We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service, fab location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Christina
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Reviewed 14 February 2011

As an ex hotel employee, I knew what to expect: the location is amazing - when conditions are right, you can ski right to the bottom step! The hotel is very comfortable, but getting a bit tired in parts. However, the staff this year were some of the best I've encountered. Nothing was too much trouble, and everything was delivered with a smile. The customer service team were great, and the chalet staff were brilliant at meal times (they put up with a lot of banter!). The food was really good this year (some interesting combinations on paper, that really worked on eating!). We really enjoyed ourselves, and would like to thank all the staff for making it a great week!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie_S83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

What a holiday - My first Mark wanrner holiday and I am sure it will not be my last. I am already looking inot going back next year. Previous reviews are correct the rooms are very tired - but you don't spend much time in your room when you are skiing! If the bathroom had been as tired as the rooms I would not have been happy however the bathrooms are nice/ clean fresh and comfortable. Staff coudl not have been more lovely with the children and reactive to our needs however they were never over fussy or intrusive. Skiing was fantsatic the location of the hotel to the piste was super however the ski school was located slightly down the hill - not far but in ski's to get the kids back up to the lift was not fun!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186356Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at christina in January 2011 and I can say it was the best family ski holiday ever! What made the holiday so special was the mark warner team they cannot do enough to help!
Congratulations to the team and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnybravo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I have just returned from staying at this hotel over the Christmas week with my husband and 3 kids and my brother, his wife and their 3 kids. First off the staff played a massive part in making our holiday and Christmas brilliant. After reading the reviews before we went we were not sure what awaited us. The hotel is a bit tired, but we (and other guests we spoke to) found it adds to the relaxed atmosphere.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, and cleaned everyday, we had a direct view from the balcony of the piste. The food was delicious, breakfast offered fruits, yoghurt, porridge, cereal, toast, crossaints etc. and a hot option. We missed the continential cheese/ham but maybe people pinch it for packed lunches so the hotel does not offer it?! Kids menus offered a huge selection daily and the 3 course evening meal far exceeded our expectations. The chef was creative and the food was good. Free wine was very drinkable - Cotes du Rhone or Merlot (and choice of two whites or a rose but we didn't try these). Hotel Manager, Sarah, along with her staff could not do enough to help and please.

The childcare staff, headed up by Lisa, were truly amazing with our 3 and 4 year old esp. their key workers Kim and Vicky. We had a few fracious drop offs over the week and the staff were great. Evening drop in was lovely - DVD and snuggle sacks, my daughter loved it. The evening Kidz club was a nice (free) surprise for the older kids in our group as they ate at 7pm and then had entertainment afterwards so we could eat without them!

The layout and location of the hotel was great. We drove out and both cars were parked outside the hotel (free), out of the boot room door and straight onto the piste. Our only recommended improvement would be boot warmers as the lockers were narrow and only really suitable for skis so we took ski boots to our room.

Security was fine with key pad passcodes on the doors, 24 hour manned reception visible to the two main doors and passcodes and signature for collection of kids from clubs. The hotel is only 3 mins from the shops and a small push on skis to ski school meeting points and all the main lifts. Nicola on reception was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel bar was well run, with good selection of drinks, also kids cocktails which were fun - no prices but the tab showed the running bill which was useful! Champagne was 75 Euros which was a bit excessive when you can got to the Spar shop and get two bottles for 60 Euros! Various different seating areas with a fireplace that sadly remained unlit during the week. Scotty's Bar below was fun with live bands twice over the week - yes, we could hear a bit of noise but as it was not every night it was fine - besides my brother and husband were there one of the nights!

Christmas Day started with bucks fizz at breakfast, at 4pm we stood on the main balcony and sang carols awaiting Father Christmas and his elves who skiied down to the hotel. All the children got a present. Christmas meal started at 7pm and was the traditional English fayre with crackers and complimentary Port with the cheese. But it was the happy, helpful staff that created a fun, relaxed festive day for us.

I have been on many skiing holidays but this was my first MW holiday and it was excellent value for money, staff were helpful, friendly and keen to please, the hotel atmosphere, comfort and location were fab. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentWoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This was our third Mark Warner ski holiday and it was done very well again. It is the most tired hotel and certainly the least formal of the three we've been too, but that was fine by us as we buy into the ski-ing and MW's help transporting the girls to/from ski school and lunch whilst we ski in the morning, then get together and ski as a family in the afternoons.

The food was lovely, more rustic than Meribel and Courchevel but good quality. The hotel is tired but clean, it is afterall one of the oldest in the resort, but don't let that put you off, just be realistic. MW give you a package of ease when travelling with children and that's really what we pay for.

We had a very large corner room which easily fitted all four of us with our bags (slid under the beds); double and two singles. Plenty of hangers and hooks. The room had two aspects, the windows were a bit drafty but a blanket sufficed and it was better than sleeping in a sauna which we've had in the past (pre-children & MW). The bathroom was refitted; very clean.

The location was super, ski from the front terrace. There is a Public Bar underneath the hotel but as our room was at the back and side this never affected us.

Ski school was excellent, both our girls came on a lot this year and they thoroughly enjoy ski-ing with the same group of children who are in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Booked through Mark Warner with two other families including 6 children under 9 for the opening week of the season. Yes the hotel is abit shabby but staff are helpful friendly and polite. The greatest feature is the location - literally on the slopes and you can ski back to the hotel door. Fantastic for young children as the ski school is 2 mins from the hotel so collecting them for an afternoon skiing is easy. Food and wine plentiful and filling. Childcare fantastic with snowman building, sledging and mocktail evenings for the older ones. Just make sure your room is not over Scotty's bar as it can get noisy - would imagine at busy times like Xmas and New Year it might be a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachKinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I first stayed at the Christina with my mum back in December, and we had such a great time I returned for a second week from the 14th-21st March as a solo traveller. As a female I wouldn't normally travel alone, but this isn't a problem with Mark Warner as all of the families and staff you meet are friendly.

Basically, ignore the bad reviews on here. Don't go on a Mark Warner holiday expecting five star luxury, it isn't. You go for good fun, the marvellous ski hosting, the free wine at dinner but above all - the skiing!

I never had a bad meal whilst I was there, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

But the staff (and fellow guests) are what makes these holidays such good fun. The ski hosts Dijon, Alistair and James are all brilliant, and the bar staff Amy and Rose were fantastic too.

Nicola on reception is an absolute star, and Tom and Harriet were top company.

Scotty's Bar below the hotel is great for a night out, they have live music about three times a week in high season and all the bar staff there are worthy of a mention as well, Dan's a top guy and Matt can sing!

La Plagne itself is a superb ski area, and when added to the Les Arcs area you have mile upon mile of excellent pistes (and off-piste too for that matter) to keep you happy.

I loved the place, and I shall be back in December if I can!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radionewsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
236 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
131 reviews
11.6 mi away
L'Aiguille Percee
L'Aiguille Percee
#19 of 37 in Tignes
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Christina

Address: La Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing