We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much improved hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“much improved hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Were also very concerned about previous reviews, but didnt need to worry. We were a family of first time skiers and were very impressed with all that the hotel and resort had to offer. The food was some of the best I have had and the staff were very friendly, apart from one waitress in the restaurant (very grumpy)!!!
Rooms were clean and fairly spacious and the hot tub and steam room were a relief at the end of a day on the piste.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    106
    33
    10
    18
See reviews for
76
88
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Hotel Vancouver was just fine. The rooms were nice with a great view across to Plagne Centre and beyond. The staff were all very friendly and the food was plentiful and tasty. On one occasion when everyone came to the restaurant at the same time the service became a bit slow. Skiing out is easy. Skiing in is slightly less easy unless you take the Colosses drag lift. The snow was great and there were plenty of runs to ski on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

A party of five of us stayed at the Hotel Vancouver from 28 Jan to 4 Feb 2012. After reading all the bad reviews especially about the food and staff we were a little nervous at what would we find but there was no need to worry as most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We did have to wait until 5.00pm for our rooms to be ready (I can't believe that there were no rooms available as they were cleaned every morning) but we made use of our time by going to the ski hire shop and then finding a good bar.

The rooms were big and furnished to a good standard and the bathrooms were very adequate (better rooms than at most ski hotels). The view from the balcony was lovely, you could see right down the valley.

Improvements had obviously been made in the restaurant as the food was a lot better than we thought it would be and also if you did not like what was on the set menu other options were available. The breakfast buffet was very good with hot and cold choices (a lot more choice than in some other French Hotels I have stayed in). When some choices ran out it was always replenished. All our party thought the food choices were fine (if you didn't like one choice there was always something else). The staff were friendly and really tried to please.

The bar staff were also friendly and the prices were reasonable (as were the price for wine in the restaurant).

We made use of the swimming pool and spa area which came in very useful after a days skiing.

The snow conditions were fantastic and the hotel was in a very good situation to ski in and out of (onto a blue slope which as previously stated not very good complete beginners). The run back in the evening was great as you nearly had the slope to yourself (most skiers headed back to Plagne Centre or Belle Plagne).

The only other cristicsm to make was watch when you pay for drinks in the restaurant as we paid for drinks was we went along but receipts from the restaurant should have been taken to the reception and three were missing. We had two different members of staff querying whether we had paid but in the end it was all sorted but just be mindful.

Our party really enjoyed the hotel and its location and would return for another ski holiday in fact we wish we were there now after all its the skiing at the end of the day you go for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vancouver from Jan 28th to Feb 3rd 2012. We had read many negative reviews particularly about the food and service before our holiday but we actually needn't have worried as it was more than acceptable.

We arrived at 3pm and as others have stated we couldn't get into our room until 5pm, however the receptionist did say he would call us if we could get in earlier. So we organised our boots and ski's instead. The room was big and tastefully furnished, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was small but had everything we needed (take your own hair drier).

The food was so much better than we expected. For breakfast there was plenty to choose from, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheeses, juices, milk, cereals, coffee and teas, croissants, French bread, eggs, bacon and sausages, not to forget the nutella. Nothing exceptional but totally acceptable.

Dinner was variable but there was always plenty of food even though there was limited choice. The salads were plentiful, the soup was good even though it was always very similar. One night we had a large ham joint which was amazing. I enjoyed every meal, especially as I didn't have to cook. My partner would have liked hotter meals but it was fine for me. The waiters and bar staff were friendly and helpful, the tall manager (wish I knew his name) was exceptionally helpful and full of energy, spoke excellent English too.

The older manager was less friendly but when I tried to speak French he was more receptive and helpful. I don't know why the English are so arrogant and expect everyone to speak English.

The wifi worked well in the lobby, bar and dining room. The bar prices were very reasonable, we enjoyed several games of pool in the bar. They also served decaf coffee in the bar.

Our Crystal rep was excellent, extremely efficient and friendly.

We enjoyed the steam room, hot tubs and swimming pool, however there seemed to be electrical problems with the sauna, lighting and showers in the pool area.

It was warm in the rooms but as it was -22 outside I was pretty glad of the heat.

The snow was amazing and the skiing from this location is excellent for everyone except perhaps a complete beginning as you have to down a blue run or get the bus to get to the green runs, but the ski school and ski hire are both very close by.

We enjoyed hot chocolate and hot wine at Monica's bar nearby every day and also escaped our half board one night to a restaurant in Plagne Centre called the Refuge where we had a fabulous reasonably priced fondue.

Room Tip: Family room with 2 bunk beds and balcony with great view of the mountsins = room 200.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crommers_Gooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Arrived at the hotel with some trepidation after the food reviews, but we had no complaints! Lovely large room, with briliant mountain views..True we got no response to our complaint about a broken shower head holder, but it did not ruin our hol!.Breakfast was a very extensive hot and cold buffett.Evening....yes the soup didnt vary, but the rest of the food did.It was not michelin starred but very acceptable.The staff were friendly and efficient...If you have ever stayed in a <normal< french hotel (very small) this was exceptional.! also a very close spar for cheaper wine/snacks etc...Snow fantastic .Great hol

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel from January 21-28, 2012.
I agree with all the other reviews (awful receptionists, poor service, terrible food, etc.).
My husband and I got food poisoning from the dessert on Wednesday (Salmonella).
We are sure about this, because it was the only thing we both ate the same that day.
Also another couple we met in the hotel got food poisoning, this time from the dessert on Friday (creme brulee), which we did not have, because we were sick already.
In the other reviews I also read about several people who got sick from the food.
Today, one week later, I still only can eat toast, crackers and clear soup, my stomach is still upset.
Our room was OK, the swimming pool and jacuzzi were warm, but the sauna was cold most of the time. And it was very warm in the room, even with the door open.
Nevertheless, we had a great wintersport vacation with perfect snow conditions.
But not thanks to the awful hotel management and the terrible food.
We would not go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Customer,

We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our hotel Vancouver, in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

Bedrooms:
- An increase in the hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating of certain bedrooms
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the hotel in 2011)

Bar- Restaurant :
- Complete replacement of the catering team
- Recruitment of a chef with 20 years’ experience in local cuisine.
- Addition of homemade and takeaway pizzas to the menu.
- Complete modification of the menu with some typical and high quality “Savoyard” produce.
- Entertainment in the bar

The Hotel:
- Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Vancouver from 21st - 28th January 2012.

The Hotel actually seemed very nice......pretty good location (a little fiddly regarding ski in ski out but not too bad), rooms were nice with good views, all seemed fairly clean and fully functional, and great snow!

The Spa was actually very good compared to some hotels I have stayed in - the pool was lovely and warm and so were the Jacuzzi's (just what was needed for the aching muscles!).

The staff were mainly OK. We didn't need to go to reception much so didn't have too many dealings with the receptionist, and the bar and restaurant staff were pleasant.

The food however was the worst food I have had on holiday ever! The meal on the first night didn't seem so bad, but after that it seemed to go downhill rapidly! On the whole, the food was very typically French. I usually enjoy trying food when I am abroad, but there were occasions where I would have preferred something a little more international/edible. The choice of menu was pretty much non-existant.....if you hadn't ordered an alternative by 11am that morning (and the alternative was very limited), you had to eat what was offered....or go hungry! I'm sure many people like tartiflette, raclette and raw beef in France, but it really wasn't my cup of tea and I found myself forcing it down just because I was starving after a full day on the slopes! The soup seemed to be pretty much the same soup each night....as was the salad. The last night most of us opted for the sausages.....big mistake as they were very odd.....and 3 of us ended up with sickness (this may or may not have been the food, but the sausages certainly didn't go down well!).

Maybe with all the poor reviews they will consider altering the food menu / getting a new chef......I hope so! If you are going to stay at this hotel, please take some extra money in case you need to go out for dinner instead!!

Room Tip: Our first floor room appeared to be above the restaurant - lots of table scraping noises in the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyBelly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Gérant at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear client,
we acknowledge your comments and we realise that taking over the Hotel Vancouver from the former management at the beginning of December was very difficult.
Since opening and over the time we have been running the hotel, we have discovered a large number of technical problems in the buildings and the swimming pool area due to a lack of maintenance.
Because we had to deal with all these problems, the recruitment of our reception and catering staff was not as good as it should have been. That is the reason why some services have not been up the standard of the classification of our establishments.
We quickly realised this and we have responded by taking vigorous measures such as replacing some of our staff (in the kitchen and the dining room) and improving the quality and choice of our menus. We may have to continue on this way specially for our client coming from England.

With regard to the reception staff, we have instigated training in the quality of service and welcoming of guests for all those involved.
Furthermore, new staff, bilingual in English, has been recruited.

Despite a start that was admittedly difficult, we would like you to know that we will take all the steps necessary to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.

The direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
3.1 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#5 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Araucaria Hotel
Araucaria Hotel
#9 of 34 in Aime
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Property: Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vancouver is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050 m. Its ideal situation enables you to ski to and from the hotel to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).You will be enchanted by the welcoming atmosphere of this hotel and by the high level of comfort in its bedrooms. All the shops are close to the hotel.The Hotel Vancouver offers quality facilities including entry to the indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ski Planet and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing