We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pistes”

La Plagne Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosaic of different destinations offers a multitude of different ambiances and atmospheres that also reflect the changing architectural styles of winter sports resorts since 1961. Most of La Plagne’s villages were designed by architect Michel Bezançon.La Plagne is part of the Paradiski area and therefore is one of the large ski resorts and is also a family-friendly resort with adapted package offers.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent pistes”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

so much to do other than skiing husky sledging lessons, pony riding, snow shoe walking( Ive never seen so many people walking along or on the slopes)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank march725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    211
    53
    16
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diggle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Piste”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good points large wide open pistes , travelled last week in March and they were empty. Bad points very expensive no snacks in the mountain bars only full on meals

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley_capener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Inghams Chalet Madeleine,La Plagne: A Very Good Holiday”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great week skiing in La Plagne,Les Arcs mountain area. Our chalet group was excellent and the Inghams chalet hosts superb(excellent food,very friendly). We vowed after,staying in an Inghams chalet(Julian)in les arcs last year that we would not use the company again. However,we got a deal with a couple of weeks to go and took a chance that this year things would be better. They were! Much better. Full marks to Inghams. Indeed all of the Inghams staff we came across in La Plagne(rep,drivers,chalet hosts)were pleasant and very helpful.
The chalet Madeleine is a traditional wood built building located just above Plagne 1800. One cannot ski into the chalet but the Inghams bus or free local bus are available throughout the day evening therefore taking the hassle out of getting to/fromthe slopes. The chalet has 6 rooms on three floors. We had a room in the basement and it was very quiet and had an aspect open to the mountain. We had access to the back garden area where one could sit. Very nice. The only drawback was the rather tight stairs to get to the basement and the 44 steps from the chalet to get to the roadway. I was breathless before I started!
We had adequate snow although by the end of the week the best snow was high and even here in the mid afternoon temperatures caused melting. We had no fresh snow during the week we were in La Plagne and lower slopes were being closed,very slushy in the afternoons. We have been skiing at this time many times before and this year the snow cover was not as good as previous.
There is plenty to do in La Plagne and we saw no examples of poor behaviour reported by some others. All of the French people we interacted with we're very welcoming. Definitely go. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Djh2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Skiing and that”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great open slopes but some blue runs had sections maybe a bit steep for beginners. Also blue runs that had red/black runs running into them could get a bit crowded with decent skiers not giving you much space and 'buzzing' you. Nightlife not great, club in Belle Plagne is open til 5am but some nights was completely empty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in late March. Conditions were great although slushy towards the end of the week. Lift systems worked well, we never had any queues to contend with and the runs were well groomed. Its brilliant for beginners. We did the whole week on blue runs and only started on the reds towards the very end. Great little off piste jumps and tracks to do off the blue runs as well which the kids enjoyed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lidayL0ver1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Plagne Ski Resort also viewed

 
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
 

Been to La Plagne Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing