We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Hotel For Skiing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carlina
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel For Skiing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

You could not argue that the Carlina is in a perfect position if you are a Skier, you can Ski to and from the Hotel every day. The Hotel itself is quite high at 2050 mtrs this did cause a few breathless moments for one of our party, especially in getting to sleep. The staff are friendly and will always help, the Restaurant food other than one night when our Steak needed sharper teeth than a human being has, was good ,varied and well presented. There was a swimming pool, looked good but not used by us. Our room had everything you would expect with plenty of space and good ensuite facilities. One question why is it not possible to have the Shower head mounted to the wall on a bracket instead of having to hand hold it and spray water everywhere ?. This was the second Hotel we stayed at in France that had what to us was an unessessary inconvieniance. Overall it is proberbly the best Hotel in La Plagne with the setting and Spa facilities, you know it is not going to be a bargain break but if you dont mind paying for something that is better than normal then this is the place for you. Yes we did enjoy our stay there and would certainly return, maybe next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room No; 40 overlooking the front and Piste not noisey and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    26
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had one weeks stay at the Carlina in Feb.2 weeks ago with Crystal holidays. Great location. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly. The sun terrance is great with extensive lunches at reasonable prices. Recommended.Carol.Devon

Room Tip: South facing would be best, but a lot more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford, england
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a large adult party. Very good rooms with view of the piste and nice balconies, the food was excellent and best of all the hotel was perfect for ski convenience being situated on the side of the piste between Belle Plagne and Plagne Bellcotte.
This run is ok for skiers of all standards and is an easy ski back from the village after Apre-Ski.
Belle Plagne is a pretty family based resort and is limited in terms of apres-ski with a few small bars. The hotel has a large sunny terrace which would be great in late season and has a nice spa with a small but adequate pool. On the downside, the hotel is a long-ish walk up the hill to the village and the ski -school meeting places for those with children so probably better for experienced skiers who will go striaght off via Bellecotte.
Excellent friendly service.
If you visit La Plagne then a day in Les Arcs is well worth it, more varied and challenging ski-ing and lovely runs through the trees back to Piessey-Vallandry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Absolutely amazing! We stayed at The Carlina third week in January 2012, we needed a break! This was just the place! Room was so comfy, the staff were so jolly,friendly and helpful. Stunning views over the slopes, easy access onto the piste even for me who is a completely hopeless skier. Wonderful balcony bar/restaurant outside for that during the day drink or lunch, no pressure to buy allowed to sit and relax all afternoon. Stunning views from the bar area inside. All absolutely amazing however the word amazing does not begin to describe the restaurant and meals. We had the set meal for the half board every evening, it was unbelievable!! The food was delicious and the Chef must be worth his weight in gold!! We have stayed in some amazing hotels five stars upwards and recently stayed in a noteable five star in London, the food was nothing in comparison to this "set menu" in the Carlina. Food to die for but what also helped was the staff who went out of their way to explain the food descriptions in English, they were excellent.
The spa area was relaxing,clean and very welcoming again the staff were so friendly.
On the whole this was the most relaxing, enjoyable and wonderful much needed experience.
Thank you to all at The Carlina. We are ready to book for next year already. Confident that we will be visiting them again next year.

Room Tip: Overlook the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtfastltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Bourg
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed 1.5 day at the Carlina Hotel from Jan. 6th to Jan.7th because we had a problem of key with the apartment that we have at La Plagne. We are a couple with a 3 years old daughter and a 11 months baby.
We had a " family suite ". It´s a room with a corridor were you have bunk beds.
The room was quite small but it was ok because at the end we did not stay so much there.
We had diner, breakfast and lunch there. The food and the wine were excellent !

I really enjoyed the " tartiflette", as well as the fish " dorade". Everything was well presented, with an excellent taste and large proportions.
The most we enjoyed in this hotel were :

- The outstanding service: from the desk to the housemaid, and particularly in the restaurant, everyone was friendly and made our live easier. ( Except the director who was at the bar discussing with friends and not paying attention to the customers).

- The facilities for families with babies / children : They have everything for children, they propose Ipads, have a playroom, high chairs etc.... and they propose special meals made by the chef for the children ( not only the traditional french fries/pasta/ham but also fish fillet...)

- The excellent location for skiers : you can start your skiing day from the hotel and finish it at the hotel without taking the

It´s very expensive for 1 night but the service was outstanding and they made our live easier, knowing that we had an apartment at La Plagne and that we probably would never come back.

It´s a pity that at that price, the parking is not included and you have to pay 10€/day.
I guess that for a longer stay, the rates are different so I would recommend this hotel for families with babies or children.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hotel Carlina became our "stop of choice" when we were in Champagny for Christmas/New Year, we definitely "do" luxury and this place looked awesome. We stayed in Hotel Ancolie (which was great) but if we return we will stay in Carlina. Most days we had a beer (or two, with a few vin chauds thrown in) and on one day we ate in the restaurant (we ate outside once as well), people bemoan the prices but seem to forget this isn't the Hungry Horse on a roundabout on the A614, it's The Alps for goodness sake.

A really great spot to rest and take in all that is great about La Plagne, and an ideal place to arrange to meet with friends/family when/if you get split up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Standee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plagne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

The best feature of the hotel is the ski in/out facility.

The bedroom was very small and uncomfortably cool. In the public areas (bar and dining room) it was positively cold - I had to wear a fleece at all times. Apart from an ineffective log fire in the bar, there was little cheer. It was a gloomy area where we didn't want to linger, and decorated with dusty wooden artefacts from farming days gone by.

The choice at breakfast was ok if, like us, you enjoy continental fayre. However, if you prefer a hot meal, the only option was a boiled egg. Chef would have got top marks for the presentation of his food at dinner, but generally it was tasteless; we wouldn't have recognised the pork or veal unless we had been told what it was.

The hotel seemed to be run by very young people; noone appeared to be over 25.The waiting staff were very friendly but we were not very impressed with the attitude of a woman who we took to be the restaurant supervisor/manager. She would sweep through the dining room acknowledging each table of French people and totally ignored us. As there was a maximum of 8 guests staying during our week, and we were the only 'foreigners', we thought this was downright Gallic rudeness. Even our French runs to 'Bonsoir'.

We are seasoned skiiers and have been to many countries, although this was our first time in La Plagne. The accomodation is so important when you have been out all day. To return to a warm, comfortable hotel with good (not fancy) food doesn't seem too much to ask.

Would we return? Yes to La Plagne but not to the Hotel Carlina.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsafanLaPlagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#13 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlina

Property: Hotel Carlina
Address: Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlina 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing