We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Christina
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great holiday!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from a week at the Christina in La Plagne with MW and had a fantastic time :-). The hotel certainly is ski in ski out, which we like :-).
We (2 adults, 1 x 3 y.o. and 1 baby) had 2 interconnecting rooms which were fine (v clean). The childcare was great (many thanks to Chess and Alix), the skiing was fab and the food was excellent. 99% of staff excellent and good atmosphere at dinner etc. Our daughter did the 3 year olds ski class which she enjoyed.
The only grumble would be the transfers. MW got us to the airport some 3.5 hours before take off which required a 5.15am coach departure - arrggg!
Still, met some great people and had a lovely time. I would certainly recommend it. We had rooms 23 and 24 which were not too noisy (some noise from the stairwell but couldn't really hear the bar). Note access to baby club is via a flight of stairs..

Room Tip: Rooms 23 and 24 were ok, no noise from the bar. Piste facing rooms tend to be above the bar and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    43
    12
    11
    14
See reviews for
64
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just returned from Christina from our 3rd consecutive trip with Mark Warner to exactly the same resort, hotel, even the same room. Before that did 2 years to Les Deux Alpes at the Berangere. So that must say something! All in all the Christina is fine, yes hotel is tired but was spotlessly clean, beds ok, plenty of hot water,towels fine. Food admittedly was a bit up and down. Breakfast fine with hot and cold options, afternoon tea fantastic. Dinner ok. Menu too fancy and sometimes dishes were a little tepid! ( have mentioned this on every comment card but still the same). The carvery/buffet on first night was the best meal of the week by far. Personally would rather have a more rustic menu that is served hot! On the upside the wine is very drinkable and in plentiful supply.
Staff were all fantastic and nothing was too much trouble so no problems with the staff whatsoever. Room tidied and cleaned every day (apart from day off)
Oxygen ski school were great with English speaking instructors. Kids were in ski school and my husband and friend had a private lesson which were thoroughly enjoyable and beneficial.
We booked ski hire direct through Oxygen as worked out cheaper than with Mark Warner.
Location is superb ski right to the door and ski school meeting place a stone's throw away.
Didn't use childcare but seemed great (have used in the past and again faultless on these occasions).
The fact we have done consecutive trips with Mark Warner really says it all. I don't go on a ski holiday for the best hotel as long as it is clean and I have a bed I am happy. Not having to shop, cook or wash up is invaluable even if the evening meal did have its ups and downs still beats me doing it!
Admittedly we travelled in term time ( for the last time) so got a really good deal. If I had paid full price I may think differently. However have booked for next Easter holidays already, again with Mark Warner but to a different resort. Better the devil you know. Have travelled with Crystal and Neilson before using Mark Warner and have to say they win hands down that's why we keep using them.
If you are lucky enough to celebrate a birthday whilst at skiing definitely mention it to the staff my husband had the best birthday cake ever....delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from Scottys bar as can be noisy. C205 family room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skifanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, it's not the best looking hotel but........ The staff are fantastic and the people you meet are great. We have been a few times now and the skiing is different every year. We love how relaxed we can get, not easy when you have two kids to worry about. For families this is a great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We've just returned from a great week skiing in La Plagne, staying in possibly the most run down hotel we've ever stayed in, but the holiday had more ups that downs.

The Hotel
We had read the reviews before and took on aboard people's advice on the super staff, first class child care and enviable location, but whilst the pros were correct I don't think we expected just how shabby this hotel is. It reminded us of student accommodation, with timer lights in the dark stairways (with no natural light these stairs are lethal day or night) the lights tended to go out before you could make it to the bottom, one of my children ended up head first down the stairs on the first night, but luckily thought it was fun, however they could have been hurt quite badly. With small children we had booked an adjoining room and these were well laid out, but on the small side, the walls needed plastering and the skirting boards were chipped and peeling, the handles feel off our wardrobes, and our hall light could not be turned off, although it did flicker when people walked last our room. We couldn't close our bedroom door to block out the light as we needed to keep it open to hear our children in the adjoining room, this meant we had to sleep in bright light, not great after a big day on the slopes. The beds were small, but comfortable. There are no usual room inclusions such as hair dryers, or kettles and I have never stayed in a hotel or chalet where the bed linen and towels are only changed once during a week long stay. We were on the fourth floor and the rooms were warm, clean and quiet so that was a big plus, and I didn't hear any guests complaining about noise from bars below.

The Food
Breakfast was average at best, with items running out regularly, the children's lunch, high tea and early tea were well serviced and timed, however the children's menu was limited with only one healthy option. The adults evening meal was great each night and really surpassed our expectations, even if some items ran out before we got the chance to order, but we were impressed with the variety, presentation, and quality, as good as what you could expect from a good smaller chalet.

Child care
We have holidayed all over the world and never used child care, kiddy clubs or babysitters, so this was a big worry for us, and the staff at MW were fantastic. Anna and Leah really helped settled the children and the few worried/guilty looking patents on the first few mornings. MW seem to have set up opportunities for parents never to see their children on a ski holiday, with child care from 9:00 am to 5:30 then again 7:30 to 11:00, with beds set up in the evenings. Maybe this is just the culture of a MW holiday, but seemed alien to us, so the fact that there was no opportunity to eat with your children in the evenings, or certainly it was not welcomed by other guests (who made it very obvious they did not like children in the dinning room) was one thing we were uncomfortable with, so this would make us go for a small chalet next time were we can have more flexibility around our children and our own family time.

The Staff
All the comments made from other trip ad reports are true, the staff really do deserve all the good comments made before, they are friendly, helpful, attentive and give great advice for planning your day hitting the snow. MW should be commended on this, as each member we interacted with impressed us, worth a mention are Lorcan, Poppy, and Charlotte, as well as Anna and Leah in childcare.

Oxygen ski school
Brilliant ski school, working with children of all abilities and they really get the best out of them, I had every confidence each morning when we watched the children head off to their lessons, that they would have a good day and be safe with the excellent staff. I think it also helped that the MW set up means the children from the hotel are in the same classes, so we did not have any issues with our children being in a class where they were the only English speakers.

La Plagne
This resort is fantastic and I would advice people to stay in the centre if possible, the whole ski area is massive with lots of different runs for different levels.

All in all a great holiday, but I doubt we would return to Hotel Christina, unless they do a total refurb and make mealtimes more flexible.

Room Tip: Go high, use the shutters and close the windows tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Macot-la-Plagne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff made the week, they were bright, attentive and amusing. They coped well with a hotel that is past it's best. Location is superb with a great bar below.
The rooms have def seen better days, the food, on the whole was very good although still seem to be struggling with ordering the right amount.
Oxygene, the ski school were excellent.
In summary go for the staff, location and atmosphere , not the luxury.
La Plagne is great for skiers of all ages and ability. Lots of wide blues to gain confidence and more challenging stuff up on the glacier and over towards Les Arc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Being a long term Mark Warner I was expecting a lot more from this place.
The main issue is the deplorable state of the hotel. We were dropped off the bus and welcomed by friendly staff. This though was one of the only enjoyable moments of our whole trip.
The food, the rooms and the entertainment were all well below Mark Warner standard. The lack of motivation and general discontent shown by most of the staff clearly reflects on poor leadership and management.
This resort reflects the total loss of credibility and standards of such a prestigious company.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John_McKenzie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here at the end of January this year, we were part of a large group and we had a fantastic time.
OK so the hotel is a little rough around the edges and could do with a spruce up........but the staff more than make up for it, each and every member of staff goes out of their way to make friends with you and ensure you have a great holiday. When we pulled up after a long coach journey all the staff were lined up on the hotel steps waving to greet us and then took our bags to our rooms, and this was the level of service throughout our stay.
The food in the restaurant was out of this world, and credit must go to Neil the head chef a credit to his profession.
We used the ski hosting several times and thoroughly enjoyed it, Andrew the head host, greeted us like old friends and treated us like mates throughout the week, and really made my holiday for me, it isn't like the normal staff - guest thing in this hotel everyone is there for the same reason.....to ski and I think that's why they treat you so well.
As for the resort I have stayed in la plagne several times and always enjoyed my self, something for everyone with some good off piste.
On the whole if you want to do loads of skiing, eats some fantastic food and have a great laugh with friends and staff, then this is the place for you.
My first time with Mark Warner, but most certainly not my last.
Thank you once again to all the staff, you are a credit to your company.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the slopes give you such a brilliant view, although can be a little noises, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveLGWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
3.6 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.6 mi away
L'Aiguille Percee
L'Aiguille Percee
#19 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Araucaria Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#11 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Christina

Property: Chalet Hotel Christina
Address: La Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing