We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good staff, could be better”
Review of Club Med Avoriaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Avoriaz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good staff, could be better”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff here are excellent and hard working but there are a fair few ways your holiday experience could be bettered.
The food is average at best, a buffet style with various dishes to choose from from but not great quality. Quite often there are no plates and we had to wait on one occasion for 10 minutes for fresh plates to be delivered. At lunchtimes it can be difficult to find a clean table with most having dirty plates, and dirty cutlery on them from previous diners.

The rooms are very small, one of our guests even had a smaller than normal bed as there wasnt room for a full size one, he compained but nothing was done. They are kept very clean though and replenished frequently with toiletries.

As a party of ten we spent nearly £12,000 on this holiday but they still wanted to charge €20.00per person to use the hotel WiFi which we thought was a disgrace.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    285
    115
    49
    32
See reviews for
409
111
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

As a ski resort Avoriaz is amazing, unfortunately club med Avoriaz is slightly tired, but after being to about 6 resorts of different trident ratings, this was to be expected for the price,
However I was very disappointed by the food, I usually enjoy going from several different food stations with great food, but I found the options limiting, salad counters naff, quality of food questionable. there were some highlights, but not as many I have come to expect from club med.
apart form this, if you can handle the French club med way of doing things, club med is still a great economical way of skiing, it's just a shame the food is not upto standard

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is my second time visiting this club med in Avoriaz. I visited there around 8 years ago and since it's been redecorated.
The hotel is clean, , warm, homey and inviting - However if you are looking for luxury - you will be disappointed.
We go to club med every year only because its generally all inclusive, its very well organized up to getting your ski passes from the reception, being able to book your equipment in the hotel instead of mission into the village (although ask re the prices before - We were given the most expensive equipment without being told that you can take a MUCH cheaper version which is perfectly good- This was literally my only complaint of the week). The GO team is fantastic, Run by Johnny from Brazil, who just makes your stay perfect - He really is the heart and sole of the Village!

the food was OK - Quantity over quality - But believe me, it was all very nice and the chef's and waiters in the dining room were nice and friendly. The rooms are a bit on the small side - However they were clean, comfy and perfect after a long days ski. Finally. The skiing in Avoriaz is PERFECT! Ski in - Ski out - lovely wide pistes , beautiful tree line which is rare for the French alps. All in all - I would definitely recommend this club med resort! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: only 2 things - If you can't be bothered to wait for the lift up and down in the morning to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaS356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Club Med is still a relatively unknown or misunderstood holiday company. They offer an all inclusive package in a variety of locations worldwide in various levels of comfort from 2 to 5 Trident (their star system) - having used only 4 trident hotels this was a bit of a gamble for us as Avoriaz is only rated as a 3 Trident hotel. The staff are encouraged to mingle with the guests, there are plenty of English speakers and the whole atmosphere is one of a large friendly family without being to obtrusive.

The area has was recommended to us via Nick at Igluski as he thought it would suit our skiing needs and the fact it a a vast ski area so we booked last year and looked forward to it though with some worries as to what the hotel would be like.

Flights were booked with BA (all inclusive) who dished up their take on "To Serve - To Fly" by leaving our ski luggage in Gatwick Airport. The whole reason for getting on the early flight was to get some skiing in on the Sunday as we were in resort by 10:30 am so thanks for that BA!!!!

Avoriaz is a car free village so after being assured by the Club Med reps at Geneva that they would personally take responsibility for our ski luggage and make sure it was delivered to the hotel with the next batch of guests arriving a few hours after us we arrived at the main station to then be taken to the hotel via a snowmobile - very funky way to arrive. The staff at the hotel welcomed us, grabbed the luggage for us and we were taken for our welcome meeting and a drink where we were met by the Head of Reception, Esther, and a colleague who took us through everything we needed to know - how to book into ski school (all included in the price), where the ski service was to collect boots and skis (rental might be a little more than the local shops but its all the latest kit and its in house so you dont have to trek out to get it - BUT make sure you book it and pay as part of the package because otherwise its double the price if hired upon arrival!) the general info for the hotel, restaurants and bars, given our lift passes (all inclusive again) and then the manager of the hotel (Chef de Village) Raphy and his Deputy Johnnie also came and introduced themselves and immediately made a fantastic impression on us as nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Having been to CM many times before we know that the main attribute of the holiday is down to how well the Chef de Village and his team gel with the guests and how friendly they are. This was a great start.

Rooms in ski hotels can be notoriously small but we had everything we needed. The only slight minus point is that there is not a great deal of hanging space for damp ski gear after a day on the pistes - that seriously is it. Plenty of wardrobe space for clothes etc, a room safe, TV's with english channels should you want it, all toiletries supplied and comfortable rooms - some rooms have fridges in them and depending on what level of room you book these are stocked daily with soft canned drinks and mineral water. Bathrooms were a little small and we understand that not all rooms have a bath so if that is important to you make sure you specify if you would like a room with a bath.

The hotel was lovely, with an outside terrace (if the weather had been better), a large and comfortable bar area and a nice restaurant - only miss point here and its minor is there are about 20 stairs down to the bar area (lifts are available) and then another 30 down to the restaurant (again lifts are available) - after a hard day out on the pistes your knees let you know when you walk down to the bar but it was always greeted with a laugh rather than actual grief!

Ski room is a little cramped and as ever hot as hell - like a sauna but at least your boots are dry and warm, boot driers allocated to each room and lockable ski holders - in 4 trident hotels you tend to get ski lockers but not really a problem.

Club Med are a french company and by and large the food is always good to very good - the 3 trident had a smaller selection choice of dishes but in its favour was the fact that the quality actually seemed to be higher then the 4 Tridents we have visited of late. There is always a large selection of salads, cheese and cold meats, a pasta and pizza corner with variety each day and then at least 3 or 4 different types of meat available all cooked in a presentation kitchen behind the servery so never long to wait if something has run out as there is a fresh batch moments away. We also find having the smaller selection a benefit as sometimes you can be overwhelmed by the choice. Minus points and this is personal preference. I like pipping hot food and sometimes the dishes were only lukewarm but this was easily rectified by using the microwave in the baby corner to nuke it back to hot!

Ski in and out - though I am not sure how a beginner would get to the main ski school meeting point as this was approx 200 meters down a gentle slope through the village but was no problem for most and led to the main "ring road"as the ski instructors called it for getting out and about around this VAST ski area - we spent a few days in ski school but struck out on our own mid week and ventured off with our piste map - Down to Morzine and Les Gets, across to Champery in Switzerland - in the week whilst we skied to our hearts content we hardly scratched the surface of what was on offer. Duing the week we had over 1.5 metres of snow so conditions were perfect until late afternoon when it was all getting a bit churned up - we found that the Morzine side was less busy and therefore not as churned up so had a great day over there.

Club Med have evening entertainment - as Brits on our first few visits we did not join in but after a few holidays we just embraced it. There is normally some dancing and revelry in the bar area which then leads to a show which the staff put on for the guests, corny are times but ALWAYS hilarious. Raphy is in the wrong job... He is a great Chef de Village but he just had to walk on stage and everyone would roar laughing.. Johnnie was the perfect foil for his antics and we seriously fired laughing at some of the goings on. Afterwards up in the bar they have Crazy Signs which is communal dance routines which try as hard as you might are infectious and you end up having a go. All in all each evening was entertaining and great fun.

So - would we go to a 3 trident again - yes - so long as it has had a refurbishment in the last few years. would we go to Avoriaz again - going to book it again next week.

A resounding thank you goes out to Raphy Erez and his team of GO's for our best Club Med holiday to date.... I cannot recommend this enough

Room Tip: Get Valley View for a great panorama across Avoriaz and the valley, book your ski equipment as part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amcBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Firstly, I must make mention of Johnny, the chief de village. I'm not sure if he ever sleeps, as he is absolutely everywhere, greeting you at breakfast in the mornings, and actively partaking in the shows in the evenings. He is the best chief I have experienced at a Club Med.

The rooms were small (but bigger than most other rooms in ski resorts I have experienced, with a lovely big shower and a separate toilet). We were on the fifth floor facing the slopes and had a really spectacular view from our rooms, particulary at sunrise and sunset.

The bar was lovely, if a bit bright with all the orange :) As has been my experience at other Club Meds, we were offered a wide variety of drinks on the all inclusive package, including a cocktail of the day (five or six standard cocktails could be ordered each day). Regarding the food, it was great and varied, and our waiter made sure that our table was always stocked with our choice of wine (he soon figured out which wines our group of nine liked). Ate out at the speciality restuarant one night, hot rock looked great, but fondue, although still delicious, was a bit clumpy.

Some people may complain that the Club Med system gets a bit monotonous, but I felt that they really tried to mix it up as much as they could. For example, had snacks out on the terrace when there was good weather, and even got greeted with drinks on the mountain on our way home one day.

I thought the shows were lovely, and the staff really made an effort to get people dancing and involved (although easy to avoid if you don't like that type of thing!)

Ski school was great. It is a huge ski area, and so it was very helpful to have a guide to show us around. Thierry was wonderful and very accomodating to our group. The skiing was excellent and we had good snow. The trees really make this area beautiful. Also liked that you could ski into Switzerland.

My only complaint would be the children (and I love children and normally don't mind having them around). Although not the fault of Club Med, it seems like we got stuck with a group of very boisterous children, who seemed to run shouting around all hours of the night (and morning). Perhaps Club Med should say children aren't allowed in the bar, say, after 9pm? Another comment, not so much a complaint, would be that this resort is quite cold compared to some of the other ski Club Med's I have visited. For example, you couldn't really just wear a thin long sleeve top to dinner, required warmer clothing. This is possibly due to the fact that Club Med is a "green village." Not a problem, just something you should be aware of so you can pack accordingly.

In terms of the village itself, it really is beautiful (photos do not do it justice) and the horse drawn carriages add a lovely ambiance. The Club Med is also relatively close to the village, when making use of the public passages.

Room Tip: Try get a slope facing room, high up, for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our party of 14 skiers of mixed ages and abilities cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and the terrific value for money it offers.
All aspects of our holiday were brilliant - the entertainment, the lovely cheerful staff, the general helpfulness of everyone and the excellent food along with the great chefs and waiters.
Yes it is self service but we had no problems with queues and the choice of dishes was amazing-
something to suit everyone, and the desserts were to die for!
This contributed to the best ski holiday we have enjoyed in over 25 years. Special mention must go to Johnny and Shelley for their unbounded enthusiasm. In fact, all the staff threw themselves wholeheartedly into making the holiday a truly great experience for all their guests.
Finally, the only slight criticism is that the rooms are on the small size - just enough room to walk round the bed. However, the storage space was adequate and if you are tidy you can manage very well! Nice large shower cubicle too.
If you want fine dining in hushed luxury surroundings, this holiday is not for you. But if you like
a great fun time with like-minded people of all ages, the Club Med rocks!
Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a front-facing room. We found it quiet at night even though we were near a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our 6 th time to Avoriaz Club Med BUT the only time during School Holidays. From the minute we arrived until we left, the place was chaotic, especially in the Restaurant which is more like a school refectory.
At reception, no one has time for you. We specifically requested Rooms on the same floor in our booking but our rooms were all over the place. Our Group of 6 were all assigned rooms with bathrooms for people with disability - this means that the bedroom was even smaller than the regular rooms which are already tiny. These bedrooms are to be avoided.
However it is clear that Club Med has decided to change directions and this is reflected in the lack of management supervision and lower level of customer service.
We won't be returning to Club Med Avoriaz.

Room Tip: 1) Make sure that you get a room overlooking the slopes. 2) Ask NOT TO BE GIVEN a room with bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Avoriaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Avoriaz

Property: Club Med Avoriaz
Address: Club Med Avoriaz, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Avoriaz 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the clouds at 1800 metres, Avoriaz seems to melt into the snowy mountainside and the steep cliffs, and wears its authentic look with pride. The white paradise reaches right into the busy little streets where horse-drawn sleighs go by. In the traditional mountain style of wooden chalets, this Club Med Village is decorated to create a warm, cosy atmosphere. The ski domain starts right in the heart of the pedestrianized resort, so sporting families can enjoy gliding over the snow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Avoriaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Avoriaz Hotel Avoriaz
Avoriaz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing