We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
Review of Club Med Avoriaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Avoriaz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Avoriaz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The team and especially Sabrina has been fantastic! I lost my bag with iPad between the airport and the hotel and amazingly she located it. In a bus underneath a seat!!!! The children were very well catered for and happy. When they say everything is included they really mean it a wonderful carefree holiday thank you to Johnny and his wonderful team the Jordaans from South Africa

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Do-Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    285
    115
    49
    32
See reviews for
409
111
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have been to numerous Club Med Ski resorts over the past 7 years ranging from 3-5 tridents. Given that Avoriaz is only a 3 trident, I would say it is a great resort and definitely worth a visit. The current Chef de Village; Johnny, is undoubtedly the best I have come across and he made our stay very pleasent.

Pro's
-The location. Some Club Med's are slighly secluded which means you are stranded for the week. This is not the case with Avoriaz, as the beautiful village is literally minutes away and easily accessible.
-The majority of staff, especially the Chef de village Johnny and the female GO in the ski room (Margot??). Johnny seemed to know every guest by name, and worked ridiculously hard to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves.
-We are gold members are were treated as such, from priority check in, to Champagne in the room. It was nice to be acknowledged.
-The speciaility restuarant- this is a must do. Absolutely fantastic fondue.
-The lunchtime/afternoon snacks- pancakes in the bar, BBQ on the terrace- fantastic!

Con's
-The room was dirty when I arrived (it had been cleaned but not to a very high standard) and I had to ask 3 times to get it re-cleaned.
-The male receptionist whose name is something like Guilliame???(wears glasses) is without doubt one of the rudest people I have ever come across. He clearly thought he was above me (the paying customer) and I am amazed he is still in employment with Club Med.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, the rooms are quite small, so worth paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel was well located and the staff were helpful and friendly and very organised.
The Ski school was Great! My instructor Olivier was wonderful.
All food was included and a buffet 3 times a day, which can get a little old.
Overall I recommend it as it is good value for money!

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor as the lifts tend to be busy! Then it is easier to take the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla-Lilienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our first time in Avoriaz Club Med; we had a fantastic family holiday and will definitely be back next year. My husband was snowboarding, our son skiing for the first time, and I was skiing. We had such a relaxing time, even in 7 short days we managed to completely switch off and felt so energized when we came back. Despite all of us being introverts, we also met some lovely people during our stay. Some highlights include grabbing a drink in the bar with some great company, after a day of spectacular skiing.

Overall, here are some pointers on the hotel and surroundings:

The hotel itself: some of the public areas have been recently refurbished (restaurant, bar etc), and overall, it is a comfortable and well thought out hotel. There are lots of stairs, but we were ok with it. The room itself was functional, bright, clean and comfy. There is enough space to store your luggage out of the way and all of your clothes/skiwear. Nice practical touches as well with the heated towel rail and small clothes-horse in the shower to let wet clothes dry. The TV was fine, most nights we ended up in bed around 9pm as we were tired, but there is the standard selection of French and international channels. The staff were all very nice and helpful.

Eating
Great quality and choice. In the restaurant itself we found the selection very good, with some themed nights that bring extra variety. The breakfast is great as well. Don't miss the really nice selection of local cheeses, the raclette and crepes, foie gras etc. Our 8 yr old son was delighted, and Club Med obviously had kids in mind, so the buffet is also tailored to them. There are tons of nice details as well, such as the 'gouter' (afternoon snack) when coming back from the slopes around 4.30pm, occasional bbq on the terrace. You won't go hungry or thirsty. Nespresso machines are located in the bar as well, so if you like your coffee you won't be disappointed.

Kids club
Excellent, I could not fault them for their efforts. Our son is 8, very shy, and while he can understand a little french, he does not speak it. From day one he was excited to go to the kids club and ski with his friends. We left him around 8.30am and picked up him up at 4.30pm, and while we originally wanted to try and have lunch with him, it was not always super practical and messed up his routine. The ESF teacher was also amazing. The staff in Club Med were super dedicated to the kids, and there are plenty of really nice thoughtful touches throughout the week: from practicing an evening show for the parents, to the 'remise des medailles' (medals and awards at the end of the skiing week). We also felt that the environment is so family friendly that you never have to worry about the noise level, kids making a mess etc. Now the children were all very behaved but because no-one will make a fuss or a drama if a glass is spilled by accident for example, it means parents and children can easily relax.

Skiing: it doesn't get any better than this. The skiing resort of les Portes du Soleil is huge, and the hotel really well located. Once your skis are on, you just need to let yourself slide for 150m to the ESF (Ecole de Ski Francais) area, if you are taking lessons, and a little further down to get onto the first skilift. We got mixed weather over the week, and even with some fog and snow falls, had fun everyday. In terms of equipment, you can rent everything from within the hotel (ski and snowboard).

Avoriaz. Nice little village, a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants on the slopes, 2 supermarkets, 1 pharmacy, and a couple of skiwear/equipment shops. That's pretty much it, and everything is dedicated to skiing. We loved the horse-drawn carriages to travel from one end of the village to the other. At 8 to 12euro a pop it's not cheap, but doing it once added to the experience.

Downsides:
Alright, this is where Club Med loses a few brownie points. The arrival to the hotel was mayhem, and getting kitted out with skis/snowboards an unpleasant experience. We had no idea what the process was when we got to the reception, and not being part of a large group, or being new to the whole Club Med experience, we ended up losing some valuable time. Staff were nice but a little clueless on that day. Our room was not ready until 4pm, and we were offered to pay a 'supplement' to have lunch in the hotel. Lunch ended up being charged at 70 euro (seventy!!) for 2 adults + 1 child. With hindsight, walking 10 minutes to grab a crepe at one of the many local brasseries would have been a better idea.

The main problem with the hotel, is that everyone wants to do the same thing at the same time. So 300 people want to rent skis/snowboards/boots on the sunday at the same time, and the hotel is simply not equipped to handle these crowds, hence a lot of queueing. Same story with the restaurant: it can be a race to grab a table and sometimes queue at the buffet, regardless of the time of the day. After skiing, everyone generally meets in the bar area around 4pm, it can also be very hard to find a place to sit, and the place is generally super busy, but not unpleasant.

The worst part of the trip was therefore day 1 (we were clueless and overwhelmed by the amount of queuing to be done to get us set up for the week), and thereafter, every morning when we wanted to get ready to ski. The ski room is not designed for 200+ people all wanting to get ready at the same time. So twice a day, we had to endure the craziness, to put the gear on, and then put it back.

2 additional small details: the hallways leading to the rooms are a little tired and could do with a lick of paint (alright, I am nitpicking here). Also sometimes the food served in the restaurant would be lukewarm.

That's it in terms of negatives. These were not showstoppers for us, and we had so much fun otherwise we have already decided to come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Attended as part of a large group and made to feel instantly welcome by the staff. On the whole staff seemed to be far more attentive, polite and helpful than other Club med hotels.

Location of hotel was fantastic with ski in / ski out and huge Porte de Soliel ski area available outside.

Common areas had recently been refurbished so were bright and nicely furnished. Rooms were slightly more tired but clean, tidy and all you need for a weeks skiing. Not as small as other Club Med winter resorts.

Food was typically Club Med and good quality. Only criticism was that the grille section hot plates did not appear to be working and food was cold on number of occasions. Microwaves were available to address this issue.

Common criticism for all Club Meds is that certain nationalities seem to reserve large sections of restaurant and then retreat to bar for a couple of hours. Not a problem on our week as hotel not as busy but imagine high season this is a big issue and staff should try and address this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Avoriaz is perfect place for skiing, club med avoriaz is really nice place to stay, club chef is a real gentleman, we stayed in club med avoriaz with my şenay and my 2 years doughter Alya, we enjoyed every moment of it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Necdet298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was our third Club Med ski holiday having previously been to 3 Trident Val Thorens and 4 Trident Val D'Isere.

As per the usual Club Med recipe, this was a good quality all inclusive hotel. The rooms were compact and basic, but immaculately clean. Other reviewers refer to the building as "tired", it is certainly not as fresh as other Club Med hotels, but this does not detract from the holiday.

For those not familiar with Club Med, literally everything is included (flights, private transfers, ski pass, ski lessons/guiding, breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and all the alcohol, soft drinks, tea and coffee you could ever want). The only thing you need is snowsports equipment, which you can hire from Club Med (rather expensive), hire locally or bring your own.

The restaurant and food were excellent (self-service buffet), with loads of it and plenty of choice, including savoyard classics including excellent meat dishes, cheese and even raclette, extensive sea foods including oysters. Simpler food such as pasta, pizza and chips are always on offer. Breakfast is extensive including croissants, pain au chocolate, cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit etc. The quality of produce was excellent.

The bar has ample seating area, allowing you time to relax and chat, or join in the "crazy signs" the french guests seem to love. The evening entertainment or show- usually 9.30pm is put on by the staff is cheesy, but no one is forced to watch it!

The spirits are branded and the coffee is Nespresso.

The staff, were excellent. Probably the best of the 3 Club Meds we have been to in the Alps.

The ski room, while adequate, could benefit with upgrade as private ski lockers are not provided (unlike Val Tho and Val D).

Avoriaz itself is stunning. It is traffic free- we were taken from the car park to the hotel in a "piste bully" taxi!

A full area Portes Du Soleil lift pass is included- this provides excellent runs for beginners to expert skiers and a vast potential for off piste.

In summary, excellent Club Med village- the staff and the food make it! The value for money is so great I would really struggle to go skiing with anyone else!

Room Tip: Avoid a low floor near the bar or next to a lift (ping).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MunroSinclairSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Avoriaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Avoriaz

Property: Club Med Avoriaz
Address: Club Med Avoriaz, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Avoriaz 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the clouds at 1800 metres, Avoriaz seems to melt into the snowy mountainside and the steep cliffs, and wears its authentic look with pride. The white paradise reaches right into the busy little streets where horse-drawn sleighs go by. In the traditional mountain style of wooden chalets, this Club Med Village is decorated to create a warm, cosy atmosphere. The ski domain starts right in the heart of the pedestrianized resort, so sporting families can enjoy gliding over the snow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Avoriaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Avoriaz Hotel Avoriaz
Avoriaz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing