We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Great Snow, Comfortable Appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Reviewed 17 January 2009

I cannot say enough good things about La Plagne, Plagne Soleil and Le Mont Soliel Appartments. The resort was fantastic, Plagne Soleil was perfect and the appartment had everything we needed. I've been skiing lots when I was younger but I always remember difficult slopes and nightmares struggling to walk to the slopes carrying skis etc. This holiday was completely different. It was amazing and I can't wait to go back next year.
We booked through Thompson Ski on line. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we booked to stay in Le Mont Soleil Appartments in Plagne Soleil. The apparment was just what we needed. Simple self catering but perfect. It had one double bedroom and two beds in the lounge. We were a bit worried about that at first but we were so shattered after a full days skiing we slept like logs every night. We had a little kitchen and eating area and we cooked most nights. The balcony over looked our blue run just outside our back door and we could sit in the morning in the sunshine waiting for the button lift man to arrive so we could be first down there! There is a ski room with lockers to store equipment. We put our boots on, stepped out of the door and onto the piste. Put our skis on and shooped down to the lift.
We went to nearly all of the villages in La Plagne and we definitely felt that Plagne Soliel was the best for location location location. It is high up so the snow is good. It has a lovley feel to it as it is small. It is one of the newer villages but it is also the prettiest. It has a couple of restaurants, a good bar (Monica's) an excellent Spa to get croissants every morning and ski hire shops. There is also a fab pizza take away place. AS the name suggests it is sunny all day. The button lift is meters away from the back door and at the top you can choose to ski to the west or the east. Or you can miss the button lift and ski 2 mins into Plagne Centre where the chair lifts are. Most of the runs are lovley wide blue ones. However there were a few blue ones that we agreed should be more like difficult reds! But we managed them. There wasn't a place you couldn't get to on a blue run. We even went over to Les Arc's for a day, but would not stay there for a whole week.
One evening we went on the Bob Sled run - it is a thrill not to be missed. Another evening we went skidooing which was excellent fun.
Everything about the holiday was fantastic . Thompson ski was great, they were there to pick us up at the right times and places they arranged bob sledding and skidooing for us and recommended good restaurants to go to.
I would highly recommend La Plagne for people who enjoy ski in / ski out skiing, intermediate and easy slopes, friendly atmosphere and good snow.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2008

It may be three star but it doesn't come any more convenient location wise, cleanliness is paramount, comfort and general ambience is what you make it. Lets not overlook the pretty horrendous architecture of some of the purpose built French ski resorts but Plagne Soleil trys to rise above this - wood cladding chalet type structures prevail.

Le Mont Soleil residence is one of two large chalet complexes, 6/7 floors - 200 apartments maybe. We took a 4/5 man apartment consisting of separate room with double bed, living area with two sofas come single beds and a pull out mattress from under one of the sofas. Kitchenette come dining area with dining table with four seats (where does the fifth person sit?). Attached photo gives an idea of the dimensions but lets says its pokey and leave it at that - you are here to ski not lounge in palatial surroundings!

Shower/bath room adequate with separate loo. Bath/bed linen provided as standard.

Reception area doubles as lounge bar fronting onto sun terrace. All staff helpful, keen to ensure you enjoy all thats on offer.

Ski lockers on ground floor so no stumbling into the darkest recesses in ski boots - lockers open out onto ski slopes so we are really talking ski in/ski out.

Plagne Soleil is tantamount to being its own village and Le Mont Soleil backs onto the 'village square' with Ecole Ski France nursery slope 20 yards from back door. Otherwise there is a Spar shop well stocked - mountain prices but not too extreme! Two restaurants to speak of, one a bit French formal, reservations required, the other being the infamous Monica's Bar. Personally Monica's didn't float my boat but I'm not into the live band scene in grumby dungeon trendy french snow boarder dude bars. Their upstairs restaurant has typical french cuisine, basic starters around €8, mains €14-€22. Takeaway Pizza joint makes up the rest of the gastrinomic delights of the immediate area.

Two ski hire shops on hand which can be booked on-line via the La Plagne website to get discounts (www.skishop.fr)
- no quibbles or complaints, good kit and service all round. Ticket office right next to ski hire shop next door to the Spar - all of 75 yards away from Le Mont Soleil - couldn't be easier.

If you want to cross the piste outside front of Chalet then thats Plagne Village for you which has a bit more on the go and leads to the cable car connection down to Plagne Centre (stops at 8.30pm which is a bit of a pain if you are minded to live it up down town).

If you are arriving by car, parking is free but a bit of a scramble for immediately located spaces - it may well be best to trip around to Plagne Village as the car park is across the piste outside Le Mont Soleil. Bit treacherous going across the piste concerned and scrambling up the bank - otherwise its a 5 minute walk around.

To sum up - great location, basic clean and warm facilities, apres ski limited, good value and snow guaranteed at 2000 metres. South facing balconies and sun terrace for those concerned with their tans!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

We have just returned from a New Year ski trip to la Plane Soleil. We were party of 12 ( 4 adults 4 teenagers plus 4 kids) and we booked three apartments at Le Mont Soleil.
I organised the trip and I booked the accommodation based on the very positive review given by the previous member.
We were delighted to find that every thing met or exceeded our expectations. This accommodation is superbly placed in terms of convenience. It is right on the edge of the ski slopes; it is 100 meters from the ski school meeting point, the lift pass office, the ESF office, two nice restaurants and the Spar. Having stayed in many resorts/ ski apartments over the years this was definitely the most family friendly in terms of logistics.
The accommodation itself was warm, clean, and spacious, there was loads of hot water and the views were great. We put two tables together (taken from two rooms) and even managed to accommodate lunch/dinner for 12 on several occasions. I can’t think of anything negative to say.
Just a comment on the restaurants at New Year. We booked at Monica’s for new-year eve. The atmosphere was pleasant but they were grossly understaffed and could not cope with a party of 12. Half our starters did not turn up, our main meal took two hours to show and we ran out of time for dessert. Disappointing for us but everyone else in the room seemed to be served oK. I think it was the big group thing.
I would stay here again.A final comment on the skiing. This resort was great for our friends who are new to skiing but it was a little bit too blue...ish for us ( the lift to Les Arcs was not working)
Still a great place to come to.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Plagne Soleil, La Plagne.

I was very apprehensive when the coach started to near Plagne Soleil, like I always get when I start to think about the accommodation and the horrible things that can go wrong, especially in cold snowy places - I’ve been to Poland!

My initial reaction was that the location was great - not at all heavily built-up, a nice square with children building an igloo in the centre and sledging down an embankment (I planned to join them later…), some small shops (including a grocery store of the ‘par variety), a few bars/restaurants and the accommodation. Perfect.

I had felt a little worried when the rep on the coach said rather dramatically: well, for those of you staying in Plagne Soleil, this is it. Everything is in this square. But it turned out that everything you need is in that square…and for anything else, Plagne Centre is about 5 minutes away on the 3 bubble-lifts across the piste.


I will break the rest of my review down for ease of reading (like I always do…).



Mont Soleil Apartments (also known as Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil)


Accommodation - Checking- in...

The desk staff were extremely lovely and the reception area was clean and stylish – which was irrelevant really with the apartments being self-catering…but it always helps!

So, we head up to our apartment in one of the lifts - there is more than one, which is great because of the amount of baggage accumulated for snow-sport holidays, and the fact that if you have travelled with a large tour operator, you will have a number of people all heading to their rooms at the same time after checking in.



The Apartment (sleeps 2-7).

Firstly, I was relieved to find that it was already heated to exactly the right temperature (which is important when you’ve just dragged your luggage through the snow from the coach), and my first impression was that it was clean, simple and in the perfect location!

The lounge area – is open-plan style with the dining table and kitchen, and is a relatively decent size. It is furnished adequately with 2 large sofas (one is a sofa bed), and a couple of coffee tables.

The Dining Area – is quite poor really if you plan to have proper table dining experiences. There is not really enough room for a dining table of that size in the alcove style space they’ve given it. Once everyone was seated, only the end 2 people would be able to move freely. But, it is usable and well made from a farm-style sturdy warm pine.

The Kitchen Area – is compact but contains everything you might need…with the exception of a kettle (I don’t know what it is that the French have against them, but it’s travel kettle or pan!).
There is a grill/oven, coffee maker, dishwasher, pots and pans and all the dishes etc you would need for 7. Also, the dishwasher is really quite silent so it is possible to put it on overnight and still be able to sleep!

Master Bedroom – is an adequate size, contains a cupboard/dresser and wardrobe (shelves not rails), and a double bed (which I personally found to be a little small but then I am quite tall and my boyfriend is 6’3”…).

Bunk bed Room – is big enough for the bunk bed and a bit of movement, but isn’t huge. There is a tall cupboard for clothes (shelves again) but not much room for anything else alongside the beds. If it were to be used by children there would be more than enough room for them, adults would be a bit more squeezed, but then you’re asleep so does it really matter?!

Bathroom(s) – The main bathroom contains a reasonably large sink unit with mirror and a bath with shower, directly across the hall is the bathroom with the toilet and another large sink unit (with mirror). I like having a separate toilet/wash room in apartments made for many people, makes everything so much easier when someone wants a bath to ease the first day muscles!

Balcony – The doors open out from the lounge area onto a large balcony with chairs and stunning views of Plagne Soleil! You can also see across to the Plagne Villages and down to Plagne Centre.



Accommodation Summary.

Overall I found the apartment (and its contents) to be everything we might have needed for the week’s self-catering.

Apparently the apartment we had was for 2 – 7 people but I would imagine that fitting 7 people in it would be a bit of a challenge personally, 4 –6 no problem! Any more and you would all have to get on really well with one another or it could get nasty! ha ha ha!

The staff are extremely helpful and polite, and speak excellent English. The best thing about the Mont Soleil for me however had to be it’s prime location!

I would also like to mention that within 2 minutes of the apartments there is a bar/pub style restaurant called Monica’s, and it’s great! (and no, you can’t hear any noise from the square from the apartments of an evening).

I cannot recommend this place enough…the staff are friendly and helpful but not smothering, the service is prompt and efficient and the food is excellent! It is gorgeous food at decent prices for a resort restaurant; there is quite a selection of food available as well (for people like me who don’t eat red meat…France can be a nightmare!), and the deserts…it’s just beautiful!

If you go to Plagne Soleil (or the Plagne Villages/Plagne Centre for that matter), whether or not you stay at the Mont Soleil Apartments, I would highly recommend visiting Monica’s one evening!



Plagne Soleil Summary.

Plagne Soleil is by far one of the prettiest villages/areas of La Plagne; it gets the sun for the majority of the day, and has the best views of the surrounding area. There is also immediate access to a number of the lifts and you can ski in and out of pretty much everywhere.

Because Plagne Soleil is one of the least built up areas of La Plagne, there are only a few places to stay – the Mont Soleil Apartments, Plagne Soleil Apartments (above Monica’s) and the chalet’s on the other side of the square.



A Note on Lyon Airport.

I feel like I must make comment on the state on Lyon airport. Yes, our suitcases came through relatively quickly given the volume of people on the plane; however getting the snowblades and board-bag was another story.

The system of reuniting people with their skis at Lyon is a total farce. Basically, you go to one carousel and collect your suitcases and boot-bags, then you have to go to the mosh-pit like queue for your skis.

What they do is have a very large box between the carousels and they simply take all the boards & skis off the plane (and any other flights that happen to have landed) and throw them into it.
You have to fight your way to the front and then crawl through the mass of equipment in the vain hope that yours is there…all the while, the staff are throwing more and more into the pile.

It was absolutely ridiculous, and surprised me seeing as Lyon (as with Grenoble) is one of the major airports for people going on snow holidays every single winter. It was like it came as a total surprise to them that they should receive all this oversize luggage, and yet this happens every single season, you’d have thought they would have devised a better system by now.

At Manchester, we have decent sized carousels that they can put people’s skis and boards onto as well; they send the suitcases through first, then everything else. Simple.

But this was the only joy about coming home from Plagne Soleil, I loved it there!

Stayed: January 2007
28  Thank AnnaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: tous les appartement on vue sur la piste et face au soleil
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedric19150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres petites avec peu de rangement.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#8 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Gemeaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil

Address: Residence le Mont Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#4 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A station known for its calm and sun exposition in the Paradiski areaA residence on the slopes and in the heart of the resortComfortable residence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
Pierre And Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing