We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
433
356
141
55
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
356
141
55
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski instructor chef de village his team ski school la plagne ski room ski week rooms are small special thanks a great week oysters evening entertainment ski service ski rental group of friends off piste great resort
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from a week’s skiing. We chose Club Med as the kids had such a great time in Club Med Sandpiper in April and loved the whole set up. Firstly the location and the primary reason for the holiday, skiing, you cannot get a better location, great ski in and ski out. You can see the club from most points and La Plagne generally is great skiing for the kids. All the skiing lessons are run through ESF (The French ski school), the instructors are excellent and the kids progressed a lot in the week. You have to be aware that Club Med is used by all nationalities and my youngest, 5, was the only English speaker in the ski class which made it a bit lonely for her. Ski lessons are not included on Saturday so we arranged for a ski guide through ESF and had a great day skiing as a family. On arrival you are given your ski passes, you then register the kids for mini club which includes the lessons and sort out ski hire. Ski hire is slow but you are not in a rush and it all gets sorted before dinner, so everything is nice and easy to arrange.

Overall the club is in a good condition and worth the 4 tridents that it has. I popped in to the second La Plagne club and you can certainly tell the difference between the 3 and 4 tridents.
The main difference between the States and Europe was the food; in Sandpiper everything was made fresh in small quantities in front of you which meant it was hot and fresh. The selection was greater and Sandpiper had many healthier options. In La Plagne it was predominately meat for the adults. Most of the dishes served were small potions on small plates, 2 slices of meat with a couple of potatoes. I understand that they want the presentation to be nice but after a full days skiing I'm looking for a substantial meal and yes you can return to the buffet but when you ask for more than the allocated portion the chefs make you feel awkward, I just expect “of course how much would you like” in return.

The rooms and bathrooms were small but clean and perfect for what you need; to be honest you don’t spend that much time in the room. As you can probably tell the skiing was excellent, the club was very good but the dining room experience left a lot to be desired but I would return as it is all about the skiing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed March 14 for 1 week.

Great location (our second time here). Able to ski in/out with ease and into La Plagne town centre.

Club Med is ideal for those seeking an easy skiing holiday - everything is taken care of and the ESF provide good ski guidance in groups of up to 12 people.

Ski area is vast and suitable for all levels.

The hotel itself is good - rooms are of a good size (for ski rooms) and the hotel offers a varied selection of food & drink.

The bar area is a crowded and perhaps the hotel is geared up for families rather than couples.

Wifi signal could have been a bit better considering that you now have to pay 20 euro per week for this (covers 4 devices).

Would certainly recommend Club Med La Plagne and would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFromRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for our 6th Club Med ski holiday (all at different bases). Superb weather and ski instruction helped.

Pros:
Great position for skiing with easy ski in & ski out.
Easy walk to La Plagne Centre - 20 minutes downhill, or 5 mins uphill to take the cable car down to the centre.
Clean
Attentive staff
Comfortable room
good and varied food
Better than average Club Med evening entertainment
Standard free Club Med bar and afternoon snacks

Cons:
No pool
No access to ski room early on the morning of departure so had to pack damp skis soon after finishing skiing the day before (risk of rust)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannysdadski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hi

We stayed at Clubmed in March 2014.

Skiing was great.
Hotel was not good. Rooms were small and closer phobic and very warm. Nina it ventilation or Airton. You need to sleep with Windows open otherwise it is too hot. Problem is you can't sleep of noise of people partying and snow machines making noise.

My major complain is that 12people in our group and 50 people Inn hotel got severely sick from food poisoning from steak tartar.
Management from the hotel did nothing to help patrons and shrugged it off and said it was a viral bug in the town.

People were vomiting in the lifts and all public toilets... Mice try Clubmed... No service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank ruahann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Another great holiday with Club Med, the hotel facilities were good, rooms are a great size and all the staff are very accommodating. Our ski instructor was excellent, provided the right balance of individual coaching, as well as the group needs. We were lucky to have a small group, but he is an absolute asset to the ski school and helped improve all our skiing!
The lunches on the terrace were great fun, a lovely selection of food and good music.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaM2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews