We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Nearby Hotels
Club Med La Plagne 2100(Macot-la-Plagne)
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Club Med Aime la Plagne(Macot-la-Plagne)
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
82
131
37
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
131
37
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupattic roomdrag lifthalf boardno safe in the roombuffet startersmall thingsplagne soleilla plagneswimming poolbutton liftski lockersvelux windowpacked breakfastvaried and plentifulfantastic snow conditionsplagne centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vancouver from 21st - 28th January 2012.

The Hotel actually seemed very nice......pretty good location (a little fiddly regarding ski in ski out but not too bad), rooms were nice with good views, all seemed fairly clean and fully functional, and great snow!

The Spa was actually very good compared to some hotels I have stayed in - the pool was lovely and warm and so were the Jacuzzi's (just what was needed for the aching muscles!).

The staff were mainly OK. We didn't need to go to reception much so didn't have too many dealings with the receptionist, and the bar and restaurant staff were pleasant.

The food however was the worst food I have had on holiday ever! The meal on the first night didn't seem so bad, but after that it seemed to go downhill rapidly! On the whole, the food was very typically French. I usually enjoy trying food when I am abroad, but there were occasions where I would have preferred something a little more international/edible. The choice of menu was pretty much non-existant.....if you hadn't ordered an alternative by 11am that morning (and the alternative was very limited), you had to eat what was offered....or go hungry! I'm sure many people like tartiflette, raclette and raw beef in France, but it really wasn't my cup of tea and I found myself forcing it down just because I was starving after a full day on the slopes! The soup seemed to be pretty much the same soup each night....as was the salad. The last night most of us opted for the sausages.....big mistake as they were very odd.....and 3 of us ended up with sickness (this may or may not have been the food, but the sausages certainly didn't go down well!).

Maybe with all the poor reviews they will consider altering the food menu / getting a new chef......I hope so! If you are going to stay at this hotel, please take some extra money in case you need to go out for dinner instead!!

Room Tip: Our first floor room appeared to be above the restaurant - lots of table scraping noises in the early hours of the morning for some reason!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyBelly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Gérant at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear client,
we acknowledge your comments and we realise that taking over the Hotel Vancouver from the former management at the beginning of December was very difficult.
Since opening and over the time we have been running the hotel, we have discovered a large number of technical problems in the buildings and the swimming pool area due to a lack of maintenance.
Because we had to deal with all these problems, the recruitment of our reception and catering staff was not as good as it should have been. That is the reason why some services have not been up the standard of the classification of our establishments.
We quickly realised this and we have responded by taking vigorous measures such as replacing some of our staff (in the kitchen and the dining room) and improving the quality and choice of our menus. We may have to continue on this way specially for our client coming from England.

With regard to the reception staff, we have instigated training in the quality of service and welcoming of guests for all those involved.
Furthermore, new staff, bilingual in English, has been recruited.

Despite a start that was admittedly difficult, we would like you to know that we will take all the steps necessary to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.

The direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Vancouver on the second week of January. The hotel and rooms are very nice and comfortable. Very clean. Nice pool and Jacuzzi baths in basement. Nice to have a locking locker for skis and poles (we brought our boots back to the room to dry overnight as they wouldn’t if left in the locker). As for service, it was okay – we speak French so it might have helped. Barman very helpful.

Breakfast were actually good. We have however been very disappointed with the food served in the evenings. We have been in many 3 star hotels in France and in comparison, the food served in the evening at Hotel Vancouver could be described as glorified cafeteria food. The French hotel star system only has a maximum of 4 stars and 4 stars are usually reserved for genuine luxury hotels. So 3 stars hotels in France usually serve fantastic food (so do 2 star hotels, in our experience) that is fresh, made and presented with attention.

Shortcuts are taken – we were pretty sure that vegetables served with the dishes were from a tin. Desserts are industrially made and covered with equally industrially made ‘toppings’ (i.e. red topping one night, brown(caramel) the next, etc.) – not inspiring and some of the desserts were really on the cheap side (e.g. faisselle topped with the red stuff). On the last night (buffet), we were offered a variety of desserts served on the previous nights! One of the starters was quarters of tomatoes topped with cubes of mozzarella (the hard kind, not fresh) and vinaigrette. That was poor. Our impression was that the overall objectives for these evening dishes was to spend the least time (and money) as possible. Alternatives to the set menu were: steak and chips (already on the menu on one night), tartiflette (already served as mean dish in one of the buffets), savoyarde fondue (extra charge of EUR5/person), and chicken in a cream sauce.

For France, this is, in our view, unacceptable, when 3 stars hotels usually serve delicious food (this is France after all, it’s not that difficult to find good products). We have eaten better in catered chalets. We felt cheated.

I wrote to the hotel to complain and received a response saying they would pass on my comments to the management.

Would recommend staying elsewhere if you enjoy good food after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voyagerUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We arrived to record snow, which is always a great start!! On arrival the hotel impressed, modern, great lighting, lovely bar, welcoming reception area. As stated in other reviews the fire remained firmly unlit all week, this could be such a great feature! The lady from reception was fine, not majorly friendly or welcoming. She offered us wifi in our rooms for 75 Euros a week, we declined her kind offer, she also tried to charge us 45 Euros vat three times, we explained we booked via Crystal and she relented! Our rooms were fine too, warm, functional and in traditional style but all pretty new. Bathrooms fine, although we did have an issue like other reviews with the pop us waste plug! We had to leave the water in the bath twice and wait for maintenance man to chisel it out of the bath, this is obviously a big current problem for them at the moment. We were eventually left with a temporary one size fit's all cover that did the job! Probably would have made more sense to sort this problem in the quieter summer season rather than trying to chisel 10 plugs a night in the height of the ski season! The food on our first and subsequent nights was actually ok, not gourmet but then we didn't pay gourmet prices. They were always happy to exchange meals if one of our party didn't like the set menu, with steak frites and chicken etc. Oceane and Ellen the two waitresses are without doubt the nicest and friendliest of all the staff here, sorry about spellings of names if not correct. They worked really hard, and remembered our drink preferences every night. The English gentleman in the restaurant was less than friendly unfortunately and only managed a grumpy hello occasionally. Breakfast was very funny and was a battle of wills each day to get bacon, eggs, sausages, plates, coffee and glasses. The breakfast buffet isn't huge so there is no excuse for not keeping this topped up. Sometimes staff would arrive with a top of bacon with 9 or 10 pieces for 15 guests!!
We booked our ski equipment from next door, and I would recommend them, they are friendly and efficient. Ski lockers are provided but best to keep boots in your room as the lockers are not heated! The ski room backs onto the underground car park which lets you out onto a blue run, although I don't think this would be suitable for beginners as it's actually quite steep in places. A quick ski down takes you to La Bergerie lift, from here you can easily navigate your way round the La Plagne ski area. At night also good to take this lift and ski down to Plagne Soleil, into Monica's Pub for a mulled wine, then across the square, down a few steps and across road to hotel. There is a blue run down to hotel, but you can only access this piste via a drag lift which is quite long and has a difficult right turn. On of our party actually fell off this drag lift much to our amusement!! Monica's Pub is fantastic, we drank our hot chocolate throughout the day here on their lovely sun terrace, we finished here with a few beers, had lunch and one dinner. The food is great and the staff are super friendly. There are a couple of other places to drink and eat in Soleil, but we stuck with Monica's, mainly due to the staff. There is a handy Spar shop in the square too. The most attractive of La Plagne's villages is Belle Plagne, easy to ski to or at night on the ski bus. On of the nicest mountain restaurants is L'Arpette, great food, brilliant location with sun terrace and chillout music too. All in all a great ski holiday with fantastic friends. We managed to laugh off the poor service at the hotel, but this does need addressing as it could easily be a great hotel. Would recommend La Plagne to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We are a family of 6 adults who have just returned from a week at Hotel Le Vancouver. We had read the reviews from the begining of January and were very sceptical of what we would find.
However the hotel itself is very nice we had 3 double rooms on the first floor all next to each other which we hadnt speicifically requested so that was nice.We had lovely views overlooking the piste.The rooms were very clean and modern, yes there are only 5 fixed hangers in the wardrobe so best to take your own, there is also a coat hook with about 4 hooks on it to hang your ski jackets etc.
We always had clean towels and our bed was made and room cleaned daily.

Fortunatly our rep escorted us into the hotel and waited until we had been checked in, presumably because complaints had been made previously.
We had no reason to go to the reception desk again other than to request a light bulb that wasnt working in one of our lamps, we were given a replacement straight away.
Admitadly the staff were far from friendly but as I said we didnt need to go to them for any assitance.
The Young Barman called William was lovely a very polite and friendly young man, and the two waitresses in the restaurant who looked like sisters also did their best to help and serve us.
Breakfast was more than adequate a selection of cereals, pastries,french bread, youghurts, fruit juices, Omlette style eggs, Bacon and sausages.
Evening meals were again adequate, yes there was no choice but fortunatley for us we were quite satisfied with what was served up, 3 nights a week was buffet, again with the main course there was no choice, but there was always soup, french bread, assorted salads, Pates, Cheeses, Parma Ham etc.
The restaurant manager did tell us that Xmas and New Year was very difficult for them as they are extremely understaffed and he was very worried about February as the French Holidays last the whole of February and of course English Half Term.

We had glorious weather and fantastic snow conditions, it snowed all day and night on Friday
20th January(our last day) topping up what was already fantastic pistes to ski on.

Yes I think you should check your final bill as you leave the hotel or do what we did and pay for all your drinks as you go along and try to avoid a final account as these were being questioned as we were checking out.

I am not disputing any of the previous negative reviews that have been written everyone is entitled to their opinion, but hopefully this will give you some positives.

Hopefully you will spend most of your time enjoying the fantasic skiing on offer.

We went with Neilson's and i would like to say that Danny & Luke the two reps were extremely helpful and pleasant young lads. they took us on 2 free ski guide days 'Cruising the Blues' on Monday and' Racing the Reds' in Les Arcs on Thursday 2 great days out.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I can't agree with the recent comments. Although we didn't get a welcome pack there was no issue with the service and room. We were alos given 2 keys in case we didn't return from the slopes at the same time. The menus are set for the week, but also list alternative options - although they were meant to be ordered by 11 a.m. my wife had no difficulty one evening getting a tartiflette instead of the meat option. The head waiter asked every day if we were happy with the selction. Although dinner is listed as 3 course it is in fact 4 or 5 courses. Plenty of options for the self service second course and a good selection of cheeses before the dessert. However some of the desserts were poor mid week.
Although the reception staff were not the most welcoming, the rest of the bar and waiting staff were more than helpful. The catering manager even gave us an alarm call on the last morning and got us coffees and a packed lunch while we waited for our transport to arrive.
Breakfasts were excellent with choices of hot and cold - more than enough to set you up to a good day skiing.
We would return here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews