We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

La Plagne Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosaic of different destinations offers a multitude of different ambiances and atmospheres that also reflect the changing architectural styles of winter sports resorts since 1961. Most of La Plagne’s villages were designed by architect Michel Bezançon.La Plagne is part of the Paradiski area and therefore is one of the large ski resorts and is also a family-friendly resort with adapted package offers.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in late March. Conditions were great although slushy towards the end of the week. Lift systems worked well, we never had any queues to contend with and the runs were well groomed. Its brilliant for beginners. We did the whole week on blue runs and only started on the reds towards the very end. Great little off piste jumps and tracks to do off the blue runs as well which the kids enjoyed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lidayL0ver1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    211
    53
    16
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has everything”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Vast collection of blues and reds, not so hot on black runs. Very big area, connected to Les Arc. Overall supurb.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LongPod1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Long wide blue runs - but quite busy”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed in Plagne Centre - it was a good location to access the skiing but the main lifts were very busy - it was the 1st week of March which I think was some sort of French school holidays - but one more than one occasion we queued for nearly an hour. Long wide blues great for beginers and improvers - sometimes got a bit moguly towards the end of the day - and again the slopes were very busy. Managed to find some black mogul runs towards the end of the week.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
397 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“A great place for intermediates and good skiers”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The ski area is very large and linked to Les Arcs by a giant double decker cable car. There are a lot of ling blue and red runs that cater for intermediates and beginners. The mountain restaurants are generally good and well spaced out.
My wife, who likes the green runs of Courchevel found the skiing in and out of our hotel difficult so spent the weeks going for walks which she very much enjoyed.
We stayed at Belle Plagne, one of several mini resorts in the area and the most beautiful. One word of warning is that many of the villages are quite ugly...but the skiing is good and you can easily get away from these buildings higher up the mountains.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowland, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“2nd trip”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is our second time. Resort was very busy this year, French holidays and a World Cup

That aside still plenty of skiing, queues at the lift, but where do you ski without a queue for the lift. We have skied at busier resorts in France. Some lovely runs through Belle plagne, Plagne Bellacote to name but a few. Lots of nice wide runs, good place to build confidence and improve technique.

Lots of nice coffee stops, we found it was more reasonable to eat up the mountain, rather than at the bottom, but beware, portions are quite large. Skiing on a full stomach, not recommended. The scenery is beautiful, plenty of pit stops, good facilities, a very well run resort.

I would however query some of the ranking of the runs. Some of the Blues should be Reds, so beware, but a good variety of runs and lots of them. Impossible to cover in a week.

Lift staff attentive and very aware of what is going on. Quick to resolve and assist any difficulties encountered. We would definitely come back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 802helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Plagne Ski Resort also viewed

 
Montvalezan, Savoie
La Tania, Courchevel
 

Been to La Plagne Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing