We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the slopes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the slopes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in Chalet Balcons 2 which is run by Crystal Ski. The outstanding feature of this chalet, which forms part of Les Balcons complex is the ski in ski out access to the slopes. The chalet is on level 1 and you just need to drop down to level 0 to pick up your skis from the locker and you are out of the back door onto the piste. From there you ski down to Plagne Bellecote where you can pick up lifts in all directions.

The chalet itself sleeps 14 with all but one of the bedrooms opening into the sitting/eating area which is spacious and comfortable. The bedrooms are small but reasonably adequate. My main criticisms are the lack of shower curtain in most of the bedrooms which makes showering difficult without causing a tsunami in the bathroom. The other is the clothes storage space that could be so much improved by putting up some shelves in wardrobes to make better use of space.

The chalet hosts looked after us very well. Good food and lots of it. There is complementary Wi-Fi but you can only pick it up in the reception area. We have been back their two years on the trot and a number of the fellow guests were also on repeat visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSkidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    82
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
132
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

This Chalet is part of the Hotel Les Balcons in Belle Plagne. Fantastic to be 30 secs walk from the slopes. Chalet currently run by Skiworld. To be able to put on skis and either head over to Les Arcs or stay within the La Plagne ski area was wonderful. Going the 3rd week of Jan meant we had great snow and not many people on the slopes. Only had to queue 5 times at lifts the whole week.

Although the skiing was excellent, the same can not be said of the chalet. It was rated as 4 star but described as basic. Rooms were cosy, cupboards were badly designed in terms of being able to store things. Jacuzzi bath was a good touch though. There was nothing to entertain us in the chalet itself in terms of a TV or even anything to listen to music on. The staff were young and inexperienced, which showed in the quality of the food and the attention to detail re cleanliness and repairs. The bulb of the main light in our bathroom blew on the 2nd day and was never replaced. Our bin wasn't emptied all week and the wireless service that I paid for wasn't working. Luckily there were free wireless hotspots in parts of the hotel complex, but you had to get a code which was only valid for 24 hours.

If the management could sort out the service this would have been an excellent holiday location.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 and twins down the end of the corridor, away from the main eating/lounge area. No ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoodyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed in Jan 2013 with three kids.

La Plagne is 4-5 different small clusters, this one is located in the highest little village Belle Plagne.

We booked a self catering apartment but was actually put up in the hotel part of Balcons which is right next door. Checkin was easy and quick and we could park in the underground parking below the hotel and transport our stuff directly to apartment on 2nd floor. Note that there is no free parking outside in La Plagne so you have to pay the 70 EUR extra. The convenience of the elevator right inside the garage makes it worth some of that extra cost.

We had a 6 person apartment which as functional and clean, but absolutely not a 4 star. I would rate this a three star. It is really warm and we always had windows open. Get a South facing apartment for looks over the valley and the coolest show every night at 7pm where about 6-8 Pistenbullys park right outside. The apartment had just the right size. The dishwasher and vacuum cleaner worked terribly. Jacuzzi sink and shower also in the apartment.

Did not try the restaurant in the hotel or apartment complex.

The lounge area in the hotel is on the first floor and is really nice and cozy with a fireplace, pool table, music and TV. This is also the only place you get internet. All the Balcons hotels have this stupid system where you have to go to reception to get a Wifi Code that only works in the common areas for 48 hours. And it is slow. Come on. Put Wifi everywhere for everybody.

Overall the apartment was OK, a little worn here and there.

The skilocker room on level minus 1 was OK, small lockers with no room for boots I would say.

This was our 45th ski trip and ski-in ski-out is always important. There are literally about 25 steps from the skilocker until you are on the piste. You can ski from the 3rd floor og level minus 1. This means you can do lunch in your apartment and/or drop off kids. Very convenient.

Some of the other reviews are a little confused about how to ski to the hotel so let me clear this up.

You can ski down from the Arpette chairlift. This has several blue runs and my 4 year old can ski these. The last 100 meters maybe a little steep if you are an absolute first timer on skis.
In the evening, all these runs are in the sun, so they are pleasant.

The other alternative is to ski down from the Blanchette chairlift and take the small pull lift up for about 150 meters. Then you can ski directly to Les Balcons also.

If you want to ski to Les Arcs, the Vanoise express lift is just 40 minutes away. Les Arcs is included in the Paradiski area ticket.

At night you can walk from Balcons to the centre of Belle Plagne (4 mins) which is surprisingly cozy. There is a small street with shops, restaurants, cafes and they did a really good job here. You can rent Raclette machines from the baker and Pierrade machines from the large Spar supermarket at the lower level.

The La Plagne area is nice. They do a really good job of grooming I must say. It is fairly large and you can do whole day excursions to Les Arcs. Not a lot of people here so you can have easy access to steep colouirs, untouched off piste even days after snowfalls.

I would give Balcons three stars, but because of the location right on the piste they get 4 stars.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19th hole
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just back from a full on week of skiing and apres skiing in la belle plagne, stayed in chalet chardon, run by phil, from smitten by snow, and chalet hosts with the mostess, danny and jen, whose stamina was amazing, not to mention the fantastic food they were able to conjure up out of a very small space.our fellow guests were good fun and we really enjoyed the craic over meals. We had a really good time, being able to ski in and out of the chalet was so convenient,
lift passes were ready for us when we arrived, skis sorted as well, plenty of runs on the la plagne side of the mountain, no need to go to les arcs, a good time had by all, would recommend chalet,and hosts to anyone, thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheughone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Phil was very helpful, organised all the lift passes, ski hire and kept in touch well before the holiday too. Chalet hosts Danny and Jen were good craic and cooked us fantastic breakfasts, afternoon teas and dinners. Wine flowed freely, along with elvis impersonations from the other chalet guests it made for a good atmosphere for all from 17 to 70... Sorry Frank!

Ski in ski out made it very handy to get up and get going in the morning. Wide variety of skiing available, we even got a wee bit of off piste squeezed in. A tip though, there is plenty of runs in la plagne without having to go to les arcs.

Would definately book with Phil and his team again, had a really fun week, cheers guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jademfmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 week 12-19th jan, we drove over and arrived at about 4pm,we went to check in and it was very busy as it was transfer day but the reception staff were pleasant.
However when we went to our apartment it was nothing like any of the pictures on the website, they were obviously the bigger chalets but the apartment which was 321a was really small for 4 people, it is advertised as being able to sleep 5 but there is no way, one would have to sleep on the floor! My sister and her boyfriend ended up sleeping on separate sofas as the double sofa bed was tiny!
The apartment was small but it had everything you'd need for self catering, oven with 4 hobs, fridge freezer, dishwasher, utensils.there was also a small toilet and separate bathroom which had a shower attachment half way up the wall so you had to sit in the bath to have a shower!
We do however think we were a bit unlucky with the apartment as it was a corner apartment and we saw the inside of one 2 doors down and it looked a bit bigger, saying all this the facilities here are good, lovely pizzeria downstairs serves nice food and the resort itself is a lot nicer than a lot of the other villages.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed in Chalet Chardon for a week over the 2013 New Year. It's not a chalet - rather an apartment on one level. It has the most wonderful view over the mountains - see my picture; plus it is true ski in & out. If you end-up too far down in the village, you can take a drag-lift up. Phil, who runs Smitten By Snow was very, very helpful in arranging everything before the holiday; and his chalet staff were great fun, cooked good meals, and kept the apartment clean and tidy.

The rooms are an OK size, with twin beds and en-suite bathrooms. Plenty of hot water. Most rooms have a balcony, as does the lounge/dining area. There is also a small swimming pool, sauna and hot tub - and these are shared by the whole building.

The apartment, and indeed the whole building is very tired, and could do with a total refurbishment. And on the first day the lift was not working. There is no WiFi in the apartment - you have to go down to the lobby. But it's important to note, that all this is reflected in the prices charged - which are very good value. And for me, the big plus-point was the ski in & out, and the location.

So all-in-all, a good value holiday, with great hosts, a fabulous view, and that good, easy, ski in & out!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
#11 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Gemeaux
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne

Property: Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Address: Rue des Balcons, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to the slopes, this chalet residence can welcome from 2 to 21 people in its comfortable and friendly apartments. After a hard day skiing in the Paradiski area, you can either relax by the fire, or enjoy the health spa area with a swimming pool, a fitness room, saunas, spas and massage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Balcons De Belle Plagne Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing