We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets des Alpages
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Probably the worst chalet I have stayed in. Giving it a 3 star rating on Iglu.com is overrating this chalets poor amenities. There were lights that were dangerously held together by selotape, draws badly fixed, one toilet that constantly stunk, a bath that would have trouble fitting a child and another toilet that would fill an empty after flushing for hours unless fiddled with. The joke about free Wi-fi is that you need to get to the reception building to get this, and it is NOT available in the chalet itself. Added to the fact that seemingly the only way to ski back was to get a drag lift that you could wait upto 40 minutes to get on I would NEVER recommend these overpriced Chalets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_S87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to the standard of confort that we aim to provide.
We have a technicien on site who can fix and/or replace anything that is not working and his work has been praised by other clients who stayed in the chalets.
Regarding the wifi connection, it is stated on our website that it is available at reception only. We are sorry if this was not pointed out to you when you reserved your holiday.
We hope that your experience will not deter you from booking with us again in the future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

La Plagne is a fantastic skiing location with a variety of slopes for every level. Even though there are ski hire shops, bars and restaurants in every little village of la plagne, our chalet, which was in Plagne Soleil, was in a fantastic location which was no further than a short walk to all of these. What's more we had instant access to a piste which led to the bottom of one of the main chairlifts.

The chalet itself was equipped with a chimney so we were always warm and snug, a perfect size for 8 of us and had a great view from the window. There were a few technical problems with the dishwasher but after notifying the reception a technician was sent straight away and fixed it with a smile. The manager, Paul, and his team on reception were always very attentive and happy to help with any issues we had or information about the resort. It made the holiday that much easier for us which is exactly the kind of service we usually expect and more.

Overall, bar the few technical problems to start with which were immediately fixed and therefore made no real negative impact on our holiday, we had a great stay and would come again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the review of our chalet. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were attentive to your needs. We will pass on your coments on to them.
We hope that you do decide to book with us again soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The address appears to cover a range of buildings in the Plagne Soleil village, but one of the images is of the chalet I stayed in, or one identical to it, and many of the rest are typical. Some so poor conditions that I did not see.

I booked a last minute deal (the day before departure) as a solo skier, to avoid the under occupancy surcharge, and was lucky enough to be assigned the only room with on suite. For me it was a typical budget chalet that was built to capitalise on the raise in the popularity of skiing, and it fulfils that role admirably, as others have pointed out.

Not all the fixtures and fittings are to the standard I would expect in England, but I've seen the like before in other French chalets, and it isn't a problem for me. During my week long stay the dishwasher leaked twice via the U-bend. The first was after Emma, our hostess, had left for the night, so we just mopped up the worst of it and put a bucket under U-bend and left it for the Ski France staff to deal with in the morning. The second was two evenings later before Emma had left.

On both occasions the Ski France staff responded quickly once they knew of the problem, so I'll give them brownie points for that. And I won't take any off for the problem occurring because of poor maintenance. I understand that my chalet is one that is rented as needed by Ski France and not operated throughout the season. So the problem could well have been caused by other operators.

Some have commented that the chalet was not clean. This was not my experience. I found it cleaned to a very acceptable standard.

But for me the icing on the cherry on the cake was our hostess, Emma. Nothing seamed to be to much trouble for her. She always had a smile on her face, and a cheery way about her. Her cooking was tasty and plentiful. I can think of nothing that she could have done better. I don't give out top marks lightly, but the one I have in this review are largely due to Emma.

Room Tip: This chalet is not exclusively operated by one of the ski companies, but rented demand requires. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobson314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay in the chalet and that our staff member was attentive to your needs. We thank you for your useful comments and we look forward to welcoming you in one of our residences in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in Chalet 25 in Plagne Soleil for Christmas 2013 with our family. The chalet host (Lara), Guillaime the rep, and Francis the resort manager were helpful and friendly. Lara in particular did an amazing job, keeping on smiling and delivering fabulous food in difficult circumstances. And Francis drove me in his own car to take equipment back at the end of the week. However, although the chalet was warm, and the location good (right on the slopes), we had no bed linen except for a sheet for the first 4 nights, hand-towels had to be shared, no shower curtain on one of the showers, only one key for the host and 10 guests (so we either had to leave our valuables open to thieves, or not be able to get back in all day). The kitchen was woefully under-equipped. Lara had to cook chocolate soufflés in the mugs (so no hot drinks), tiramisu in the glasses, cakes in a saucepan.....There were no tea towels, no oven gloves. The fridge freezer was broken and one small fridge was all she had to store food for 10 people. Christmas day saw gravy served in a mug! I could go on......I cannot praise Lara highly enough for what she managed to do with so little, but she should never have had to. Crockery, tea-towels, bed-linen - these are all absolutely basic requirements! We loved La Plagne but our holiday was really marred by all the issues in the chalet. Get it sorted Ski France.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you are satisfied with the level of service our staff provides. We are sorry to hear that other aspects of the chalet were not up to your expectations.
Please note that we pass on all comments to our management team to improve service in the future.
We hope that you will book with us again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have just returned from a weeks skiing with 5 friends, staying at this chalet. We were all more than impressed with what we got for the money we paid; the chalet was basic but warm and cosy. We had 2 bathrooms for the 6 of us and always plenty of hot water. The rooms were small but comfortable. The food was delicious and plentiful! Out chalet hosts really were great cooks and bakers! The wine was free flowing over dinner, which we much appreciated! Every day we would enjoy a different hot breakfast option (as well as cereals and croissants), a freshly baked cake and a 3 course meal in the evening. We never went hungry that's for sure! Charlotte and Charlie also went out of there way to make our friend's birthday special with baloons, poppers and a birthday crepe! They were also very helpful with where to ski and local information, much more helpful than our rep! We would definitely book again. Many thanks, Beth and co :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you appreciated the food and the facilites that the chalet had to offer. We hope that you will consider booking with us again in the near future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

we stayed at your chalet from 22jul to the 5aug
we were part of a group that had come for three weeks from 20jul till 8aug.
we were told that we would have to pay 250euro for cleaning after we left.
I think we ought to be paid this money for cleaning the place when we first came in.
The toilets were NOT clean.The dishwasher was blocked and there was no control panel on the front so we could not use it.The kitchen sink was leaking and on the first morning we discovered the kitchen flooded.
The steps leading up to the chalets are also in very poor condition.
They are especially very dangerous going down with a child in your arms and very slippery when it rains.
the area is very beautiful with lots of mountain walks.

Room Tip: go find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivkau2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We regret that your stay in our chalet was not up to the level we hope to provide. It is very unfortunate that a series of maintenance and upkeep problems occurred during your stay and we sincerely apologise.
In the inter-season period we have now embarked on a major “spring clean”. Many of the chalets and apartments have some of the interior painting redone and other general modifications to improve the overall experience for our guests. You should know that we take note of the comments of each of our clients, and we always pass them on to our management team.
We hope that with these changes in place you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I took advantage of a great late season bargain and was pleasantly surprised. The accommodation was fairly basic but always warm (log fire helps with that), clean and friendly thanks to our fellow guess and our always cheery Ski France host Zac.

The bed rooms were fairly small, not that we spent much time in them due to the great late season snow (fresh powder almost every), but overall the whole Chalet had exactly what you needed with comfortable living space in communal areas to chill out after a day on the slopes.

The food provided by our host Zac was always of a high standard and he was happy to accommodate our needs if we wanted things changed around or if seconds were requested by some of those with larger than average appetites within the group.

No only was our host a good cook he was also happy to make recommendation on the things to do and see within resort including all of the best places to enjoy the Après Ski. At times he also doubled as a guide for a days skiing or boarding with guest of varying ability and felt at times he felt like an old friend rather than a Chalet Host.

This accommodation does exactly what it says on the tin, it isn’t by any stretch of the imagination high end, but it is tremendous value for money and is ideally located within 100 metres of the slopes for those who want to get away and enjoy their time out on the mountain rather then sat in doors all week.

I would certainly go again, even in the last week of the season the snow was amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiBow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Chalets des Alpages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your positive review and useful comments. We are very glad that you had a good stay in our chalet and we hope that you do decide to book with us again in the near future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
264 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#6 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Araucaria Hotel & Spa Nuxe
14.8 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Prestige Odalys Front de Neige
Residence Prestige Odalys Front ...
#6 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets des Alpages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets des Alpages

Address: La Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £59 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalets des Alpages 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalets des Alpages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurogroup Chalets Des Alpages Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing