We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with direct piste access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We are a family of four with two daughters (9 and 12) that had a great stay at Le Vancouver for a week in end of December 2013 and early January 2014. The apartment we stayed at has a fantastic view over the valley and the slopes thanks to the location of the hotel. The piste runs just next to the hotel so excellent for ski-in/ski-out.
The apartments are cozy, well equipped, clean and tidy. The service in the hotel is very good and the bar and restaurant offer a good choice of food and drinks. There is also a well equipped Intersport store in the hotel with really good service. Also worth noticing is the SPA-area with saunas and pool with view over the slopes.
All in all, I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 302JohanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just spent a week at the Vancouver will Neillson and can concur with the previous reports. Not exactly Haute Cuissine but acceptable. Very friendly and welcoming staff and nothing was too much trouble. We liked the international feel with guests from France, Germany, Holland and Scandanavia as well as a few Brits. It was a bit of a shock leaving at 4.00am though, but the night porter made us a nice cup of coffee before we left, which was a nice touch.

Lovely little tea shop in La Plagne centre (near the Spa shop). Ten minute walk down the hill from the Vancouver - get the telebus back up and either cut across the piste or get the shuttle bus back to plagne Solliel.

As far as the comments about finding the piste are concerned - a bit of time on recconisance soon sorted that out

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalH190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at The Vancouver on a holiday package organised by Inghams. We found the hotel to be comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food excellent. We do not eat meat and were happily offered an alternative dish when fish was not on the menu. The original room we were offered was on the top floor and did not have a window or twin beds as we had requested. Despite the hotel being very full, we were then given a family room which was spacious with fantastic views of the piste. We were very happy with this but the original room would not have been acceptable. Skiing in and out was great but to ski back, you needed to take the Colossus drag from Bellecote which another guest told us about. Once we knew how to do it, it avoided coming down the stair from our little village and walking round to the ski room. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not have a room on the 4th floor (attic room) unless you are happy with just a skyligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel le Vancouver is situated with perfect access to and from the ski slopes. It is just a few years old and the reception area with the bar is nice and cosy. We have been staying there for a couple of times and have always found it to be the perfect ski-hotel. There is a variety of rooms and apartments and they are fairly large and well furnished.

WiFi is available everywhere and is easy to access all the time with a slight delay just after skiing hours. We must also mention the nice bar with a pleasant bar-man who knows all the drinks and jokes there is. The pool-area is good and available.

We can strongly recommend this hotel to skiers, families and everybody who like nature, skiing and sun ..............

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalleH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is good with nice clean and efficiently put together rooms. There's a sauna a spa which was great after a days skiing. My only real criticism was temperature in the rooms and corridors, just stifling. The restaurant food was good, maybe too many cream sauces, but otherwise excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 week from 11th January with Inghams & had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel had an electrical problem which meant we were upgraded to a large apartment which was lovely but we saw the room we should have had at the top of the hotel & would have been very happy with it, finding it to be very spacious, with a large window & great view.
The beds were very comfortable & we found plenty of hot water for a bath in the evening.
The hotel is very conveniently placed for access to the ski slopes. There are 2 ways: from the ski garage it is a few paces to the Dou du Prez piste, not the easiest of blues, & return via the same piste by taking the Colossus drag lift from Bellecote. This is quite a tricky drag going round 2 corners but should be fine for any competent skiier. The alternative is to cross the square behind the hotel & join the Ecartee run. You can return the same way via the Colossus chair lift.
The staff at reception & in the restaurant were lovely, very helpful & friendly. We had a couple of issues with cleaning but they were sorted after we complained. The free wifi was much appreciated, it worked fine in reception & also our room.
The food was excellent & well cooked. It would have been nice to have a 3rd choice of main as we sometimes just had the only dish we liked. But they were very good at providing an alternative for my husband who does not like cheese or fish when that was the only choice.
A salad bar would also have been appreciated. Breakfast was good, though only had 2 types of cereal & the variety of fruit & yoghurts ran out towards the end of the week.
The pool & spa area was very nice though got a bit crowded in the late afternoon when we used it. I suspect it may get very busy in high season as it is open to all the apartments as well as the hotel.
The on-site ski hire shop is also an added bonus.
There is a lovely 5km round walking path from the back of the hotel for an alternative to skiing or to use up a last morning, with a cafe en route.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed there for a week, we booked our trip through Crystal, and did not really have a choice with the accomodation, so we went for the Vancouver, which seemed nice on the paper.
What a desillusion! On our day of arrival at 2am, as our arrival was delayed due to massive snowing, we were welcomed in a rush and got handed our keys,

1st surprise: we found vomit on the wall in the toilets!

Anyway, we went to bed and this was cleaned next day, but then it got worse and worse: to be brief, most of the evenings, no hot water during what they called "rush time" so after ski, we had to wait in our sweat more than an hour to shower properly!

Food was horrible, no vegetarian options, service took really long and new year's eve dinner, was a desaster, we left before we had even have the main course (around 10pm!) so we could see the fireworks!

And notihng has been done, we asked for a gesture, which they refused.
Very poor quality hotel.

On the bright side: slope access was very good and we had a lovely sunny week.
Maybe this was all due to some bad start, but I would definitly not go there again ...

Room Tip: Make sure not to take shower between 6 and 7pm as you will have only cold water!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear customers
We are sorry if you have not been satisfied with your stay in our hotel . However we would like to clarify some statements: we are not responsible for the late arrival and if you did not really selected our hotel by Crystal .
If there really was vomit on the wall of your toilet when you arrived why did you not inform immediately to the reception of this problem, the night auditor is there to act in case of problems. This is surprising because the paper is changed before your arrival and cleaning done properly,. However, it may have been a lake. Once you have informed us the next day it has been cleaned immediately.
Concerning the vegetarian meals, you have not reported at the reservation that you were vegetarian , vegetarian dishes are served on request when we have the information but we do not offer vegetarian dishes automatically. For New Years Eve, it is a more hearty meal and also longer , it is difficult to satisfy all customers, some are choosing to go to fireworks at 22.00 which is early , others don't want and prefer to take time to eat.
Finally when the hotel is full and the adjoining residence too (which was the case the week of your stay) we may have rush hours on water use if all the guests return from skiing at the same time and simultaneously take shower or bath. We are looking the possibilities of improving the heating system. This week, we did not have this problem.
It is unfortunate indeed that your stay has started so badly and we regret that you could not therefore fully appreciate the qualities of our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macot-la-Plagne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
37 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#13 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances

Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £134 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vancouver is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050 m. Its ideal situation enables you to ski to and from the hotel to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).You will be enchanted by the welcoming atmosphere of this hotel and by the high level of comfort in its bedrooms. All the shops are close to the hotel.The Hotel Vancouver offers quality facilities including entry to the indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ski Planet, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing