restaurant's, a patisserie, a ski shop and a supermarket all within a 1 minute walk.

If you're a weekend skier like us then this hotel is especially perfect as it's easy to book a short weekend stay, we stayed Thursday to Monday.

I would definitely stay here again, third visit to Morzine/Avoriaz and is the best value hotel I've stayed in. I've stayed in more luxurious places sure but you have to pay for that luxury!

And finally I know the weather doesn't affect the hotel but on our chosen weekend it was awesome! It snowed and snowed and snowed, we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: This is a tall tower block hotel so try and get a lower floor if you want to avoid the lift or the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunGeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed Jan 2013 and out of school holiday time.We had an apartment in Neva block. We had one for 4-5 but 2 of us in it. Plenty of room and storage space. Quiet small block and ski in / out. Easy access to Proclou run to start the morning and runs lead back well.Clean and well stocked but did miss a hair dryer. Good to have a bath after skiing. Shop very near too and bakery next block. Easy ski locker room to access.
Would return if going back to Avoriaz although could be busy in school holiday times.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GrahamandRachel_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I guess satisfaction = expectations minus experience. I did not expect a great deal going in, and was pleasantly surprised. We had five adults in the 1 bed room (+ lounge), and were actually located in Malinka next door, although booked into Saksia Falaise. The bedroom was small, and to all intents and purposes windowless (it had a window, but opened to the elevator access), but nevertheless the bed seemed comfortable enough. They did forget to provide bedding for the 5th bed, but this was rectified after we told them. These are small apartments, but normal for Europe. The location was PERFECT for coming by car (only 2 minutes walk to the car park), but a pain for those coming by Prodains lift (required a transfer by snow bus). It was fairly central to services and we had a great time!

Room Tip: We were given rooms by the elevators - and had some noisy passers-by late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was my first time in Avoriaz and it was that good am booking for next year!! The apartments are in the Falaise district which is a good 5 minute walk from the main Festival area but don't let that put you off as it still has a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops!

The ski in and out wasn't as good as i have experienced before but was fine and the staff were helpful too. The actual apartments have been upgraded recently and had everything we needed! The heating was always on and the views from our 7th floor apartment were amazing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed there in December 2012, with two children. The Falaise area is a reasonable walk into the main village where the ski school is located so I don't recommend it if you have children. The start of our holiday was sadly marred by staff who didn't know how to get to our accommodation and sent us around in circles, this was absolutely terrible in the middle of the night trying to carry all of our bags on our own, there was no help, my daughter slipped over on the wet reception floor and banged her head twice.

The accommodation was basic but adequate, newly refurbished and good for anyone looking for somewhere to sleep. There was quite a lot of noise from people coming back from bars late at night. There are quite a lot of different P&V locations in Avoriaz so you need to be specific about where you are booking.

When we checked out the receptionist asked me if everything was ok with our stay to which I replied that it wasn't, she just shrugged her shoulders and had no interest in asking what problems we had experienced.

Overall I would recommend this to groups of young skiers wanting to go to Avoriaz who don't need to be in the main village and are happy to ski straight out in the morning. For families there are much better choices out there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent_tvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was our first experience of a self catering skiing holiday, so we don't have much by way of reference. I was pleasantly surprised, both by the concept (and the flexibility and relaxing time it provided us - even with having to do the dishes!) and by the way the apartment was thought out.

The apartment was marketed as a 1-bed for up to 5 people. I found it fine for two. It would be a squeeze with any more. At the most, a family would find it meets their needs but it would need discipline in putting things away and keeping the place tidy!

It was clear that the apartment had been renovated fairly recently. It was in the modern bare wood style, which was actually pretty cosy. There was a balcony, in our case overlooking the main Avoriaz ski station and the new Aquariaz water park. The kitchenette was well equipped with appliances, crockery and utensils. There was a four-ring electric hob, a microwave, and a dishwasher. The apartment also had a small wall mounted flat screen TV with a range of channels, including Eurosport, CNN, BBC (One, I think), and other continental channels. A dining table for four, and two sofas which doubled up as beds completed the main living/dining area. This itself opened onto a balcony. We did not use the balcony because of poor weather (constant snow for a week - good for powder skiing, not so good for lingering on balconies...!).

The main bedroom and bathroom completed the apartment. Both were small but functional. There was a bath with over-bath shower. Linen and towels packs with enough for up to five individuals were provided. A cleaning kit, including dishwasher tablets, soap liquid, cleaning cloths, etc., were provided. The main bed was a tad uncomfortable - a bit too soft for my liking, but that's probably just personal preference.

There was just enough storage, but more than a couple (or a family with a lot of toys for the kids) might struggle.

Much has probably already been said about the unique nature of Avoriaz and the arrangements for getting luggage to the apartments. The ethos is very much DIY, which might come as a surprise to those used to the service culture of, say, Swiss resorts. But it generally works if you're prepared. The main issue is arriving late, as we did. Assuming you get up the access road OK (it will be snowy, because it's high: you must have chains, but winter tyres are generally sufficient as it's not too steep) you then need to decide between the outdoor or covered parking. The latter is definitely worth it for the extra EUR10 a week or so. The outdoor parking area is a bit of a hike from the main ski station, and any sort of snow fall will basically bury your car and make getting out a bit of a chore. Go covered, keep your car and its battery healthy, and make getting out painless! The main advantage of Saskia Falaise is that it's right next to the main covered carparks - so it's just about possible to lug your bags to the apartment. A borrowed sled (EUR1 coin deposit) makes things a bit easier. If you arrive in hours, you can summon the services of a snowcat.

I've always been a bit perplexed why some people prize 'ski in, ski out' convenience so much. What's wrong with a bit of walking? Like most places in Avoriaz, the accommodation is right on the snow. But while it's true that you can clip in right at the door, you're still going to be poling/walking/skating a bit to get to the bits of the town you want to get to, or the lifts you need. So is it really that much more convenient? That's perhaps the price you pay for being so close to the resort car park: it's a little bit further from the centre of town and the lifts. It's no more than a 5 minute walk, though. And it's probably a good deal quieter than being right on top of the main commercial strip.

The resort works quite well. It's organised. There is frequent snow clearance (they really needed it the week we were there!), there's plenty of recycling facilities, quite a few ski shops, supermarkets, and transport (horse drawn or diesel powered). There was a festive ambience. While it's car-free, the number of snowcats and skidoos moving around means that it's not really traffic free. The new Aquariaz place was great.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastcar0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
3.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#20 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise

Address: 90 rue du Douchka, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range: £72 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic doorstep skiing.Central lively location in the heart of "La Falaise". Panoramic views of the Morzine Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Falaise
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Falaise Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing