We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, luxurious, effortless, fun, professional!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, luxurious, effortless, fun, professional!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here 3 times (twice in Summer, and this Winter). It's a great chalet for access to mountains, the pool, hot tubs and high standard of rooms, food etc.
The staff this year were particularly good-they might be young but all we're professional, enthusiastic, amazing with children and just lovely!
My only advice would be to consider other suppliers of ski/snowboarding lessons than ESF!! There are other great schools such as Oxygene who we think give a much more tailored and personal service!! Enjoy and we'll def be back x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joaoaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    46
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
170
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for a week, week commencing 12/1/14, which happened to be our 4th time and was in fact the best we had experienced.
I cannot understand what negatives can be said about the hotel or staff, as it is heads and shoulders above any chalet/ hotel we have stayed over the past 20 years.

The rooms are very spacious and kept clean by the hotel staff as much as they could.

The ski rangers/ child care staff were very energetic and helpful, both of our children, aged 5 and 8 enjoyed every minute( incl all the silly songs that they have continued to sing once home.... Thanks rangers!!!)

The food has varied over the past 4 years, from courses not been delivered to inedible food. However this year exceeded our expectations, tasty, varied and great choice. We'll done to all kitchen staff and the afternoon tea what we saw was well presented and a good variation each day.
Serving staff were very attentive and yes they are very young, however they always had a smile on their faces and we're happy to help especially Laura and Sam.

The listening service works perfectly or there was the coco club for the older kids.

The kids used the swimming pool and few times, but they did not state it was cold but the opposite, and they have to be supervised at all times.

For those who are worried or debating whether or not to book this hotel, I would say please do not worry it is a great destination and a very modern hotel with great facilities. Ski in and out and a good variation of runs.

Thank you to all staff at the Deux Domaines 2014 we all had a fabulous time!

The Holburn Family

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lymm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just arrived home.
A mixed report here. I'd be interested to hear from the other families who came down with the vomiting virus, We thought we had escaped it however on return transfer with two people very sick on the bus to airport there was no escape. Both children within 36 hours of each other are now violently sick, thankfully they are in their own home.

The good : some very lovely staff, and the children had a blast during their ski lessons, run by ESF. Rooms good, activites in cocoa club good fun. Great location and great ski/boarding.
Dining was a mixed bag : some quite good food, some barely acceptable. Plied with wine and waiters with good humour made it enjoyable.

The bad : we were supposed to have a valley view paradiski suite. when we got there we were at the back of the hotel, all other rooms were taken....we got over this until we were woken by raucous noise night after night. on fourth night we investigated upstairs only to realise the entire floor above us was staff....wine bottles holding doors open and a lot of noisy partying going on. Complained to manager who apologised and offered us a drink at the bar!. We just wanted a decent night of sleep so that we could enjoy the slopes the next day. This marred our enjoyment significantly.
The sauna and hot tubs : they were never at the right temp. Either cold, off, or scorching, which was highly dangerous especially given children are free to use them! Not once did we see the water quality being tested.

The ugly : Two members of the cocoa club staff caused our children a lot of distress and upset by inappropriate name calling. The staff do their best and work very hard, but are not experienced sufficiently in understanding children. Our second child refused to go back there, which meant we had to rely on the child listening patrol, which was fine, but we were anxious given that we'd had cause to complain already.

And of course not to mention the hygeine issue. Things were given a cursory clean. The hotel staff knew that there was a virus issue and yet they left it until day 5 before starting to ensure children used hand gel before meals. Speaking to other guests who have been before, this is a common occurence,...usually towards the end of the week.
All that said, there are some fantastic staff, and it was a great experience being on slopes with family, good snow and sun helped, If the hotel sorted out all the other issues we would probably, like the other families have done, return...but it is a gamble.

Room Tip: When booking, dont assume they know which room has views. Rooms on 5th floor immediately under staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bump99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having stayed here in July 2013 for two weeks and loving it (hill walking, white water rafting, the swimming pool, jaccuzzi etc) - the location, childcare, baby listening and facilities, decided to go again for skiing. Just returned today from a week's ski holiday. Again, the staff were excellent - yes, they are young and not very experienced (as seem most chalet staff) but Becky is an excellent manager and they seem well instructed and managed. We were staying in room 901 (just one room the 4 of us were in (with a cot)) and although this means two lifts, can't say it ever bothered us and our two kids (3 and 19 months) loved running between lifts. 901 is double aspect and has beautiful views. It is also the level on which there is chalet access into the resort so convenient from that point of view. Our 19 month old was in nursery which was excellent (Conor and Ellie) and our 3 year old was in Spritelets which was also excellent - she loved the skiing lessons which I spied on a little for the last day - very cute watching her going over a little ski jump (thanks to Jack, Jemma, Megan, Kayleigh, Ruby and Dom). Baby listening was fantastic as ever - thanks to Hannah and Charley. The only downside for us adults was that as relative beginners/intermediates, we couldn't ski into and out of the boot room (although we did ski out towards the end of the week, the ski in is quite treacherous) which then meant a walk in ski boots to a slope that was more manageable (some of the blues I suspect would be classified as reds in other resorts). If you have lessons, you have no option but to walk every morning down the road from floor 9 (so convenient for us from that point of view), up towards the resort, up a flight of stairs, along an arcade and up a snow slope to the lesson rendezvous - a trip I would start to dread from the night before (I'm not unfit but it is exhausting in ski boots carrying skis and poles). It would be convenient if you could wear hiking boots there and change at the arcade (storing your hiking boots to collect later). However, the lessons were generally great. Having had a look at the piste map in the summer, it looked as if there were many blues around the resort. However, they are a bit misleading - it is an average rating, so some of the slopes within the blues are more like reds in places. This put us off exploring and we just stuck to routes which the lessons had taken us on and we were happy with which was a bit of a pity but we lost faith in exactly what a 'blue' run meant. So, would caution beginners but to be honest, there were few beginners/intermediates at the resort and the majority of people were experienced, weren't having lessons and were happy to ski into and out of the boot room. In terms of food, we found it good and the service good as well (we had a 3am start this morning and they prioritised our dinner the night before so we had had 3 courses within an hour which was much appreciated). The only food downside was for the infants - they ate in a different room which generally was not well kitted out - there were never any beakers (Tommee Tippee) available at the beginning so you had to ask for that then there was never any water or milk available so by the time you had asked (sometimes repeatedly) for the beaker and then milk and water, you inevitably had an upset child who was not going to eat well. Cutlery was also short and there were never any napkins (necessary with little ones who are spattering food everywhere). The food was also not great on occasion - dried out meat, rock hard veg. There was grated cheese available but think it would be better to have chunks of cheese (alongside the carrots and cucumber which is great) that they could munch on while waiting for the food. Also sometimes there was bread but that seemed intermittent. So could improve there. However, I would say that these were minor gripes - generally the staff were excellent, Becky managed them really well and was a very visible and attentive manager - always asking for opinions. We enjoyed our holiday but for us as beginners/intermediates, we would look for a resort next time that we could ski into/out of more easily and not have to walk to lessons. If you are an experienced skier, think you would love the resort.

Room Tip: If you are a beginner and/or want easy access to the resort, would recommend floor 9. If you want ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After being recommended by friends to try Esprit we were not disappointed. From booking, service and information, it really was well organised. We booked the first week in Jan 14.
We have ski/boarded around the world but first time here and loved it.
The hotel is nicely presented/modern fittings etc. the rooms are large and had beautiful barhrooms and gorgeous views (level 4). Our daughter (aged 5) enjoyed the skiing /care/ and activities, the staff are amazing and energetic. The kids are well catered for!
Brilliant hotel for ski in/out, the boot room is large and always had dry equipment the next morning.
The food was great, we weren't cooking so enjoyed all of it. The service was friendly and they always tried to find a solution if your needs weren't catered for.
Although the staff young and slightly inexperienced, I kind of enjoyed it....... as 20 years ago it would have been me..so accepting is the only option!
Overall, fab- manager always wanted to know if we were ok and if there was anything they could do to make our trip more enjoyable.
Credit to them all as a team. We will certainly be back and have already recommended to other ski/boarder freinds.

Room Tip: Room 407 and 408 are I connecting if you have 2 families travelling together which was great. Heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First review on tripadvisor, having read the reviews (and been concerned) before travelling thought I should add something! Like others we were a little concerned by previous reviews, but needn't have been, most teething troubles seem to have been resolved.

This was our first visit to Belle Plagne, however as a family who have travelled with Esprit 5 times now we are well used to the formula. Both parents and kids get a great holiday, with all the painful issues of ferrying kids to lessons, and mealtimes taken care of by the Esprit staff. The staff are always young, but always friendly and engage brilliantly with the kids. Our children loved going to Cocoa club and mini Cocoa club. I can imagine that there is a learning curve for all in the hotel at the beginning of the season, we had no problems with staff in the Hotel.

The hotel is a modern hotel, with great facilities, rooms are spacious and well equipped. There still seemed to be an issue with heating of the inside hot tub (outside one worked fine) but the pool was warm and proved popular with the kids.

The food was pretty good all week, some excellent dishes, and some not so, but perfectly happy all round. The service at meal times was also good, no complaints.

Our children are 5 and 7, and enjoyed their ski lessons all week. Our youngest daughter got out on the mountain for the first time in beginners, which was fantastic as she's been quite happy to play up to now. Our elder daughter was very pleased to gain her etoile d'or, the badge is still being worn several days later. Staff listened to our concerns about lessons when we had them, and I know children moved between groups as needed. ESF will always make the decisions about the make up of groups, but it pays to chat to staff about what you and your children want to get out of the lessons. Boot room does get very busy in the morning, best to get up there a bit before 8:45 which we always failed to do!

Unfortunately I had to use the Physio service whilst I was there, as had a back problem, Katie really helped. I thought my skiing was done for the week, but managed to get out on the slopes the next day. Having the facility within the hotel made it very easy.

The one area that really could have done with being improved upon was communications on arrivals day. Chambery airport always struggles on anything other than a clear day, we were transferred to Grenoble, and had no Esprit staff on the coach transfer. Our experience is that you will always have to wait for other flights to land before the coach leaves for resort, it's not great but is inevitable. Our experience was better than others who had even worse communications whilst stuck in the UK, Esprit should be used to flight delays at Chambery by now.

All in all though a great holiday, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay with Esprit in Belle Plagne again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor easiest in mornings for boot room, rooms above 4th floor require two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our second stay here. Good food, good staff, good location, and great skiing!

-Childcare is first class.
-Food is very good.
-Staff are extremely helpful, but they are young and can be a little unprofessional at times.
-We had no maintenance issues during our stay, but we know some guests did experience issues.
-A lack of information from reps might have been an issue but we've been here before so know the score.

We had an amazing time (again), we're going back in 3 weeks time for another week - that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clunk1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#11 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Deux Domaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Domaines

Property: Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Address: Belle Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 167
Also Known As:
Des Deux Domaines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing