We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as my teacher used to say "mmmm could do better"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet-Hotel Les Rhododendrons
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“as my teacher used to say "mmmm could do better"”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

well for a hotel in such a great location and wonderfull slopes only a stones throw away what a let down the service was, no structured management as the hotel was run by a group of what appeared to be disillusioned students. To be fair the food quality was great but the organisation was poor with no attention to the quests. On one occasion we said to the grumpy waitress "excuse me but the fruit crumble is cold" and the reply "well I would eat it as I'm starving" as she walked past without slowing probally so we couldnt see the true state of her off white/grey blouse that had not seen an iron since leaving the tumble dryer. On the frequent occasions the breakfast trays were empty we would draw straws to see who was feeling brave enough to ask if we could have some more!! Bar was good, reception was shocking the cold showers were a disaster and the toilets were well a bit of a crush!! oh and the beds were kids beds with some of the wooden slats missing. So much potential but so dissapointing as crying out for some heart and soul and someone to care and own what was going on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wez1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Having skied throughout Europe I thought La Plagne and the location of the hotel was good but that was one of the few positive things I have to say about this hotel. Upon arrival after an arduous drive I asked the receptionist where to park the car to be told that "she had never been asked that question before" and neither had her colleague (for those unfortunate to choose to stay here in the future there is a free car park just outside the village about a 5 -10 minute walk).
Make sure that you do not have any problems after 6:30pm as that is the time reception closes and people in the bar are unable to leave the bar area to help. Reception closes at 6:30pm so that the staff can get to the hotel bar and possibly also to avoid the complaints from residents who could not have a hot shower (on most nights the water went cold after about 6 which is just what you want after a days skiing!!!) - each time we complained we were told a different reason and it would be sorted out shortly. Despite the best efforts of the Head Waitress the restaurant struggled at Breakfast running out of bread by 8:30 one morning, another day despite the majority of the lunchtime menu being pizzas ran out of pizza dough!
When choosing your rooms make sure you are sharing with a very good friend as it is impossible to close the door to the toilet when using it as it was minute. We spent many enjoyable hours guessing what the various stains were on the walls in the rooms but all agreed that the stain on the bedding was blood!. I guess from the lack of servicing in our bedroom cleaning was not very high on the checklist for the cleaners but then most staff appeared to be in their gap year from Uni.
One positive was the onsite ski hire and fitting which meant that we avoided the first day crush of everyone in resort trying to get their skis and boots all at the same time and allowed for a full days skiing.
Sadly this hotel is in a brilliant location but lacks basic organisation and management which would ensure that many of the problems would not occur or visitors would be confident would be sorted shortly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snowploughwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have been to this hotel twice now and really hope to come again soon.
The food is plentiful delightful, the room service is always consistent and the pricing is very agreeable.
Here you get exactly what you pay for and more. With helpful staff and only a stones throw away from the slopes, I would recommend it to anyone.

Speaking from experience this hotel offers the best accommodation and catering that I have had so far in the area. So looking forward to returning again hopefully next season with my family.

A huge thanks to the wonderful managers who really do their utmost to keep their guests the happiest they can be.

Keep going strong

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skichamp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good hotel, well located right next to the slopes. The food was good and the staff very friendly. There is a nice pub in the hotel that shows the sports events, live music ect. The resort has very extensive skiing though Bellecote can get a bit clogged up in the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindnightswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from staying in this great hotel run by a hard~working young couple who took over three years ago and are steadily upgrading. The food-thank you Jonah and team-was delicious and imaginative, the atmosphere relaxed and friendly with a lively bar, and the service great whether in the restaurant or the housekeeping.
Considering its prime position a few yards from the nearest ski lift giving access to a huge range of interesting and exciting runs this hotel is magnificent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the Rhododendrons in March and cannot fault the hotel and staff. The position of the hotel is just perfect for the slopes. The staff were all so friendly and helpful; from the receptionist, to the restaurant and bar staff, right through to the cleaners who always greated us with smile and 'good morning' as they tended to their duties. The food there was amazing; plenty of choice for a hearty breakfast to start the day, afternoon tea was served with fresh baked cakes and biscuits and the evening meal was home cooked and beautifully presented and served by the friendly staff. There was always a good selection of fresh fruit too.
If you want amazing skiiing, friendly and comfortable surroundings and plenty of homecooked food then this is the place for you. We would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

An amazing week. Couldn't have asked more for hospitality and location. We were a large party of mixed age groups away for my husbands 50th. Everyone had a great time skiing on the slopes for all abilities and plenty to do locally,because of the free buss, for those who took some downtime.
The hotel was friendly, comfortable and really accommodating. Supporting me with my husbands birthday plans so he had the best birthday ever.
Food was really good and there was an option for everyone every night. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and we all agreed that it was some of the best food we've had. The kids are still talking about some of the puddings! Afternoon tea was greatly appreciated by all after a hard day on the slopes. All meals are taken in the comfortable, clean and cosy restaurant which had a lovely ambiance particularly in the evenings.
The staff were lovely, polite, helpful and very friendly. I really appreciate the individual time spent fitting my ski boots in the ski hire facilities within the hotel, makes all the difference to a holiday.
Overall the best skiing holiday we've ever had. Would recommend to all ages and abilities. We'll be back :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loobylooloo-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
3.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Les Rhododendrons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Les Rhododendrons

Property: Chalet-Hotel Les Rhododendrons
Address: Plagne 1800, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Macot-la-Plagne
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right next to the slopes in snow sure Plagne 1800, our family run chalet-hotel offers comfortable, great value accommodation and a full range of services. Our friendly welcome and attention to detail will ensure that you have an unforgettable holiday enjoying one of the world’s best ski areas - La Plagne, Paradiski ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Les Rhododendrons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing