We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adequate, clean and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed in a one room apartment in the P&V La Falaise area of Avoriaz. The apartment was clean with nothing broken etc. It was nice and warm even when below -20C outside. There was enough storage space provided for 2 adults and 2 children. Odd things - no tea cups/mugs but there were expresso cups, no teapot or kettle but a coffee perculator - so very continental. We used the bowls for our tea, like you would use for cider in France. Plenty of hot water, a handheld shower, but we were glad of the bath after skiing all day. We were located on one of the lower floors to the back, and it was very quite, only the sound of the snow ploughs grooming the slopes to disturb you slightly. Overall we were happy with the accommadation and wouldn't have any problems staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofu_tengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    305
    156
    81
    42
See reviews for
477
93
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Booked a package through expedia, 2 studio rooms for 4 people. It would have made sense that they booked both rooms in the same building, they didn't. Perhaps request that in your reservation as there are 5 different buildings. The studio room advertised sleeps 3/4 - 2 adults on the couch and small bunk beds for kids. One small bathroom. 4 is a stretch. Liked having the small kitchen facilities and the supermarkets a short walk away. Asked for a late check out as our transfers left at 4pm, the ladies at receptions quoted me 99euros for an extra night.... later on, asked the guy at another reception and he quoted 30euros for a late check out at 6pm. Those girls were cows, trying to scam money off the top, beware. Otherwise, clean basic accommodation, would stay there again.
Modems are available for 15 euros extra for the stay, no Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwifruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

My only point of this review is be very careful what your expectations are. We booked using the P&V Website and in particular we used the virtual tour tool. This gives you the impression that the Balcon Du Solaise is one building. It is in fact not the case, it is a general term for a collection of buildings in the the La Falaise area of Avoriaz. More so the virtual tool, allows you to enter the hotel and view the various configurations of rooms available for sale, through their various categories. We booked a 1 bedroom for 4/5 and we looked at this online. We had our expectations of size, until we arrived at the resort! The room we were given was much much smaller and nothing like the room we viewed on the virtual tour. I was very angry and complained about this and asked for a larger room. I was told that this was the correct one for my booking and that there was nothing they could do other than me paying more to get a larger unit. They said they did not have any rooms like the one in the virtual tour. I asked how many apartments they had and they said 700. They agreed that they could not give me one the same as the tour out of all 700 apartments. I said this was misleading and they shrugged this off as 'it is just an advert!' well you can imagine how that went down.

We finally agreed to move into a room sold as a 2 bedroom for 6/7 people. It was a good size for 4, but would have been very cramped for 6/7.

It was nice and clean and well equipped, great access to the ski slopes. No complaints really other than the fact that the P&V website is seriously misleading. If you like me are looking for a modicum of living space then book an apartment much bigger than you think you will need. If you are the sort that just eats, sleeps and ski's then the shoebox may well suit your needs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xfo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for P&v La Falaise at Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise, responded to this review, 5 May 2009
Dear Xfo01,
I'd like to thank you for your recent review about the P&V La Falaise property. I'd like to respond by saying I'm glad you found the location of the resort as an ideal base for skiing, and found the apartment clean and full equipped for self-catering.

In regards to your other points, when visiting the La Falaise page on our website, we feel that the virtual tour quite accurately represents the residence and their respective accommodation. It clearly shows that they are a collection of buildings and the 1 bedroom for 4/5 is well depicted.

In addition to this, we also provide our customers with exact measurements of the room on our website, so they are aware of their living quarters before they leave. Alongside this, our sales team can also help you with any additional questions at point of booking.

I would like to apologise for the poor customer service on-site. Our customers’ comfort and enjoyment is our highest priority. I'd like to thank you for bringing the matter to my attention and am happy to confirm we have been in contact with the management to make them aware of the response you received when requesting room changes. All of our staff receive comprehensive customer service training, and they take pride in keeping all our customers, who come from all over the world, happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

We stayed at the balcons de soleil through thomas cook. When we arrvied we were told that we were staying at the Neva (apparently the balcons are made up of a few blocks) and it was brilliant. Granted we were underoccupied as we booked a 2-7 person apartment for just the three of us, but it was newley refurbished, fully equipped kitchenette and comfy beds! A five min walk from the Bars and restaurants, and would highly recommend to anyone!!

  • Liked — Lots of room
  • Disliked — No english channels on TV
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BromleyPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

Been to the various P&V La Falaise apartments every year for last few years. There are a number of different apartment blocks at the entrance to Avoriaz under the overall La Falaise banner.

The resort is superb and is car-free. Great runs and brilliant for snowboarding, learning to ski and for families.

There is not a great choice of accomodation in the resort, but the apartments are typical French 3* ski accomodation - basic but clean. They are ski in/out, have a number of shops for ski gear and a supermarket nearby and also some bars and restaurants. The main part of town is a 5 minute walk away.

You don't spend much time in your room on a ski holiday, so the rooms are perfectly adequate and have improved greatly every year due to refurbishment.

  • Liked — Location in great resort.
  • Disliked — Not luxurious, but functional.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

in good conditions,able to ski to and from door
bar,restaurant,ski shop and supermaket all under the apparments....
rooms are small but if on a ski break,never in the room in any case

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank neilkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

Confusingly, this property was referred to as the Balcons de Soleil apartments on various websites - including Pierre et Vacances', but when we got there there was no reference to this name at all. No matter, it was easily found as P&V have around 6 blocks in La Falaise area of Avoriaz.

Avoriaz is car-and-bus-free so you get dropped at the top of town and have to reach your apartments either dragging your own luggage on a sled or using the horse and tractor-drawn sleighs. However, since P&V is adjacent to the drop-off area it's a very short walk.

We were staying for the first week of the season (Xmas) and P&V will allow you to arrive on the Friday night for free. We took advantage of this and the 24-hour reception when we arrived about 10 p.m. on the Friday night.

Our apartment was in a block called Douchka. It didn't have the most scenic view, but did overlook the boulangerie/patisserie - allowing us to see when our croissants were ready - and it also contained the supermarket - which was rather handy.

The room was definitely on the small side by P&V standards. It was a room for four, with a separate double-bedroom and sofa-beds. But with just three of us in there it was pretty cramped. To actually sleep four you would have to rearrange the furniture every night and morning. The cooking area was well equipped with four-ring ceramic hob, microwave/grill/cooker device, refrigerator and washing machine. The TV had CNN and BBC World, which was nice for those of us that can't quite follow the French, German or Italian channels.

The P&V service was very good. We had a faulty refrigerator that was replaced within three hours of us reporting it to reception, and that at around 8 p.m..

The Douchka block was not quite ski-in, ski-out - we needed a bit of poling either way. It isn't adjacent to a lift at all, so you ski down the nursery slope to get you to a chair that then brings you to the meeting point for lessons, or off to wherever you fancy.

The ski/boot room was just basic padlocked cupboards - unlike one P&V that had actually installed heated boot-warmers.

For those that like to ski up to the last possible moment, P&V has a baggagerie (unfortunately not in our block but the adjacent one) and their reception area toilets are roomy enough to get changed out of ski gear comfortably.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Space
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank bennett_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
Address: 90 rue du Douchka, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic doorstep skiing.Central lively location in the heart of "La Falaise". Panoramic views of the Morzine Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Falaise
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Falaise Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing