We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - Basic apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed a week in the Tilia apartment, but not through P&V. Instead we booked through Selectis who rents out privately owned apartment in Avoriaz. We had a 2 (3?) room apartment at the ground floor level which was OK. It was clean and the kitchen well equipped. The positive surprise was a Raclette Grill - and the thing we missed the most was a Micro. Strange, but everything in the apartment (beds, furniture, linen etc) was very much the 80:ies and perhaps Micros were not around then. The small oven nevertheless worked well for heating pizzas and lasagna. The main reason for choosing this particular aparment was the free wireless internet and that worked as expected and our two teenagers were happy to access facebook and I could do my necessary work using email etc in the evenings.
We arrived by car late at night, but we had been in touch with Selectis who left keys and instructions at the 24-hour info desk in the un-loading area so that was not a problem. The location in Avoriaz was a blessing them, only a couple of minutes walk from the un-loading area. Then the car sat unused in the huge outdoor car park for the week.
What we really liked with Avoriaz (compared to othe places like Zermatt and La Plagne) was that when you left the apartment you were already up in the ski system. No need to que up for a feeder Cabin or similar. Apart from a coulpe of days with too much wind/snow, we quickly got far away into Swtitzerland or France to enjoy new slopes more or less everytday. And the further away you got, the better lunch places you could find.
We were only four in our apartment (sleeping 6-7) and that was good. Two beds (bunk) were literally in the hallway and my kids preferred to sleep in the sitting room which they found more roomy (and also were the miniature TV was). The separate bedroom were my wife and I slept was just about big enough to squeeze in a 160 cm bed, but the bed itself was comfortable and served its purpose. The only really negative point was a ultra cold draft from the windows/balcony door, but as we were 3 people short we could stack up with a couple of extra blankets.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed in a one room apartment in the P&V La Falaise area of Avoriaz. The apartment was clean with nothing broken etc. It was nice and warm even when below -20C outside. There was enough storage space provided for 2 adults and 2 children. Odd things - no tea cups/mugs but there were expresso cups, no teapot or kettle but a coffee perculator - so very continental. We used the bowls for our tea, like you would use for cider in France. Plenty of hot water, a handheld shower, but we were glad of the bath after skiing all day. We were located on one of the lower floors to the back, and it was very quite, only the sound of the snow ploughs grooming the slopes to disturb you slightly. Overall we were happy with the accommadation and wouldn't have any problems staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofu_tengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Booked a package through expedia, 2 studio rooms for 4 people. It would have made sense that they booked both rooms in the same building, they didn't. Perhaps request that in your reservation as there are 5 different buildings. The studio room advertised sleeps 3/4 - 2 adults on the couch and small bunk beds for kids. One small bathroom. 4 is a stretch. Liked having the small kitchen facilities and the supermarkets a short walk away. Asked for a late check out as our transfers left at 4pm, the ladies at receptions quoted me 99euros for an extra night.... later on, asked the guy at another reception and he quoted 30euros for a late check out at 6pm. Those girls were cows, trying to scam money off the top, beware. Otherwise, clean basic accommodation, would stay there again.
Modems are available for 15 euros extra for the stay, no Wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwifruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My only point of this review is be very careful what your expectations are. We booked using the P&V Website and in particular we used the virtual tour tool. This gives you the impression that the Balcon Du Solaise is one building. It is in fact not the case, it is a general term for a collection of buildings in the the La Falaise area of Avoriaz. More so the virtual tool, allows you to enter the hotel and view the various configurations of rooms available for sale, through their various categories. We booked a 1 bedroom for 4/5 and we looked at this online. We had our expectations of size, until we arrived at the resort! The room we were given was much much smaller and nothing like the room we viewed on the virtual tour. I was very angry and complained about this and asked for a larger room. I was told that this was the correct one for my booking and that there was nothing they could do other than me paying more to get a larger unit. They said they did not have any rooms like the one in the virtual tour. I asked how many apartments they had and they said 700. They agreed that they could not give me one the same as the tour out of all 700 apartments. I said this was misleading and they shrugged this off as 'it is just an advert!' well you can imagine how that went down.

We finally agreed to move into a room sold as a 2 bedroom for 6/7 people. It was a good size for 4, but would have been very cramped for 6/7.

It was nice and clean and well equipped, great access to the ski slopes. No complaints really other than the fact that the P&V website is seriously misleading. If you like me are looking for a modicum of living space then book an apartment much bigger than you think you will need. If you are the sort that just eats, sleeps and ski's then the shoebox may well suit your needs.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xfo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for P&v La Falaise at Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2009

Dear Xfo01,
I'd like to thank you for your recent review about the P&V La Falaise property. I'd like to respond by saying I'm glad you found the location of the resort as an ideal base for skiing, and found the apartment clean and full equipped for self-catering.

In regards to your other points, when visiting the La Falaise page on our website, we feel that the virtual tour quite accurately represents the residence and their respective accommodation. It clearly shows that they are a collection of buildings and the 1 bedroom for 4/5 is well depicted.

In addition to this, we also provide our customers with exact measurements of the room on our website, so they are aware of their living quarters before they leave. Alongside this, our sales team can also help you with any additional questions at point of booking.

I would like to apologise for the poor customer service on-site. Our customers’ comfort and enjoyment is our highest priority. I'd like to thank you for bringing the matter to my attention and am happy to confirm we have been in contact with the management to make them aware of the response you received when requesting room changes. All of our staff receive comprehensive customer service training, and they take pride in keeping all our customers, who come from all over the world, happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We stayed at the balcons de soleil through thomas cook. When we arrvied we were told that we were staying at the Neva (apparently the balcons are made up of a few blocks) and it was brilliant. Granted we were underoccupied as we booked a 2-7 person apartment for just the three of us, but it was newley refurbished, fully equipped kitchenette and comfy beds! A five min walk from the Bars and restaurants, and would highly recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BromleyPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Been to the various P&V La Falaise apartments every year for last few years. There are a number of different apartment blocks at the entrance to Avoriaz under the overall La Falaise banner.

The resort is superb and is car-free. Great runs and brilliant for snowboarding, learning to ski and for families.

There is not a great choice of accomodation in the resort, but the apartments are typical French 3* ski accomodation - basic but clean. They are ski in/out, have a number of shops for ski gear and a supermarket nearby and also some bars and restaurants. The main part of town is a 5 minute walk away.

You don't spend much time in your room on a ski holiday, so the rooms are perfectly adequate and have improved greatly every year due to refurbishment.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

in good conditions,able to ski to and from door
bar,restaurant,ski shop and supermaket all under the apparments....
rooms are small but if on a ski break,never in the room in any case

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank neilkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise

Address: 90 rue du Douchka, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range: £84 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic doorstep skiing.Central lively location in the heart of "La Falaise". Panoramic views of the Morzine Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Falaise
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Falaise Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing