We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not anywhere near as bad as expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Odalys Le Cervin
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having read the reviews we were a bit worried about what we would find! However, the apartment block is ideally situated with a ski hire shop in the block (Skiset) and ski school (ESF)meeting right outside. There is a small square with a number of bars/restaurants. We could still ski back to the door even in April. Ski lockers were no better or worse than any others we have encountered over the last 20 years - at least there was somewhere to sit and get your boots on! We walked straight out of the back door, on to a blue piste and down to the Bergerie chair. This is what we want in a skiing holiday...
The apartment (mezzanine, sleeping six) was clean and well equipped and much the same as other apartments we have hired in French resorts. There was only four of us but we accept that you should always go bigger if you don't want to use sofa beds. Booking in was ok, usual excessive form filling and we did not have to provide a deposit just card details. The lady on reception was a bit brusque but explained everything in English (which she shouldn't have to as we are in France). Rather a long inventory to complete, which highlighted anything missing but then missing items weren't replaced - think this was just to scare us in to being extra careful!
We ate in most lunch times and every evening - no problems cooking for our group of seven in our room. Combination microwave was a bit of a waste of time so we just used the hobs. Small fridge but full size dishwasher plus coffee machine and kettle.
Loads of hot water, although our friends did experience a shortage in their apartment.
We took our own bedding and towels, as we drive, but for those hiring reception seemed to be organised.
Parked at the door too for free!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a higher occupancy than required. These apartments are always cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H1RDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Odalys Le Cervin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour ainsi que votre logement.
La situation de la résidence est en effet idéale à proximité des pistes et de l'ESF.

Nous ne manquerons pas de faire parvenir vos remarques à notre personnel.
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fantastic location. Agree - staff on reception could be a lot better. Come across as unhelpful and rude a lot of the time. ? Language and customer service training required?
Tip - book your apartment at the Cervin separately with another rental company based in La Plagne Centre, then book flight and transfer only with Crystal or Thomson. More attentive and friendly service will be obtained as well as well presented clean apartment. You will not then have to deal with Le Cervin reception at all. You will then have a great experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda50191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Odalys Le Cervin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Linda,

Nous sommes heureux de lire votre satisfaction.
L'emplacement de la résidence au pied des pistes est un effet un réel atout pour nos vacanciers.

En espérant vous recevoir de nouveau.
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Avoid at all costs. Feb 2014 EUR 1,000 for 1 week 1 adult and 1 child, were not expecting much. Staff on reception rude and unhelpful upon arrival. Demanded a deposit of EUR 400 on arrival despite providing receipt as proof of payment already made. Eventually told it was in case we stole or broke something (tempted to take the fridge as a souvenir but resisted temptation in the end).

Had to fill out numerous forms with name and address details etc., but why - that info was provided when I booked and staff did not seem to know which form is for what. List of room contents had to be checked off or you pay for items that may be missing. On arrival there seems to have been little point in booking in advance, nothing is ready, effectively you have to go through whole process of booking again, credit card details scribbled on paper forms, completely unsecure.

No towels in room and was not told this when booking. Advised that we had to rent towels but they had none. Asked where I could get some, they did not know, but were kind enough to ask if we had a car which was not particularly helpful. No basics provided on arrival.

There was a sofa bed that pulls out for 2 more people to sleep if required, but this blocks access to the bathroom so if you need to go in middle of the night, the balcony might be the preferred option.

Ski locker room is the worst I've seen in 30 years, 1/2 inch of water on floor each day, cramped, lockers not heated, no shelf for boots to keep out of water on floor.

Room inspected at end of week, delaying onward transport. "Inspector" looked at coffee maker stored high up and gave us a dirty look as it was dusty, not used by us. "Inspector" noted foot marks on floor, another dirty look, could not comprehend the fact that after cleaning the floor I'd been down to Reception 5 times to find "Inspector" (who was coming in 3 minutes according to Madam, half our later in reality) and Reception is a dirty whole, hence dirt on floor transported back to room. They provide no cleaning fluids, just the mop and bucket, you have to buy your own from the Spar, likewise, no dishwasher tablets you need max 1 per day but you have to buy full packet from the Spar. Left 2 toilet rolls for next guests in bathroom, "Inspector" removed them. Do Le Cervin also own the Spar ??

Quite obvious that the staff do not clean the communal areas. Lift monitoring broken and sign says you CANT contact lift operators so you need to have mobile phone with you / don't let kids in lift on their own.

Viewed other practically identical apartments for same price, building, rooms tidier, cleaner, staff polite, basics provided etc.

On the whole, basic accommodation as expected, but dated and needs a massive amount of tidying up and modernisation (particularly ski locker room), staff need to take some attitude adjusting medication. Inefficient/incompetent Reception desk. Plus side you can ski to/from ski locker room (if you have not soaked your socks getting boots on (only room for 6 people to sit down at same time for entire building) or dropped glove in room which is quite easy to do, particularly with kids).

Nice views.

Room Tip: Try another facility, many available that are much better for same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I would not advise this hotel to anyone!

Rude staff that do not master the english language! Not helpfull when asked a question!

4person room is actually a room for 2 adults and a child.
When checking out, the luguage is "stored" in a dark,cold and wet garagebox (which is NOT locked by key!!)
This is also the location where you have to change your cloches (last day when checked out).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Xanthi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Having read some of the previous reviewers comments, I didn't expect much from the apartment, but I and the rest of our group was pleasantly surprised.
These apartments are NOT luxurious, they are quite basic, but in my view represent good value. There were 6 of us, sharing 2 apartments. The apartment building is well located for skiing, shops, pubs, restaurants are close by, as well as ski-hire shops. Accomodation is clean, furniture admittedly is somewhat worn, the heating is excellent, views from balcony are great, cooking facilities were quite adequate - we ate in most of the week. Beds were comfortable, clean linen was supplied in sealed plastic covers when we arrived. Check-in staff were efficient and friendly. Ski lockers are provided downstairs in the same block.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay at these apartments. After reading the reviews on this site we were dreading it!! On the whole we got what we expected a small basic apartment which is the norm in France. We had 5 adults in a one bed apartment and found it adequate. Yes there were some snags but it was warm and had plenty of hot water. Our theory is we are there to ski not to sit in the apartment so as long as it had the essentials it is fine.
As for the reception they were friendly and yes you had to put a €300 deposit down. At the end of the stay yes they check the apartment thoroughly with you present but there wasn't a problem and got the deposit returned.( must be cleaned)
Note that there is signs on the hotel walls prohibiting wear of ski boots in the premises only in the ski locker room. Good thing I suppose as you don't hear people clomping around the rooms or corridor.
Location is excellent for ski in ski out but not for après ski. Although there is a nightclub bellow and could be heard a couple nights.
If you want a cheap basic accommodation go for it but it is definitely no frills!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Having stayed all over Europe Snowboarding you almost accept it you want to go on a budget you are going to stay in very sub standard accommodation this is most prevalent in France. if you want luxury you are certainly going to know you have paid for it.
Although I was surprised at state of this "hotel" with unhelpful staff, cramped dirty rooms the place insisted on you putting a deposit for 300 Euros for which you have to complete a room itinerary which is barely legable and anything you miss off you will be billed for, lost key to be charged at 40 euro, towel and sheet deposits deposits at 7 Euro per person and TV rental in addition.
The location is isolation with no Apre Ski and if you are foolish enough to venture away from the only tiny bar getting back is an absolute nightmare as the Taxi refuse to run, the buses stop before midnight and any hotel shuttle will simply lie and drop you off somewhere with no intention of returning.
The icing on the dirty unhelpful massively overpriced cake was, we left two boards outside my room for 10 mins (yes I know) and they were gone, after going to reception we found from other guests we were the second people in 2 days, I was enraged by the attitude of the staff in this crisis and the fact with the amount of money they rake in not a single solitary penny had been spent on Hotel Security such as a single CCTV camera.
All in all don't go here the fact it seems cheaper at base cost is an illusion and there is no value for money in these resorts but simple racketeering.
Only Positives, the owner or Monca's Bar and Cafe is a good guy and you can Ski in/out.
Oh and the Holiday was booked with Direct Ski who reps were good guys and we landed in Grenoble possible the worst Arrivals and baggage area in the developed world.
And by the way I don't even complain ordinarily about stuff...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank turnerrobbiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0 mi away
Residence Odalys La Licorne
Residence Odalys La Licorne
#16 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
33 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#13 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
248 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Aime 2000 La Plagne
0 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Odalys Le Cervin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Odalys Le Cervin

Address: La Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £52 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Odalys Le Cervin 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Odalys Le Cervin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Cervin Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing