We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, great food”
Review of Chalet Marmotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Marmotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, great food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a lovely week at the Chalet Marmotte with our hosts Charlotte and Aggie. The food was very good and was of consistently good quality. The cakes in the afternoon were lovely! Charlotte and Aggie were very warm and welcoming and the atmosphere was very good.
We stayed in a very small room on the top floor (bit hazardous for tall people!) but it was clean and warm. The communal space wasn't really big enough for the 14 people the chalet can fit, but aside from that, I had no complaints. A thoroughly enjoyable week!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are best avoided if you're above 5 ft 2!! Lots of beams to negotiate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Chalet hosts Wes and Maria did an excellent job facilitating an eclectic mix of people into a great group of holiday companions.
The chalet itself is a bit quaint and accessing the top floor is a fitness exercise. However it has all the essentials and is full of character.
With great hosts and other guests it makes an excellent skiing holiday. The food was excellent especially the cakes.The hosts put in effort to ensure everyone's needs were met and went the extra mile giving good advice about the village and the skiing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joanmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Creek, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a great weeks snowboarding in La Plagne, The chalet had everything we needed including a sauna, full size bath and our room was a decent size double.
Very narrow staircases and a lack of social space were a bit annoying especially as there were only comfy seats for 5 in the main living area. The kitchen too is very small, quite how the hosts, Rae and Harry could come up with the excellent food for 14 that they did is a wonder. They were both very helpful and accommodating, giving great advice about the resort The reps on the transfer and guys in the chalet helped arrange everything we needed.
All in all a great trip with plenty of food and everything sorted for us, Cheers, Ski France

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groundskeeperpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Absolutely amazing holiday with friends and family. Made very special by the super chalet hosts Harry and Rae, they provided very yummy meals especially the Tartiflette and cakes to die for every afternoon. They were always there to help particularly with our two young children, adjusting meals to suit them, serving it at earlier time for children and cooked porridge every morning was just perfect. It was the little bits they did in the background that meant so much e.g. saving us canapés if we were putting the children to bed :) and that helped make the holiday go so well.

Accommodation always clean and welcoming with offer to clean bathrooms daily. Was tight squeeze for 14 around the dining table and not much lounge space downstairs but cosy feel. Upstairs bathroom could do with little work as the very small shower was not working safely (scalding hot water could quickly change to cold water!). But showers downstairs were working fine and sauna very nice to relax in after day out.

Little walk to slopes and bus very easy to access. Rep Paul was really friendly and gave lots of good tips on what to do with the little ones.

Overall very lucky with such good snow and company to enjoy the holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor is very hot and found shower not suitable to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpnuts18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have never been away to a ski resort in the winter. I was not disappointed. Our hosts Harry and Rae really pushed the boat out and did us proud. We ate like Kings and Queens. Harry and Rae produced a fantastic 4 course meal and the afternoon cakes were also a welcome treat after a busy day out in the wonderful scenery. The chalet has great character but was a little tight on space for 14 adults as the seating in the lounge area was not enough and the upstairs bathroom has a very small bath with low beams.
Overall a great week with wonderful service. Paul our guide was also very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Top rooms are short on headroom with a small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omepositer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in Chalet Marmotte in the last week of Jan 2014. I had a wonderful week, the chalet was run by Harry & Rae they looked after us very well. Excellent food & service everything was very clean and nothing was too much trouble for them. Even to finding me some Rice Milk to have with the porriage :) ..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a cracking week in chalet Marmotte with Harry and Rae looking after us. The food was spot on from start to finish, the cakes always went down well when we came in hungry off the slopes. Dinner was always on time and the kids were well catered for. What with the good food and great snow it made for an awesome week. The only down side is that the communal area is a little small for everyone to sit down in the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macot-la-Plagne hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plagne Lauze
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plag...
#1 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Med La Plagne 2100
Club Med La Plagne 2100
#2 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
807 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
#5 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Med Aime la Plagne
Club Med Aime la Plagne
#1 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Marmotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marmotte

Property: Chalet Marmotte
Address: Le Foret, Plagne 1800, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Will-I-Ski? Chalet, Chalet Marmotte sleeping 15 guests is situated in Plagne 1800. The Chalet Marmotte is a lovely traditional chalet with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It is a short walk from the closest piste and a few minutes from the heart of La Plagne 1800. All round the chalet has great access to slopes, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing