We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I feel compelled to write my first trip advisor review upon return 2 weeks ago from the worst hotel experience ever! Having travelled regularly with Crystal and generally been very happy with the service, I cannot fathom why the Hotel Le Vancouver at La Plagne Soleil continues to be included within their brochure. The company is fully aware of the level of client dissatisfaction through ongoing complaints, which the poor reps are constantly fielding.

It was like being in the sitcom, Faulty Towers, without the laughs! It felt as if the hotel was being run on a tight budget to keep it solvent. There was no safe in the room for passports and valuables and although advertised as ski in, ski out it hotel it wasn’t that simple. The badly signed access to the slopes took us half the week to discover and was across the hotel’s underground car park and out through the sister hotel, Le Sun Valley. I finally flipped after 3 days without hot water even on returning to the hotel at 5.30, which was easily remedied by turning up the thermostatic control! The hotel also ran out of pillows, was reluctant to provide a second loo roll, failed to replace dirty towels and provided the most unappetising and a limited selection of food at both breakfast and dinner that I have ever experienced in all the years of travelling with Crystal. There was nothing to look forward to on returning to the hotel of an evening!

The staff were rude and untrained in customer care and the restaurant (approx 120 covers) was understaffed, which led to delays of over an hour in getting seated let alone served at dinner. There was no water at breakfast and only Liptons tea bags, sachets of hot chocolate and filter coffee. The 3 course set menu was hugely disappointing and although there was an a la carte menu it was on a need to know basis, ie the staff knew but were reluctant to tell the clients. It wasn’t a bad miss as the choice wasn’t inspiring including such French dishes as cheese and tomato pizza, carbonara and spaghetti bolognaise! A hint of sarcasm may be detected here. Desserts included fruit salad and ice cream!

Service was disorganised with clients being offered dessert before they’d had their main and drinks they hadn’t even ordered. There was no salad bar and the staff were more intent on setting the tables for the next meal than serving. On average our meals took up to 3 hours and on New Year’s eve meant we were unable to get to Plagne Bellcotte to see in the new year.

Having said all that La Plagne is a great set of resorts which are well connected. The Cap du Nord bar located in the centre of Soleil is lovely, as is the restaurant Au Coin du Feu above it, which we ate at on our last night having had enough of the hotel. Scotties in La Plagne Centre serves amazing chilli nachos and burgers. Well worth a visit for lunch. And if you love your skiing, get a discovery pass which allows a days skiing over in Les Arcs.

This wasn’t a cheap holiday and I believe it is unfair for Crystal to expect the local reps to have to continually deal with the level of complaints they obviously receive when the hotel is not up to Crystal’s usual standard. Please remove it from your brochure and save a lot of disappointment!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear client, we are sorry if you did not really enjoy your stay in our hotel.
In fact you staid during the first very busy week of the season, and in the ski resorts most of the hotels are only open during the winter season so the staff is not always used to work together.
For this reason too, you may have not all service you are used to find in city hotels, like safe box in the room or minibar (you have a bar in the hotel).
But a safe box is at the disposal of the clients at the reception if necessary and only the manager of the hotel has the code.
The hotel was fully booked and a lot of client of the residence nearby has reserved the half board too, that is why the restaurant and its staff may have been a bit overcrowded during this week. They were perhaps not as much attentive to your needs as you'd hoped.
It is always possible to change a meal in the restaurant, or to choose another menu than the one proposed.
Concerning the slope access, the slope to leave the hotel is 20m far from the door of the reception, you may ski back with this slope, or another one, which is 200m from the hotel near by the ski school for children.
We did not have a problem with warm water in the hotel, we did not have other claim about this problem.
Concerning the towels, as in most of the hotel around the world now we have an ecological approach : the towels has been changed only if client let them on the floor. If they hang it, it is because they want to use it again. It is notified in the bathroom
The staff of the hotel is always at your disposal if something is missing in the room, and is always taking care of the feedback of the rep of the tour operators which is also the link between us and the client.
As you may see with the other opinions since New year we have done a significant effort and we hope to welcome you next season.
Anyway we thank you for all your remarks and it will help us to improve the quality of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We booked a last minute family holiday here over New Year. All in all we had a lovely time, but this hotel has huge potential and could easily be 4* with a little more effort. A little more professionalism required on the reception desk (some of the staff were clueless) and more general information could have been provided about meals/buffets/entertainment/snow report/weather on a board in reception area. For what we paid, we expected a little more luxury
and slightly better service. We have stayed in many places so have a lot to compare it to.

The Reception and general areas are well presented (apart from horrible nylon table cloths) and the rooms were a good size. The access to the slopes was brilliant, although a tricky drag to get home, so wouldn't advise for small children.

Our meal time experience was somewhat mixed. The food was always running out, especially at breakfast and it took them ages to replace the milk/coffee/orange juice, so we often gave up. The choice was fairly limited especially for people with dietary requirements (gluten free) and we only discovered later that there were other options other than the set menu, but this was not advertised anywhere. We felt that the restaurant was understaffed and chaotic at best.

The bar was also understaffed (although it was New Year and the hotel was full) but Phillipe was very obliging and keen to please.

The rooms were fine, but there was only one very small pillow each, no spare blankets and our carpet was rarely hoovered. The wifi was at a cost was intermittent and every day there was someone in reception complaining about it. Fortunately we were not charged as they were able to see how little we had been able to use it, but it was annoying all the same.

Boot Lockers were spacious but cold and boots were still damp the next day. There was very little seating in the boot room, so it tended to get overcrowded and congested.

The spa area looked lovely, but we forgot our costumes so didn't get to try it out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

We thank you to post your opinion on this website. We are sorry if you feel a lack of professionalism.
In fact you stay during the first very busy week of the season, in the ski resorts most of the hotels are only open during the winter season and the staff is not used to work together.
Moreover the hotel was fully booked and a lot of client of the residence has taken the half board too, that is why the restaurant and its staff may have been a bit overcrowded.
As you may see with the other opinion since New year we have done a significant effort and we hope to welcome you next season.
Anyway we thank you for all your remarks and it will help us to improve the quality of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel, had a fantastic time. Friendly, helpful staff lovely food and nice rooms, very warm so had to sleep with the balcony door open. The pool is a bonus, water lovely and warm. Good location for ski in ski out, ski area huge with good variety of slopes. Not much night life in the immediate area, but hotel has a bar. Will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great sized room, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds. Very hot, but I've never stayed in a ski property that wasn't boiling... Plentiful breakfasts and substantial dinners. Superb coffee. Staff always smiling and helpful, there wasn't one who wasn't happy and chatty, think they must have listened to some of the reviews! We got our keys on check in at 2pm. Magnificent New Year's Eve six course dinner. Philipe in the bar was a delight. Location truly ski in ski out, and don't forget your swimmers to use the pool, the sauna and jacuzzi! If you're a party animal, want more varied apre or like to shop though, you'd be better off in another La Plagne village rather than Plagne Soleil. It suited us well though. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have views over the mountains, however the ones on the outside of the hotel are the nices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Clean basic hotel which was great to be able to ski in and out of but there were some restrictions that taint the overall experience....
Not getting the keys on check in till 5pm is a real pain and there is not much to do in the very local area so you need to get a bus to the other La Plagne areas for any entertainment.
Food is basic and like everyone else I was disappointed with the tinned vegetables and array of frozen deserts....but on the plus side their salad bar was great and we were able to make packed lunches without any concerns from the staff.
One waitress was particularly friendly and helpful but the other would have cracked her face if she tried to smile ;)
Top tip is to go to the SPAR up the road and get in the wine to take to your table...saved a fortune and no-one commented at all

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Customer,

We are always interested in the comments made during the winter season in order to improve our services in our hotel Vancouver, in Plagne Soleil.. Therefore some improvements and repairs to our buildings have been planned.

Swimming pool area :
- Pool liner replacement.
- Automation of the water and chlorine level in the swimming pool.
- Reinforcement of the dehumidification in the aquatic area.
- Installation of new locker rooms with coin operated lock systems.
- New deckchairs around the swimming pool.
- Modification and reparation of the sauna cabin.
- Reparation of the Hammam
- Replacement of the spa’s motorization and chlorine level control.

Reception :
- Recruitment of a new manager with10 years’ experience in 4**** hotel residence management and the complete replacement of reception’s staff.
- Refurbishment of the reception and reparation of the fireplace.

Bedrooms:
- An increase in the hot water production
- Insulation of pipes to avoid overheating of certain bedrooms
- General control of the heating circulation ( the installation was completely misadjusted during the takeover of the hôtel in 2011)

Bar- Restaurant :
- Complete replacement of the catering team
- Recruitment of a chef with 20 years’ experience in local cuisine.
- Addition of homemade and takeaway pizzas to the menu.
- Complete modification of the menu with some typical and high quality “Savoyard” produce.
- Entertainment in the bar

The Hotel:
- Improvement of the internal and external signs.

We hope that with all these improvements, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great place with a clean, comfortable room and a good view. Furniture and fittings made from good, solid timber. Food was generally of a high quality with one or two main courses somewhat more basic but always very tasty and beautifully prepared. The room was too hot and leaving open the balcony door didn't entirely solve the problem as the cold air this allowed in merely served to trigger the frost stat on the adjacent (enormous) radiator. We spoke to one guest on our last day who had got management to turn off his radiator permanently. We too encountered the 'grumpy' waitress whose service was virtually none existent. A complaint to reception ensured we didn't have to endure her again. The other staff were very friendly and helpful. Skiing back - the poma from Plagne Bellecote exits onto a piste which passes the entrance to the ski room. From the La Bergerie chair, ski towards Plagne Soleil and head towards a prominent black cabin about 200m to the right of the main piste. From here it is possible to follow a walkers trail for about 500m before branching off left to traverse the hillside to join the aforementioned piste.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very nice hotel. Comfortable, clean, great location and the staff were helpful. We had half-board and the food was absolutely excellent (and lots of it too). Enjoyed the hot tub. The only bad points were that it was uncomfortably hot (but our room had a door on to the balcony so we just kept that open most of the time) and the reception desk was a bit disorganised (when it came to checkout time they didn't have any bills made up for us so just had to trust us as to how many drinks we'd had in the restaurant!).

Room Tip: First floor was very hot. Not sure what the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st555444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#8 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Val...
#6 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £142 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vancouver is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050 m. Its ideal situation enables you to ski to and from the hotel to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).You will be enchanted by the welcoming atmosphere of this hotel and by the high level of comfort in its bedrooms. All the shops are close to the hotel.The Hotel Vancouver offers quality facilities including entry to the indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing