We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Antares apartments Jan 2014. They are basic, but clean, warm, loads of hot water, well equipped and in a perfect location. Others have described them well - I would add book a bigger one than you need - ours was a one bedroom sleeping 4 but was perfect for the two of us. Would not like to have had 4 people and all their stuff in it. Others have said you have to clean, but not sure this is the case anymore. End of stay cleaning was included, just had to make sure the washing up was done and the bins emptied. Towels, bed linen also included and the cleaning kit I think. Checking in on Saturday was a bit slow but all Staff were very friendly and helpful - indeed we found this to be the case all over Avoriaz. We ate out a lot and didn't have one surly waiter, all were super nice. Our transfer from Geneva dropped us at the bottom of the Prodains gondola, which makes sense as it's much quicker than driving up to the resort, but it did cost 16 euros for the two of us to ride up so factor this into your transfer costs. Also wished we had researched what to do on reaching the top - spotted some sledges and assumed we had to use those to transport our luggage, but after struggling for half an hour realised there was no way we could do it - to cut a long story short, there is a phone at the top of the Prodains lift, and you ring someone to come and pick you up in a little buggy on skis type thing (chenilette) - another 11 Euros! Or we could have got a horse and sleigh which kids would love.
Although Avoriaz is purpose built, the style of the apartment blocks blends well into the mountains, and the village centre is very pretty with lots of trees and fairy lights. Very snowy whilst we were there which of course made everything seem prettier. We booked our ski equipment and lift passes through Pierre et vacances and all worked well, Mir Famose ski hire in the centre next to Globetrotters bar is highly recommended. Very efficient and nice stuff. we chose Avoriaz for the range of skiing and the ski in/out and it didn't disappoint, the ski area is extensive - but the resort itself exceeded our expectations and was nicer than expected.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    77
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
92
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Ok so Antares is not the more luxurious or the more spacious accommodation option at Avoriaz, but that's reflected in the price. We have stayed there three times now, each time in January, and have found it totally adequate for our needs, basically being able to cook 2-3 meals a day, sleep, keep warm and dry our wet ski clothes. The location right at the top of the station needs to be taken into account if you are bringing tons of supplies and luggage but the upside is that you get the best views of the village as well as the best ski in ski out of the resort. Staff at the residence are very friendly and always helpful, the units neat, clean and weill equipped. Make sure however thatyou look into all the extras before you get there to make sure that you get exactly the level of service and facilities you want. As for us, we'll keep on coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggy45500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just got back from this amazing and beautiful place, had the skiing holiday of a life time. No cars, magical snowy kingdom with only horse drawn sleighs and fab skiing.

Spoilt by having to pay for towels and clean my own room!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madelinecranfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Not really in the centre of the village but with dry easy access through two elevators to the village centre. But preferably you should go directly skiing from out the residence door to the slopes. There is also direct access from the ski slopes to the residence which is fantastic and very convenient. The reception hosts are extremely friendly and you can book fresh baked baguettes everyday for breakfast. A real must! The rooms are a bit small but with a great view over the village. One negative aspect is there is not garbage collection, so you have to droit yourself.

Room Tip: Room with view to the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We read beforehand that getting to the hotel was difficult as it was above the town but that’s not true as there’s a series of 2 lifts that mean you don’t have to walk up hill and you can get a “taxi” (a snowcat…very cool way to travel!) up when you arrive and leave your car at the carpark. We also read that checking in late caused major issues, again not true as they put your key in the safe in reception and you pick it up when you arrive…although the link between Expedia and the hotel ended up with my name being wrong which caused quite a bit of confusion (we were refunded by the hotel without any issues)

The rooms are functional and fine for just crashing in after a day’s skiing…if you actually wanted to spend some time in your room and have dinner etc then maybe a little too small (there is a basic kitchenette with dishwasher, cooker, crockery etc..). The hotel is truly ski-in ski-out with the piste going right past the front door and a chairlift below to take you back up. One major selling point must be the views from the balcony which are pretty amazing!!

A great place to stay as long as you don’t want anything smart and fancy – perfect for a group of men on weekend ski trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked a snowboarding holiday in Avoriaz and found that most accommodation came in the form of apartments. The Antares apartments are two lifts away from the centre of town and therefore still has a rather central location, with a maximum 10 minute walk to the local supermarket for fresh bread in the morning. We flew into Geneva airport and had arranged a minibus transfer from Geneva to Avoriaz. This was the easiest way to travel really with our snowboarding equipment. The transfer took about 1.5 hrs and we were deposited at the entrance to the village of Avoriaz, where no cars are allowed and travel is in a snowplough or in a horse-pulling sleigh. It is a bit of a trek from the central transport area to Antares (a slow 30 minute walk in snow with snowboarding equipment which we would probably not do again in hindsight!). On arrival to Antares apartment, we were greeted very warmly by the reception staff who provided us with a kettle (free, but first come first served as there are a limited number), modem (15 euros for a week - very worthwhile as internet cafe costs 5 euros an hr!), cleaning kit (pre-booked and includes washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, tea towels) and were very helpful in answering questions. We were also able to enter our apartment early - before the allocated 4pm check in as it was already ready and cleaned. The apartment was small and would have been a tight squeeze if there were 4 of us, but given there were only two of us, there was enough room for us and our snowboarding equipment. There's a small hallway with the bedroom to the right, followed by the bathroom (bath and shower) and then leading onto the open plan kitchen and lounge and balcony with an amazing view of Avoriaz town and Morzine in the valley below. We were on the 11th floor and therefore had a spectacular view of the mountains and some of the runs. The kitchen had a reasonable hob and microwave/grill and dishwasher and a small under-the-counter fridge-freezer, but no oven. There was sufficient crockery and cutlery that the dishwasher didn't have to be put on every night when there were just the two of us. A table seated 4 with a TV mounted on the wall, unfortunately there were no English channels, but we didn't spend that much time watching TV to be honest! There were two sofas which could be made into beds with drawers underneath for storage. The temperature of the apartment was good given the wall heaters in the lounge, bathroom and bedroom. The shower was hot with good pressure, neither of us tried the bath but it looked like a normal sized bath. The internet worked well and we brought our netbook with us which therefore gave us good, fast access to the internet when we needed it.

The snow was pretty good for the first few days as it had snowed a few days before our arrival. Then the clouds came in and it started snowing which meant amazing snow but poor visibility. Avoriaz has a good mix for both skiers and snowboarders with a good number of parks and runs across three mountains. There was only one halfpipe and it was a massive 120m long with 6m high walls (and usually had a smattering of blood in it!

The town itself has a good range of restaurants - we only ate out once, choosing to cook the rest of the time. We dined in La Boule de Neige (a pizzeria) which had some lovely food and was warm and cosy with a lot of locals about.

We certainly enjoyed our stay in Avoriaz and would definitely think about returning. Antares is a well-located set of apartments, close to the nightlife but not too close to impair sleep after a hard day snowboarding.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ABs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

In total there were 8 people in our party, we had a 3 piece chalet for 5 of us and a 1 bed chalet for 3. We arrived at about 2am and our transfer (ski-lifts.com, who were also very good) dropped us at the welcome centre in Avoriaz, they called a snow mobile and the guy arrived quickly and dropped us at our apartments. As we were a late arrivial we had phoned ahead and they had left us the code to get in the door and then they put the keys in a safe and give you the code for this as well. (I would recommend you phone ahead otherwise it could have been a nightmare).

I had read mixed reviews about these apartments, but seriously both of our apartments were fantastic. Yes you have to make your own beds, and yes you have to clean it at the end of your stay, but you are paying for self catering accommodation and if you want different pay for a hotel.
If the people before you haven't cleaned it well it may be a problem for you, but a packet of flash wipes go along way!!!!!!

We didn't check in until 2 days later as we just wanted to get out and board, but the reception left a polite note on the door and were absoultey fine with us when we went down to pay our deposit.The 3 piece chalet had a shower over a bath, a seperate power shower and a seperate toilet, there were no arguments over bathroom time. The 1 bed chalet had 1 really good sizes bathroom. Both Chalets had ample storage space and all the beds were comfortable and we even had a TV which we didn't have to pay for. the 3 piece apartment had 2 balcony's with amazing views, well worth getting up for sunrise on a blue bird day!!!!!

As the views are so amazing it does mean that you are higher up than a lot of the apartments, but there is an excellent lift system which I think some people have already mentioned, you basically take the public lift next to Globe Trotter's bar and just follow the crowd, it really isn't that much of a mission!!!!!! We managed it with shopping and snowboards. There is a Sherpa supermarket next to Globe Trotters and there is a Carrefour further up the road, the Carrefour has more choice but I didn't think either were over priced asnd we cooked in every night for 8 people, which shows the kitchen is very functional.

Overall I found these apartments to be fantastic, they were clean, comfortable, practical and had great views. Porte de Soliel is an excellent ski area and the Piste management never fail to let me down no matter what weather is thrown at them they do well to keep the pistes open.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to make sure you have the codes to collect your keys. Take flash wipes and a tea towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Surfpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares
Address: 1800 Avoriaz | Montee du Sirius, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France (Formerly Residence Antares)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A car-free resort in the heart of “Les Portes du Soleil” ski area. Direct access on skisEntirely refurbished residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Antares Hotel Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing