We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever been to”

Le Relais De La Vanoise
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relais De La Vanoise
Reviewed 9 July 2013

You'd better avoid this hotel.

3 bed in a very tiny (~3m x 3m) dark room. No lights on the ceiling. There are only small lamps at the beds on the wall (well only 2 lamps for 3 beds). 30cm free area betweeen the beds.
Wi-fi included in the price, but wouldn't work. You can connect to the wi-fi router, but never get an ip-address. Asking the owner for help he would not care about that. Bike park is very small and narrow (LIFO structured), and no roof above. You can remove your bikes in the opposite order they were put in. It was not really a problem for 5 of us because we left together. But that would be a problem for 2 different groups of bikers if the first group wants to leave first. They have to wait for the others to remove their bikes. It was raining the whole night, so bikes were soaked to skin. The rear brake disc of my bike get rusty until morning so the next 4-5 days I drove my bike without rear brake. Well that was not whole useless but the braking power was about 10% of the normal. Next day I tried to quick-repair so now it is 50%.

This hotel was not that cheap. It was €186 for a two-bed and a three-bed rooms, so we (5 people) paid ~ €37 each.
They wanted the money at the arrival, that was quite strange. So we have to pay before seeing the rooms. Later I guessed they thought that we would immediately move after seeing the rooms. Well, we would have moved.
This was the only hotel where they asked for the money in advance. We were in 7 hotel for 9 nights in Italy (1+2+1), France(2+1), Switzerland(1), and Austria(1). Sometimes they asked for our ID card. Sometimes only one ID card was enough, and in Switzerland they did not need our IDs, and we paid when leaving.

The breakfast was poorish. It was low quality and was not enough at all. We have to "steal" some croissants from the neighbouring table after they left. Well the croissants were really delicious. The croissants were the only value in this hotel. :)

This was the second most expensive and the worst quality hotel in our 10-day tour. The cheapest was in France (€22/night) that was OK for that price and that was much better than this even the breakfast was much more and much better. The most expensive was in Switzerland for €40/person but there was a huge difference in quality for this €3 and for 3 rooms (2+2+1). Well that would have been €46 but we asked for discount and obtained (I would recommend that Hotel Belleuve in Wiesen to anybody).
When arrived we wanted to stay for two nights but changed our minds soon and left as soon as possible next morning. We found a very good hotel in 50 km away in Italy for €33/person.


Conclusion: I highly recommend avoiding this Vanoise Hotel.
I'm still so upset, this is why I am here dissuading you from staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: You had better avoiding this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

What do you say about a hotel that just makes the grade? The service was friendly. The room though small and poorly lit had carpet, a reasonable bed, adequate storage, tiny bath with shower attachment that didn't work. Breakfast was just continental and more than fine. The one dinner I had, the starter of warm chèvre salad was ok, main of some off cut of beef was awful and swimming in gravy, and the dessert was 7 prunes in a vanilla sauce. €136 a night half board is a pretty full price, even in ski season.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here for one night during Tour du Mont Blanc by bike.

Despite beign a "bike-hotel", this is not the best place for sportsman and cyclists.

Our rooms were very small (as the bathroom) and directly on the main street and during the night was very hard to sleep: with window closed it was extremely humid and HOT inside, and with window open the noise from the cars passing down the street was very bothering.

The place to park the bikes is a small, dark and dirty room underground accesible only by a narrow stair next to the kitchen where bikes pass with difficulty: maintenance on the bikes is not possible here, you need to go outside.

Dinner was good, but for sure not suitable for people who need energy for the day after: salad, rice and fish. To have some carboidrates we ate tons of bread... Anyway, we really appreciate the cake.

The breakfast was ok with brioches, crèpes, orange juice, bread and jam, cofee, milk and tea.

In the end... I'm not satisfied: it's a cheap hotel but services are aligned to the price. And, overall, is not a bike-hotel at all...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stedema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have repeatedly stayed at the Relais De Vanoise over the past 11 years, and would recommend it to anyone needing a convenient place to stay at a modest budget in Bourg. The proprietors are both friendly and welcoming (this to a group of 8 english guys on a weekend snowboard trip) The food is good, hearty fare - perfect after an active day in the mountains. [Sunday night is 'Tartiflette']. The rooms always clean, and the facilities fine at this price. A few minutes walk from the train station (it's still quiet at night) and 10/15 minutes walk from the furniculaire up to Arcs 1660... a good nights sleep, after being well fed... at a reasonable price, what more do you need?

Richard

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard197010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I had the misfortune of recently staying at Le Relais De La Vanoise. This small hotel covers the basics fine, as it was clean, the bed was comfortable enough, and the hot water never ran out. My room didn't have a traditional shower, just a tub with a hand held shower head. Free wi-fi as well. The innkeeper was pleasant enough when I showed up without a reservation on a Friday night. If you are stuck for a night in Bourg St. Maurice, it is better than sleeping in the train station. However, the problem lies with the innkeeper. She is a thief at worse or simply dishonest at best
I only stayed one night (69 Euro), so the next morning after breakfast (8 Euro) I attempted to pay my bill of 77 Euro at the bar. Since we didn't speak each others language very well she wrote the number down. I gave her 100 Euro (50x2), which displeased her for some reason; perhaps she didn't have enough change, I don't know. She then spotted the 40 Euro (20x2) I was holding in my hand and literally snatched it out of my hand! She quickly took all the money, put it in her cash box, and eventually gave me 40 Euro as change. As I mentioned before, there was a language barrier as I only speak guidebook French and the innkeeper only spoke elementary English (or at least pretended not to speak English), but mathematics is universal. She owed me 23 Euro! No amount of scratch paper explanation was going to retrieve my 23 Euro from her cash box, so after a few minutes of trying to explain I gave up.
Losing out on 23 Euro didn't ruin my vacation, but I felt that this review was the only way to pay her back. I also learned to pay my hotel bills by credit card when possible.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
5  Thank jh727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Françoise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxmauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg Saint Maurice
1.1 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arolla
Hotel Arolla
#13 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Relais des Villards
3.7 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence CGH Le Coeur D'Or
Residence CGH Le Coeur D'Or
#9 of 42 in Bourg Saint Maurice
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais De La Vanoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais De La Vanoise

Address: 253 avenue du Stade, 73700, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range: £87 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Relais De La Vanoise 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Relais De La Vanoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing