We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - a few issues need to be adressed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Plagne 2100
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We globally had a very pleasant stay, many "pros" and a few "cons":
Pros:
GO's quality: all excellent in general and in all areas I have dealt with. Special mention to ALL the GO's team at the Mini Club and Pertit Club. Our son couldn't have been better taken care of, and the activities for young children were plenty and all very interesting for them.
Ski: a real ski in - ski out, excellent location for skiing, can't beat it. Perfect for any ski level, we had an adult expert and a beginner child in our family and the location was convenient for both.
Ski instructors: had two and kid had one, they were all very good and passionate. Our ski instructor "Petit Pois" (nickname) was a real passionate and off pist skiing with him was delightful.
Food: very good, variety. and friendliness of the GO staff at the restaurants. They are really attentive, flexible and want to make everyone happy.
Quality of infrastructure: was excellent, all in great shape.

Cons:
Rooms are just too small. Baths have OK size but you definitely need more room that what the STD rooms offer, you just can't move around. Next time I'll take a Deluxe.
Our room had a strong smell of cigarette. I even didn't know smoking was still allowed in hotels in France; at booking time, we were never asked for a prefference for a smoking or non smoking room. This situation shouldn't have happened.
Cleaning: a couple times I was in the room when the cleaning service came and I let them in; it didn't take them more than 8 minutes to "clean" the room. They superficially fixed it more than they cleaned it; twice I had to remove myself an empty glass of wine that was in the room. They need to adress this aspect.
Children: YES it is a family resort, so it gets noisy in all common areas due to children. There were "hords" of unattended (mostly English) childrens and young teenagers wandering in the Club at all time except after 10pm, and that can be annoying if you are looking for relaxation. If that trip was without children I'd choose a different CM.
Boutique: avoid it at all cost! I paid 30 Euros for a basic energy converter, and thought that was outrageous but really needed it as I had forgotten mine. Two days later I stopped at a nearby supermarket at Aime la Plagne just a few hundred yards above Club Med, and the very same converter was 7.5 Euros, 4 times less than at the boutique at Club Med. How can you explain that? You may charge a little more due to the place, but 4 times more (than a shop in a ski resort, which is already probably more expensive than it would be in a city) is just a robbery. Too bad as the ladies working there are very nice people.

All in all a very good destination. Despite the small hitches I am planning to return with my family next year.

Room Tip: Choose a "pist view" (or Mont Blanc view), not the basic view which is a view to the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pg011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from a week’s skiing. We chose Club Med as the kids had such a great time in Club Med Sandpiper in April and loved the whole set up. Firstly the location and the primary reason for the holiday, skiing, you cannot get a better location, great ski in and ski out. You can see the club from most points and La Plagne generally is great skiing for the kids. All the skiing lessons are run through ESF (The French ski school), the instructors are excellent and the kids progressed a lot in the week. You have to be aware that Club Med is used by all nationalities and my youngest, 5, was the only English speaker in the ski class which made it a bit lonely for her. Ski lessons are not included on Saturday so we arranged for a ski guide through ESF and had a great day skiing as a family. On arrival you are given your ski passes, you then register the kids for mini club which includes the lessons and sort out ski hire. Ski hire is slow but you are not in a rush and it all gets sorted before dinner, so everything is nice and easy to arrange.

Overall the club is in a good condition and worth the 4 tridents that it has. I popped in to the second La Plagne club and you can certainly tell the difference between the 3 and 4 tridents.
The main difference between the States and Europe was the food; in Sandpiper everything was made fresh in small quantities in front of you which meant it was hot and fresh. The selection was greater and Sandpiper had many healthier options. In La Plagne it was predominately meat for the adults. Most of the dishes served were small potions on small plates, 2 slices of meat with a couple of potatoes. I understand that they want the presentation to be nice but after a full days skiing I'm looking for a substantial meal and yes you can return to the buffet but when you ask for more than the allocated portion the chefs make you feel awkward, I just expect “of course how much would you like” in return.

The rooms and bathrooms were small but clean and perfect for what you need; to be honest you don’t spend that much time in the room. As you can probably tell the skiing was excellent, the club was very good but the dining room experience left a lot to be desired but I would return as it is all about the skiing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed March 14 for 1 week.

Great location (our second time here). Able to ski in/out with ease and into La Plagne town centre.

Club Med is ideal for those seeking an easy skiing holiday - everything is taken care of and the ESF provide good ski guidance in groups of up to 12 people.

Ski area is vast and suitable for all levels.

The hotel itself is good - rooms are of a good size (for ski rooms) and the hotel offers a varied selection of food & drink.

The bar area is a crowded and perhaps the hotel is geared up for families rather than couples.

Wifi signal could have been a bit better considering that you now have to pay 20 euro per week for this (covers 4 devices).

Would certainly recommend Club Med La Plagne and would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for our 6th Club Med ski holiday (all at different bases). Superb weather and ski instruction helped.

Pros:
Great position for skiing with easy ski in & ski out.
Easy walk to La Plagne Centre - 20 minutes downhill, or 5 mins uphill to take the cable car down to the centre.
Clean
Attentive staff
Comfortable room
good and varied food
Better than average Club Med evening entertainment
Standard free Club Med bar and afternoon snacks

Cons:
No pool
No access to ski room early on the morning of departure so had to pack damp skis soon after finishing skiing the day before (risk of rust)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannysdadski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hi

We stayed at Clubmed in March 2014.

Skiing was great.
Hotel was not good. Rooms were small and closer phobic and very warm. Nina it ventilation or Airton. You need to sleep with Windows open otherwise it is too hot. Problem is you can't sleep of noise of people partying and snow machines making noise.

My major complain is that 12people in our group and 50 people Inn hotel got severely sick from food poisoning from steak tartar.
Management from the hotel did nothing to help patrons and shrugged it off and said it was a viral bug in the town.

People were vomiting in the lifts and all public toilets... Mice try Clubmed... No service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank ruahann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Another great holiday with Club Med, the hotel facilities were good, rooms are a great size and all the staff are very accommodating. Our ski instructor was excellent, provided the right balance of individual coaching, as well as the group needs. We were lucky to have a small group, but he is an absolute asset to the ski school and helped improve all our skiing!
The lunches on the terrace were great fun, a lovely selection of food and good music.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaM2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We returned once again to ClubMed, this time we drove via EuroTunnel, stopping overnight at Troyes on the way. The check in procedure was completed whilst we were still in our car, our luggage was unloaded and then we went to park our car in the covered car park. We were able to go straight to our room, our luggage was delivered to our room and our skis and boots were left by the locker rooms - a very slick check-in. We did have some trouble with one of our key cards not working and there were at least 3 trips to reception to try to sort this out - so there was a slight blip in the procedure.
We booked in for ski school and we were very quickly sorted into groups - this can sometimes be a pain, but they were very efficient and we didn't have to hang around for long. Our ski teacher Didier was excellent - even I was surprised at my increase in confidence and ability (old dogs and new tricks comes to mind!)
The rooms are large (for ski rooms) with plenty of storage and lovely bathrooms.
There was a large group of us and it was easy to meet up after lessons in the bar or the restaurant and food was good. It was a fun week and my previous review of the resort still stands, but maybe slightly better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
2.2 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Plagne 2100? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Plagne 2100

Address: Bp 62, 73214 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#2 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £347 - £1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Plagne 2100 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Med Village of La Plagne 2100, at the foot of the slopes, overlooks the resort with its bold architecture. The Village has just been awarded its 4th Trident making it a model of refinement and contemporary design. Shimmering drapes and soft furnishings, fluid spaces and designed acoustics and lighting create a stimulating atmosphere in harmony with the mountain. The transformed rooms, enlarged restaurants, reorganized lounge area, create a more intimate and sociable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Plagne 2100 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Plagne 2100 Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
La Plagne Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing