We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“€6.5 for a bottle of sparkling water.. drink the snow”
Review of La Face Nord

La Face Nord
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“€6.5 for a bottle of sparkling water.. drink the snow”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

€6.5 for a bottle of sparkling water... need I say more? Left a nasty taste in my mouth. €80 for a meal for two, 1 glass of beer...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andygers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    18
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Found this place by chance in Belle Plagne during a white out. Fantastic ambience. Sitting on the patio under the overhead heaters watching the snow fall was beautiful. Food was superb. Service very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redcondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A shame they shut so early on a Friday lunchtime :-(”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A group of six of us decided to lunch here on the Wednesday after just dropping in for a drink, because the food looked so good. It was! Although the place was busy, the service was attentive and friendly.

We decided to eat our final lunch there on the Friday and asked (on Thursday afternoon) if we could book. They told us that they did not accept bookings, but we would be OK if we turned up at 2pm. When we arrived at the appointed time, we were astonished to find the chairs on the tables with the place just about to shut. The waiter didn't appear to be concerned that we had made the effort to ski all the way over just to eat there and said that the chef had probably gone home. We went to the restaurant over the road and spent more than 300Euros in an establishment which was pleased to accept our patronage!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pod-from-Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely restaraunt with great atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We visited here twice once for lunch when we had The Plat Du Jour,and the second time for dinner and we had the beef fondue,the food is fantastic and the place is busy with locals which is a good sign,the staff were friendly and professional.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always busy”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This restaurant is always busy, efficient service, not bad value, pleasant staff. It has been modernised inside and out in the last couple of years. The only down side is that they never seem to have enough of the Plat du Jour - if you do not get there at 12 sharp for lunch, you can't guarantee there will be any left!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gbt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Face Nord also viewed

Belle Plagne, Savoie
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
 
Belle Plagne, Savoie
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
 

Been to La Face Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing