We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does Exactly What it Says on the Tin.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Christina
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Does Exactly What it Says on the Tin.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ok, first the downside, the hotel was last refurbished just after the Treaty of Versailles was being signed off in 1918 & a few years before the Great Depression in the late 1920's, however, on reflection, that probably adds to the holiday. after all, you do not go skiing to stare at the ceiling in your bedroom, which is just as well in the case of Hotel Christina!

Ski in ski out, food in the evening that would shame to a lot of over priced £25 per head bistro's in the UK, as much wine as you could wish for, & staff that were very attentive.

Its noisy outside at night, but hey ho, you should not be going here to chillax, this is a full on resort, & the bar down below the hotel is perfect for swapping stories of the days exploits, which tend to get more daring by the hour, helped by the Génépi shots.

It is a shame that the French have put a stop to ski hosting, (at least for now), as this was something that would have helped make the experience that much better for some of our group, but that is not down to the hotel, & hopefully the European courts will overturn a decision that is clearly anti competitive behaviour thinly velied as a health & safety issue.

In summary, if you want a ski holiday that will not challenge your pocket whilst you can feast in quality food, & hit the slopes within a minute of grabbling your ski's from the locker room, then it does not get much better than this.

One final point, two members of staff stood out, the chef, (whose name escapes me), & Megan, who provided the front of house energy that was the icing on the cake.

Gary

Room Tip: Views come with the activity below, its a trade off, one that I was quite happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWestTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    43
    12
    11
    14
See reviews for
64
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my son who is 14 years old came here for a skiing holiday on the 2nd weekend of February 2014.

First the downside. The hotel is shabby. That being said it was clean and comfortable.

One of the reasons that I picked the hotel was for the food and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast was OK. The sausages could have been better, however, we are in France so they were as expected. Afternoon tea was fantastic. There was always a different choice of cakes, savoury and soup and after a hard days skiing it was all devoured avidly. The evening meal was superb every day. Again there was a differing selection every day and the quality was very high. We were never disappointed.

The staff here are brilliant. It is obvious to me that their selection and training is very well done. To have such a young staff who without exception are engaging, welcoming and very helpful is a credit to Mark Warner.

It may seem funny to award them 5 stars in my review considering the shabbiness of the hotel but taking into consideration the cleanliness, the comfort, the wonderful staff, and the excellent food, then I think it is a rating well deserved.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob_McCracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from a week at the Christina in La Plagne with MW and had a fantastic time :-). The hotel certainly is ski in ski out, which we like :-).
We (2 adults, 1 x 3 y.o. and 1 baby) had 2 interconnecting rooms which were fine (v clean). The childcare was great (many thanks to Chess and Alix), the skiing was fab and the food was excellent. 99% of staff excellent and good atmosphere at dinner etc. Our daughter did the 3 year olds ski class which she enjoyed.
The only grumble would be the transfers. MW got us to the airport some 3.5 hours before take off which required a 5.15am coach departure - arrggg!
Still, met some great people and had a lovely time. I would certainly recommend it. We had rooms 23 and 24 which were not too noisy (some noise from the stairwell but couldn't really hear the bar). Note access to baby club is via a flight of stairs..

Room Tip: Rooms 23 and 24 were ok, no noise from the bar. Piste facing rooms tend to be above the bar and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just returned from Christina from our 3rd consecutive trip with Mark Warner to exactly the same resort, hotel, even the same room. Before that did 2 years to Les Deux Alpes at the Berangere. So that must say something! All in all the Christina is fine, yes hotel is tired but was spotlessly clean, beds ok, plenty of hot water,towels fine. Food admittedly was a bit up and down. Breakfast fine with hot and cold options, afternoon tea fantastic. Dinner ok. Menu too fancy and sometimes dishes were a little tepid! ( have mentioned this on every comment card but still the same). The carvery/buffet on first night was the best meal of the week by far. Personally would rather have a more rustic menu that is served hot! On the upside the wine is very drinkable and in plentiful supply.
Staff were all fantastic and nothing was too much trouble so no problems with the staff whatsoever. Room tidied and cleaned every day (apart from day off)
Oxygen ski school were great with English speaking instructors. Kids were in ski school and my husband and friend had a private lesson which were thoroughly enjoyable and beneficial.
We booked ski hire direct through Oxygen as worked out cheaper than with Mark Warner.
Location is superb ski right to the door and ski school meeting place a stone's throw away.
Didn't use childcare but seemed great (have used in the past and again faultless on these occasions).
The fact we have done consecutive trips with Mark Warner really says it all. I don't go on a ski holiday for the best hotel as long as it is clean and I have a bed I am happy. Not having to shop, cook or wash up is invaluable even if the evening meal did have its ups and downs still beats me doing it!
Admittedly we travelled in term time ( for the last time) so got a really good deal. If I had paid full price I may think differently. However have booked for next Easter holidays already, again with Mark Warner but to a different resort. Better the devil you know. Have travelled with Crystal and Neilson before using Mark Warner and have to say they win hands down that's why we keep using them.
If you are lucky enough to celebrate a birthday whilst at skiing definitely mention it to the staff my husband had the best birthday cake ever....delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from Scottys bar as can be noisy. C205 family room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skifanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, it's not the best looking hotel but........ The staff are fantastic and the people you meet are great. We have been a few times now and the skiing is different every year. We love how relaxed we can get, not easy when you have two kids to worry about. For families this is a great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We've just returned from a great week skiing in La Plagne, staying in possibly the most run down hotel we've ever stayed in, but the holiday had more ups that downs.

The Hotel
We had read the reviews before and took on aboard people's advice on the super staff, first class child care and enviable location, but whilst the pros were correct I don't think we expected just how shabby this hotel is. It reminded us of student accommodation, with timer lights in the dark stairways (with no natural light these stairs are lethal day or night) the lights tended to go out before you could make it to the bottom, one of my children ended up head first down the stairs on the first night, but luckily thought it was fun, however they could have been hurt quite badly. With small children we had booked an adjoining room and these were well laid out, but on the small side, the walls needed plastering and the skirting boards were chipped and peeling, the handles feel off our wardrobes, and our hall light could not be turned off, although it did flicker when people walked last our room. We couldn't close our bedroom door to block out the light as we needed to keep it open to hear our children in the adjoining room, this meant we had to sleep in bright light, not great after a big day on the slopes. The beds were small, but comfortable. There are no usual room inclusions such as hair dryers, or kettles and I have never stayed in a hotel or chalet where the bed linen and towels are only changed once during a week long stay. We were on the fourth floor and the rooms were warm, clean and quiet so that was a big plus, and I didn't hear any guests complaining about noise from bars below.

The Food
Breakfast was average at best, with items running out regularly, the children's lunch, high tea and early tea were well serviced and timed, however the children's menu was limited with only one healthy option. The adults evening meal was great each night and really surpassed our expectations, even if some items ran out before we got the chance to order, but we were impressed with the variety, presentation, and quality, as good as what you could expect from a good smaller chalet.

Child care
We have holidayed all over the world and never used child care, kiddy clubs or babysitters, so this was a big worry for us, and the staff at MW were fantastic. Anna and Leah really helped settled the children and the few worried/guilty looking patents on the first few mornings. MW seem to have set up opportunities for parents never to see their children on a ski holiday, with child care from 9:00 am to 5:30 then again 7:30 to 11:00, with beds set up in the evenings. Maybe this is just the culture of a MW holiday, but seemed alien to us, so the fact that there was no opportunity to eat with your children in the evenings, or certainly it was not welcomed by other guests (who made it very obvious they did not like children in the dinning room) was one thing we were uncomfortable with, so this would make us go for a small chalet next time were we can have more flexibility around our children and our own family time.

The Staff
All the comments made from other trip ad reports are true, the staff really do deserve all the good comments made before, they are friendly, helpful, attentive and give great advice for planning your day hitting the snow. MW should be commended on this, as each member we interacted with impressed us, worth a mention are Lorcan, Poppy, and Charlotte, as well as Anna and Leah in childcare.

Oxygen ski school
Brilliant ski school, working with children of all abilities and they really get the best out of them, I had every confidence each morning when we watched the children head off to their lessons, that they would have a good day and be safe with the excellent staff. I think it also helped that the MW set up means the children from the hotel are in the same classes, so we did not have any issues with our children being in a class where they were the only English speakers.

La Plagne
This resort is fantastic and I would advice people to stay in the centre if possible, the whole ski area is massive with lots of different runs for different levels.

All in all a great holiday, but I doubt we would return to Hotel Christina, unless they do a total refurb and make mealtimes more flexible.

Room Tip: Go high, use the shutters and close the windows tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Macot-la-Plagne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff made the week, they were bright, attentive and amusing. They coped well with a hotel that is past it's best. Location is superb with a great bar below.
The rooms have def seen better days, the food, on the whole was very good although still seem to be struggling with ordering the right amount.
Oxygene, the ski school were excellent.
In summary go for the staff, location and atmosphere , not the luxury.
La Plagne is great for skiers of all ages and ability. Lots of wide blues to gain confidence and more challenging stuff up on the glacier and over towards Les Arc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
3.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.6 mi away
L'Aiguille Percee
L'Aiguille Percee
#20 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Araucaria Hotel
Araucaria Hotel
#9 of 34 in Aime
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#5 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Christina

Property: Chalet Hotel Christina
Address: La Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing