We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shambles, party palace for the staff.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Des Deux Domaines

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shambles, party palace for the staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My family spent the Christmas week at this hotel, we wish we hadn't. The place had wonderful reviews and was full of promise, hence the total disappointment on arrival. The reception doubles as the lounge and has zero atmosphere, there is no attraction in sitting having a drink after dinner, this maybe due to the front door being broken all week and constantly open, meaning it was cold and uninviting, probably the reason the hotel communal area was deserted by 9 as everyone seemed to just go to bed. It was Xmas week and if you had the early supper at 4.30!!!!there was nothing laid on for the rest of the evening, it's OK though because staff managed to get there party in the following day, taking over the dining Hall and leaving the guests to listen to their revelry. This was a common theme throughout the week, staff seeming to make the most of the time of year and often being openly disciplined by the manager Becky. Dinner time was a Shambles as was breakfast after 8.00am. Swimming pool and jacuzzi not usable for the majority of stay. Esprit kids staff excellent though and very capable, rep though never skied and little knowledge of the sport or resort.
Overall completely disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lej75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    46
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
166
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for the first week of the season, and had a great time. Other reviewers have mentioned the problems with the pool temperature, and that service can be slow at mealtimes, and these are good points. However, in general we thought the hotel was great: our suite was very large, cleaned very well every day, and well-equipped. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant very much, and our children really enjoyed supervised lunch and their own tea. Service at dinner time and at breakfast could be a bit hit and miss, but the staff were all so keen to help and very friendly. We enjoyed sitting with different people each evening and met some really nice people.

The snow rangers who went out with the children's lessons were excellent, and our girls (9 and 7) enjoyed cocoa club. We really enjoyed being able to mix time as a family with some skiing without the children (and they enjoyed some time without us too!).

The resort is great. Beautiful and well-maintained pistes, efficient lifts and a good range for us all (beginners to intermediate). The ESF instructors for the children and adults were absolutely fantastic and very friendly. Restaurants in the village were also good.

We loved it, despite the odd hitch here and there, and will be going back...

Room Tip: Room 304 right opposite boot room - very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just returned from spending New Year at Hotel Des Deux Domaines, this was our first Esprit holiday it was absolutely brilliant and completely exceeded our expectations! Our children are 5 and 1 and they enjoyed every minute, the ski in ski out made life so easy and the hotel is completely geared up for children to have a brilliant time. We found the staff to be attentive, well meaning and again completely focused on ensuring children are well catered for. The staff are young and many are at the start of their careers but this is a good thing as largely speaking we found them to be keen to learn and please and most importantly genuinely cared and were engaged with the children plus had plenty of energy and enthusiasm!! In particular we found Chris who works in the bar to be absolutely fantastic, he made an effort to engage and speak with every guest personally, he advised many guests on skiing and clearly has an absolute passion for providing excellent customer service. Chris I'm sure could run a Hotel to a very high standard as he role models excellence and gets stuck in! We also found the Mgr Becky to be very helpful and Connor the snow ranger was just brilliant. Our daughter absolutely loved Carley who has such a lovely kind nature with the children, our daughter cried when we had to leave, all of the childcare staff were brilliant. The chef was attentive to the needs of our daughter who has a lactose intolerance. We also had good fun in the evenings and enjoyed the company of lots of the other guests. The only other things to note are, babies are in travel cots not proper cots so our daughter didn't sleep very well as she hates travel cots. Breakfast is utter chaos if you leave things till after 8am. There is no card machine at the reception so payments are done manually. Great time had by the Lea Family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had booked to go with Esprit to St Anton for the last week of the season. They contacted us a few weeks before travelling to say they were not going there for the last week of the season so they offered us a choice of their brochure. We decided to try their flag ship offering. We have 2 girls one in Sprites the other in Spritelets. The accommodation was good, but did feel glad the hotel was only just over half full as the reception / bar area would have felt VERY crowded if it had been full. We had interconnecting rooms which were spacious and well equipped and nicely decorated. There were fridges in each room, lots of cupboard space, and the his and her sinks were lovely as well. The food in the restaurant was OK - out of the two options one was much better than the other unfortunately hubby kept making he wrong choice, breakfast was lovely and plentiful and he girls had good things to say about heir lunches and high tea. The afternoon tea soup was clearly made from the day before left overs but most days this was still quite tasty and the cakes were also nice.

My eldest loved the kids club, sprites lessons and cocoa club. Sadly my youngest when we observed her lessons were VERY disappointing, despite supposedly separate English only lessons we found her in a garden with several over French lessons going on where the ESF instructors were ignoring the sprites and only talking in French to the French children.

We raised this with the esprit reps who then had words with the head instructor and it did improve, however I was very disappointed that we had to raise it and the esprit snow rangers didn't do it on our behalf who we're left effective "teaching" the Spritelets.

This was our second Esprit holiday, and that holiday in Courchevel 1850 in Crystal 2000 was a much better experience (my eldest was a Spritelet then).

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyJ_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed the first week of the season with our three young boys, and were very disappointed. We had to wait for over an hour at the airport, for another flight to come in, before starting on the 3 hour transfer (try doing that with a 2 year old!). when we arrived the hotel was cold, our room had not been hoovered, and had an outbreak of blue bottles. The pool heating had not been turned on and took 2 days to warm, but even then it was too cold for an adult to use and the jacuzzi was the temp. of a cold bath.
The first morning my 2 older boys were taken to the wrong ski lesson, despite the fact i was reassured by staff where they were. The beginners lessons had 16 children in them, despite being told they were in the ski garden, another father saw them on the side of a blue slope, having to walk up the hill, my children were cold and in tears after the first day.
Our nearly 3 year old was put into the baby room, the staff were very nice but he was bored stiff, it would have been better if he could have spent some time with the older children.
The food was varied, some good and some appalling, especially the children's food - the roast chicken for their tea was a dry chicken breast, plain cauliflower, a roast potato and parsley sauce. The lasagne had uncooked pasta and was inedible.
Breakfast was so late one morning the boys had to go to their lesson without. The evening meals were sometimes late or we waited an hour between courses.
When I ordered my son a ski pass half way through the week at reception, (done through the rep as told at the welcome meeting) he hung around in the morning and waited until the boys had to go to their lessons before telling me I had to go into town and do it myself, this made us late for lessons that day. This was typical of most of the staff, very friendly and willing to tell you what you wanted to hear, but not having a clue.
The worst experience was the transfer back to the airport, halfway down the mountain we had to wait for 20mins, as a member of staff had put a wrong suitcase onto the coach. When we reached the airport the ski esprit staff member stopped at the wrong terminal and made us all walk to the other terminal, past the car rental, with plenty of traffic and no pavement, with 3 young children in tow. Appalling.
The hotel was nice with large well appointed rooms, but let down by the staff. The resort was nice with good restaurants and good skiing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at Deux Domaines with my wife and baby boy over the Xmas week (2013). Nowhere near 4 or 5 stars. Two stars at best (I have skied for 30 years all over France).

THE GOOD
The hotel rooms are a good size. Ski in ski out is great. The resort is charming. The nursery facilities are adequate/good. The children playroom at Chambery airport is great.

THE BAD
The rooms are not very clean. The TV remote didn't work, neither did the phone. It took days and repeated requests to have them fixed. The staff is shockingly inexperienced (very/too young) and unprofessional at times. The service is poor and extremely inconsistent. The heated pool did not work. The ski passes arrived too late. Communication by Esprit Ski all-round is very poor. The charter flight (outside of Esprit Ski's immediate control) was 2 hours late on the outbound and 1 hour late inbound.

THE (VERY) UGLY
The restaurant deserves one star at best. The food is extremely average. The service can only be described as disgraceful. Truly awful. Think 'fawlty towers', but much worse. My family (inc. 11 month old boy) was left without a working radiator for 4 days (!!!), with temperatures reaching -15C outside.

The manager, Becky, is kind and helpful, but overwhelmed by significant systemic problems compounded by very inexperienced 'low quality' staff.

There are much better experiences for your money. Do yourself a huge favour and steer clear of the Deux Domaines. I wish I had.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adesbarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just spent the Christmas week at Les Deux Dom. Service truly dreadful. Almost 1 hr waiting for first course of meals. Some of food simply inedible. Breakfasts particularly chaotic. No coffee at times, hot choc disgusting. Xmas day first course tomato soup (even this was poor). Staffed largely by bunch of inexperienced kids who have clearly received no or no adequate training. Rooms very basic. One shower couldn't be used because tiles falling off walls. Only one flimsy pillow per bed. Sofa bed soft and sagged. Swimming pool did not function for most of week. Total rip-off. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familysouthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspritHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Des Deux Domaines, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay over Christmas. We did have some issues that week and we’d invite you to drop us a line about it to our Head Office. The pool has now been repaired and is up to normal operating temperature. We do actually provide for 2 pillows per bed and the 2nd pillow is stored in each bedroom wardrobe. We can also provide a supplementary mattress if you find the sofa bed too soft. As you can see from other reviews, your experience clearly is not the quality of stay that our guests have come to expect in Belle Plagne and we apologise unreservedly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
3.6 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Deux Domaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Domaines

Property: Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Address: Belle Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#1 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 167
Also Known As:
Des Deux Domaines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing