We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Off-Piste Lesson & Advancing skier teaching”

Oxygene Ski School La Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxygène is a family-run company, with over 20 years' experience of providing the best in winter sports in many resorts. With over 80 instructors, we're big enough to offer adults' and children's group lessons at every level, every week, and small enough to care for every one of our customers. Specialized in several activites as snowboarding, adaptive skiing, paragliding, off-pist skiing, and even telemark skiing!
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First Off-Piste Lesson & Advancing skier teaching”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I took an off-piste lesson (3hrs) with 2 others from the hotel and we were guided/taught by Boris. He was a great character - very relaxed but also really inspired confidence in all 3 of us (This was just as well as he handed out our avalanche transponders and guided us under the ropes at the top of the Roche de Mio!). For a first off piste lesson it was daunting, but Boris had assessed our skiing on the way to the location and picked 2 challenging yet rewarding and ultimately enjoyable slopes on which to teach us some skills. A great and very memorable experience.

My other half very much enjoyed her week's beginner/advancing lessons with Silvia and now skis Red Runs (which she could not contemplate at the start of the week) which is great. She also very much enjoyed the last morning with Julien (Silvia had to go and compete in a free skiing event in Austria(!)) - Julien dropped straight into the right level for the class and apparently skied backwards down a red run whilst teaching which she was very impressed with! Well done to Julien and team. We'd definitely use Oxygene again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    21
    2
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“From no skiing to parallel in 4 days”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I had Antoine as our instructor for 4 days, 3 hours per day. He was brilliant! My husband was previously a snowboarder but Antoine had him doing parallel skiing in 4 days. I've had many instructors over the years but Antoine was the first to pick up a fundamental flaw in my technique which had me properly doing parallel turns in no time.
He was very knowledgeable about the area and made sure that we saw a different area of the resort every day.
Booking by email was easy and Sarah responded quickly and was able to answer all of our questions

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayL0ver1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous ski school. Wonderful helpful staff. Great equipment”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a first class company. So helpful at all times. Great staff.
Fantastic company to book self catering accomodation too as they look after their clients well to ensure all ones smoothly whilst on holiday

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda50191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing beginner experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Came back from skiing last week, my boyfriend was a complete beginner and I had skied for a few hours in the UK so pretty much beginner so we had never skied in a resort before.

We had read not to get a ski pass in advance as some places have free beginners lifts and so you may not need to for full week. Turns out la plagne is not one of these places.

As we arrived on the Saturday and our lesson was on the Sunday we decided to go to the ski school in advance to find out if we should get a pass in advance of the lesson. The girl was very helpful and said we definitely needed one, for the whole time.

We had seen on the La Plagne website and also through Crystal that the pass was €225. However when we asked the girl how much (after asking her about offers) she said she could give us the 6 day pass for €165 as we had booked lessons with the school! Our lessons were only €75 so that meant we pretty much got the lessons for free!

Therefore would definitely ask about this when booking or even call, they all seem to speak English.

We had 1.5 hours in morning (private) and 2 hours in afternoon (private) for €75 each which I think is reasonable.

After the 1.5 hours in the morning my boyfriend (a complete beginner) was very competent i.e. parallel skiing, turning etc. The instructor Euan (Scottish which was also nice as we live in Scotland) was fun and tried to tailor to our slightly different ski levels. He explained things very clearly (I'm not easily taught techniques by explaining but I found it clear and easy to follow).

After the lesson we were skiing on the green run (which is very very short) easily.

In the afternoon lesson, our instructor Rayme (not sure on spelling) asked what we did in the morning, took us down the green to assess our ability, then immediately took us to a blue which is what we wanted. We felt he explained things ok. In the 2 hours we went down a couple of blues quite a few times.

After this my boyfriend struggled when turning. We decided to get another lesson just for 1 hour to get another perspective on this. We asked for Euan. We booked at 6 pm one night and got him the next morning at 8.30 so availability was really good.

Within 15 minutes he had found the problem and we were both skiing to a really good level. Best €25 ever spent!

Would thoroughly recommend this ski school (and Euan). They didn't keep us on beginners slopes for longer than necessary, offered to meet us at our hotel (as it was closer to the green/blue lift), the ski pass through them was a bargain, everyone was friendly and accommodating and the progress in a few hours is unbelievable.

Thanks all!

Tips: ensure you go down a blue at least once in your lesson and ask where the "easier blues" are. This will enable you to go down blues on your own when you are ready.

Have a couple of hours lessons, a gap then a couple of hours then gap, this means you can see what you are like alone and fix this in next lesson.

Set aside some money for booking an hour or 2 later on in the week to go down more difficult runs with an instructor when you are ready.

Buy your ski pass here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Edinburgh186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beginners Snowboard School!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just got back from a week in La Plagne which was amazing! My husband and I booked our lift passes, tuition and snowboard and boots hire through Oxygene and we were thoroughly impressed. Our instructor was called Frederick and he was great! He had a class with three english speaking people and the about five french speaking people and he alternated between the languages very well and assured we all understood what he wanted us to do next. He made the learning fun and effortless and actively took an interest in all of the group. He progressed our learning at a rapid rate and we were on blue runs by the end of the week. He made the service personal in remembering all of our names and tailoring the learning to the individuals needs.

We recommend Oxygene to anyone who wants to learn to ski or snowboard or build upon their current abilities.

Thank you Fred!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxygene Ski School La Plagne also viewed

 

Been to Oxygene Ski School La Plagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing