We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Inclusive Skiing in the Alps - David aged 62 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Aime la Plagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Aime la Plagne
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All Inclusive Skiing in the Alps - David aged 62 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

January 2013. My wife and I have just returned from a perfect weeks skiing with Club Med at Aime La Plagne. We both only started skiing 5 years ago from scratch at the age of 55 and both learned to ski with the excellent english speaking ESF instructors at all Club Med resorts and we always hire our equipment at the hotel as part of our booking. All inclusive means all inclusive and we only spent an additional 50 euros all week when we decided, as our ski group, to eat out one day on the mountains, on an extended day long trip.
We now like skiing so much we have been skiing with Club Med some 10 times in the past 5 years so we are able to compare their various resorts in France and Italy.We like Club Med because it is so convenient from booking, equipment hire and professional ski instruction for all different levels, from beginner to expert, good hotel and great food, not least the all inclusive bar, so you know what the costs are before you go on holiday. If you've eaten and had drinks out in France recently it is very expensive, so the certainty of knowing your costs in advance is assuring.
Although one of the cheaper resorts in the Club Med brochure and our first time visiting this one, we found it really good, and the ski locker room and ski in and ski out was very easy. The hotel has a comfortable feel and not so big as to lose its personal feel. The rooms were very clean and well serviced. The bedrooms are adequate in size and functional and the shower room and toilet very good, and as good as you will find in better star rated hotels, even within Club Med resorts.
The staff were all excellent and all go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as you expected it to be when you booked. We had a great time, met many people from different nationalities and all shared some great fun, and most importantly thoroughly enjoyed the skiing in our group. In our 5 years skiing we have become comfortable in tackling any colour graded slope and some off piste with our great instructors. Seeing the hotel mini club children from about the age of 4 enjoying themselves on the slopes with their instructors makes us wish we had started skiing earlier in life. Well done Club Med we will return to this club again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    298
    121
    50
    17
See reviews for
482
82
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

As a family we have been going to Club Med ski resorts for the past 10 years and we have now been to 5 resorts with Aime La Plagna I am afraid being not the best.
I can only base my review on our experiences at the resort itself. The actual skiing is fantastic and the runs, instructors and ski room are probably the best we have experienced. The ski in and ski out facility is great.
The organisation of our trip from Paris to the resort and back to Paris by train was very good and we had a taxi organised for us to take us direct to and from the resort from the station. The check in procedure and the organisation of our ski equipment was the fastest we have experienced with everyone being very friendly and efficient.
Unfortunately the accommodation we had was not good at all.
The hotel appears very run down with the common areas really needing an update of the carpet and furniture. We liked to have a drink after dinner in the reception lounge but this was often spoilt by cigarette smoke coming in the front doors every time they were opened as this was where the smokers congregated.
We had booked three Mountain View rooms as we are a family of 5 adults at an extra cost. The view is amazing but the rooms were run down. The first room of ours did not have wardrobe doors or a drawer to the desk. The second room had wardrobe doors but the drawer to the desk fell off when opened the first time. The third room had wardrobe doors but no desk drawer as well. The pillows supplied for the beds were basically sofa pillows which we found very uncomfortable to sleep on. I know these may seem minor issues but In all I feel this is not a very good way to present the rooms/hotel to paying guests and we felt a little insulted.
The carpet in the hallways had large stains on it and even if it was clean it does not do much for the presentation of the hotel. Also for some reason the hallways had that smell of cigarette smoke and cleaning fluid which I would describe as a “Club Med” scent. The particular hallways we had to walk down to our rooms smelt very bad at times. The bathrooms are small but more than adequate with hot water always available and a heated towel rail which worked on and off.
The little radiator in the room never seemed to come on. I did enquire about this and was told it comes on automatically at 11pm each night. Ours never did but it was not really a major problem for us as the quilts kept us warm enough.
On the up side the rooms were clean and the cleaning staff was very good.
The food at the buffets was okay but again the other resorts we had stayed at all had much better food.
Having stayed at other 3 Trident Club Med Resorts I would say this resort is definitely not a 3 Trident Club. The sking is fantastic in this area and I would probably recommend the other Club Med (La Plagna 2100) just up the hill. It looked a lot newer and I believe it is a 4 Trident Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestAussiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Travelled here with a group of 30 friends for a ski holiday in February. It was perfect for a big group and great value for money. While Aime la Plagne is not a quaint ski village, so has no real atmosphere as such, the convenience of being with in such easy reach of so many varied ski runs was worth it. Our group was completely mixed ability from complete beginner to experts up in Group 4 and all had a fantastic time and the skiing surpassed expectations for many.
The rooms were a reasonable size, clean & modern. Unfortunately we had the smell of drains in our room but we were just unlucky as none of the rest of the group had any problems. The all inclusive food was very good with so much choice, the wine with dinner while not amazing was quite adequate and there was a well stocked bar that we all took advantage of. The daily evening entertainment was quite bizarre, so bad it was in a way entertaining but apparently this is par for the course with Club Med. The staff were all fantastic and so helpful. Also friends we made in the hotel that had children would completely recommend it as a family holiday as the Kids Club is a great way for the parents to have a relaxing holiday while the kids are looked after and kept occupied with all sorts of activities besides their ski classes.

Room Tip: If you are in a small group ask for mountain view rooms as you can see Mont Blanc from the front sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Aime la Plagne, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment after your stay in our Resort last winter. We are happy to see that all thirty of you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the ski slopes and the wide range of quality food we offered.

We hope to see you again soon - maybe in our brand new Ski Resort Pragelato.
Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just come back from a weeks holiday at this resort.

Positives: Fantastic food and sociable environment. Service is great, organised and accomodative. The ski area is huge and suits all levels. There are even blues off every mountain top. Lots of great entertainment, if you like that.

Negatives: My 8 year old son was enroled in beginners snowboarding class. The instructor was completely incomeptent, and if you get him (Fabian) be aware. At the end of the first day i found my son waiting by himself at the end of the day on a slope, and this was not the first time i found him left to his own defences. The instructor tried to get him to go up button lifts with the wrong foot forward and wondered why he couldnt do it. then only after a day he tried to force me to pay euro162 for private tuition, even though i had paid up front for a week.I ended up taking a lot of my own time out to teach him. after the 4th day i had him down a red and some off piste, but when it came to test him for his medal which he was so excited about, the instructor said " i don't need to test him i know his level" and awarded him a just pass, i nearly punched the guy. If he took the time he should he would have seen is actual level.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aarif J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Aime la Plagne, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor about your holiday at our Aime la Plagne Club Med Resort. We’re glad to see you enjoyed the quality of the food, the service and the ski area.

On a different note, we were very sorry to see your dissatisfaction with your son's ski tuition during your stay.

We have noted your comments regarding the ski instructor and that you found the tuition provided not to your requirements. Please note that the ski instructors are provided by the ESF French ski school not Club Med.

Unfortunately, the ski groups are organized during the first day by the ESF ski instructor locally, a process which we have no involvement with. The groups are firstly done in order of the skiing ability, which is the ski instructor’s main priority this is to ensure that the GM’s are placed in suitable ski ability groups.

We understand that following your continued dissatisfaction with the ski instruction you decided to take your son out of the snowboarding class.
Whilst we are very sorry for the disappointment caused to you on this occasion unfortunately, matters such as this need to be addressed at the time of your stay as this cannot be rectified once back in the UK.

All feedback we receive from our clients is sent to the ski school in order to improve the service provided for the next winter season. We can assure you that your comments in respect of the above have been taken most seriously indeed and forwarded to the ski school head of staff and the ski instructors on site for their attention, to establish where improvements can be made for the next winter season.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Resorts soon,
Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Vacation took place between the 28/1/2012 to 4/2/2012
The staff is wondelful, including the Kid's club staff, Ski trainers are professional and very customer oriented.
It's a "small" and intimate club, the rooms are small (but you don't need more then that), TV in every room and WiFi, The WiFi coasts 20Ero per week and you can get up to 4 devices connection. as for telephone if you need to call via call card the club will charge you 1ERO for 1-800 call. food and bevriges are excellent whit a wide options choise, bar staff is great.
Ski room is well orgenzied but a little bit small especialy during "Rush Hour" and you have full SKi In / Ski Out from the Club.

Over all it is the best location for those who are loking for an intimate Club, a lot of Ski, and excellant staff.

I was ther with my Family and Friends

Room Tip: Low Floors - have stairs Accsess
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmezare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were 6 people staying at Aime La Plagne for a week. It is an easy, compact resort but really 3 stars. Lobby is decorated poorly and fireplace is never on. Personal is great and helpful. Small but functional resort. Ski room, lobby,restaurant,bar are located in the same floor which makes the life easy. General Manager (in French they say Chief de Village) is EXCELLENT, his name is SAID SARH ROUNY..He makes the resort running unbelievable!
He solved the problems as soon as possible. He is experienced and his team loves him!! He is very energic!!! Excellent shows as well at night by him!!! He has a personal touch!!! Unfortunately, he is going to be transferred to Club Med Portugal today...I am not sure how the resort would be run without him..He made the average resort excellent..If I had a hotel business, I would definitely transfer him as a General Manager..He has very good managerial skills which we observed during our stay. Only deficit of the resort is UNEXPECTABLE heating hours! We had a deluxe room and could not rest in our room in the afternoon. Why? Because it was freezing cold! Heating hours are 7:30-9:30 am and 4-11pm only in the room.. The temperature is MINUS -17C. It is not acceptable..The heating is shut off! Why did I take a deluxe room? If I do not ski in the afternoons, then I can enjoy reading a book or watch TV in my private room..I do not recommend Aime La Plagne for this reason.. AMBRO is also a great Food Manager. Ramone from Kids CLub wonderful! We like the people who worked there, but the resort is very old and just okey!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a deluxe room, it is not worth it! Old decoration and very small bathroom. just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GunaySen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The food is good, the staff is great and the ski is excellent. (real ski in ski out).
The decoration is very warm and the ski room/restaurant/lobby are on the same level - very comfortable. The rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: Floor 2 was very good, nice view to the slopes and no need to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
1.9 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#5 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Araucaria Hotel
Araucaria Hotel
#7 of 34 in Aime
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Aime la Plagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Aime la Plagne

Property: Club Med Aime la Plagne
Address: 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#3 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Aime la Plagne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a mountain-top facing Mont-Blanc, Aime la Plagne looks out over a ring of immaculate ski slopes. The natural setting is complimented by the hotel interior, completely renovated in 2005 : wood, stone and pure lines lend this refuge a comfortable, hospitable feel and stimulate the senses. This Club Village is a real launch pad to the joys of whizzing over the snow, and a paradise for all who love sports and freedom. They'll enjoy perfecting their moves in the snow park or venturing out on skis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Aime la Plagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Aime La Plagne Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
Club Med La Plagne
La Plagne Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing