We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and great value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and great value for money”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. An army of friendly British youngsters work all hours to make guests' holidays as pleasant as possible. Rooms are large and very clean and food is of a high standard. There is an excellent indoor pool, sauna and hammam and outdoor hot tub.The hotel retains the ski chalet tradition of communal meals at a regular time with free wine till the coffee is served, as well as afternoon tea, a large buffet breakfast and a packed lunch. All included in the price. The result is that all guests eat and drink too much. The practice of sitting strangers together at dinner, though initially unnerving, in fact works to make the whole hotel much more sociable and the holiday more enjoyable. Jamie takes time to try to match up compatible guests and runs the restaurant operation with military precision befitting his army background. But the atmosphere remains friendly and relaxed among staff and guests alike. There is not a lot to do after dinner though Brad the barman devises his own 1980s obsessed quizzes with amusing quirky charm.
The hotel guests are mainly families with younger children and sometimes older guests who are keen walkers so there are not too many heading out after dinner to the handful of bars in Belle Plagne a few minutes walk away. It must be very different in the ski season.
As for the resort, we read the info from Inghams and reviews on here without getting a clear idea of how far we would be from things to do. In fact you are pretty isolated at 2100 metres up and it's difficult/expensive to get down to the valley where the temperature is 10 degrees higher and you can swim in the lake etc. Some people travel from the UK by car which is probably a smart move. For those without cars you are confined to the organised trips, of which the white water rafting is a stand-out must do, or to activities in the la plagne resorts which are all linked by free bubble lifts and buses. This includes mountain biking, walking (including watching the sun rise over Mont Blanc guided by the excellent Emmanuel and his pet dog Rusty) a high ropes adventure park and a huge zip wire, kayaking, horse riding and archery and a trip up to the glacier to see the ice caves, easily accessible by bubble lifts a few minutes from the hotel. We found a ten day holiday just right - if you plan to go for longer you might run out of things to do a bit unless you are a big walker.
The weather in our stay was changeable but by and large was pleasant and quite hot when the sun was out. Once or twice we were in cloud while the valley below baked in the sun (so we heard later). Maybe Inghams and Esprit could look at some sort of minibus or coach service to the valley in the future.
But all in all a fabulous hotel and hugely enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pigjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    46
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
170
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is situated in a beautiful area, if somewhat isolated. It is essentially a skiing area but summer sports are well catered for. The young staff at the hotel cannot do enough for you. Meals are plentiful and varied and the provided packed lunches are adequate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and glad of our very comfortable room after our energetic walking all day in the mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sun but those on the higher floors have better views as those on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC62014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well over and above expectations. Service faultless,staff could not be more helpful. Food excellent and bedrooms well appointed. We had excellent breakfast packed lunch afternoon tea and five course dinner every day. Lovely swimming pool with sauna and steam room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doughtygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Superbly situated in Belle Plagne. View over the valley & mountains.Very impressed with the staff at the hotel, young people- enthusiastic,cheerful,helpful,energetic, knowledgeable it was such a refreshing change to have such a young staff.The catering staff worked very hard to provide us with excellent & varied meals with tea & coffee available in the bar area throughout most of the day.Would highly recommend the hotel.We went in July, even though the place is quiet there are still lots of activities on offer.The walks with Emmanuel were superb and very interesting- he has a good knowledge of the area. If you get the chance go on his Sunrise walk even though it involves getting up in time for a 5 am start it is well worth it.We experienced the most magical sights of the mountains as the sun rose above them. We had breakfast at the summit of Mont St Jaques with Mont Blanc in the distance, it was the highlight of my week in Belle Plagne. Thank you Emmanuel.
I would definitely return.Thanks to all the staff who made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: think all rooms have balconies with views we were on second floor( goes up to 9) with views down and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disappontedChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

At Belle Plagne you can guarantee superb scenery, lots of alpine walking and other adventurous activities - but what about the hotels?

Des Deux is nothing short of fabulous. The is a great team of Inghams and Esprit staff who go out of their way to be helpful, cheerful and charming; which is not easy given how hard they all work. Meals are chef cooked and the quality shines through. Rooms are cleaned spotlessly and there is a feeling of genuinely caring about guests. As an all-inclusive venue, including a great swimming pool, jaccuzzi etc this is ideal for familes, couples and friends. There were a few children in the hotel and they were no problem at all as the childcare and amenities are brilliant

We use Inghams a lot because of their quaity and attention to detail but based purely on the staff, Des Deux has to be a flagship hotel. A huge thank you to everyone on the team who made our holiday more than just another walking trip; your hard work was very much appreciated

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have expansive views with balconies. Well-equipped with small fridges. Wi-fi may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbySunshine-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The staff at this chalet hotel worked really hard and were really friendly and accommodating - mainly young students.
The area is very remote and high. The hotel is very English - staff and food.
The area is rather soulless in summer - it is a purpose built resort and if you are going for summer you may be dissappointed if expecting a quintisential alpine resort.
The staff are good, food OK but dinner goes on for hours sometimes over 2hrs and waiting time is long between courses.
The management staff look very young and maybe the hotel needs a bit more maturity. James the restuarant manager was fantastic - willing to get stuck in and so efficient - a credit to the hotel.
The rooms are lovely. Very large and comfortable.
If you are looking for a complete get away from it all this is your place in summer but be prepared for the possibility of snow in July and low cloud.
If you get the chance don't miss out on the glacier and the ice caves - up 2 cable cars to Glacier Bellacot via Roche di Mio - fantastic when no cloud.
This hotel is shared with Esprit and inghams so have families and more mature. So if you don't want any children in your hotel this is not the one for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but for a good view for a front facing one over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from Hotel Deux Domaine, having had a fantastic time in La Plagne. Overall the hotel was excellent, but I am docking Esprit a star for the lack of WiFi and other facilities in the rooms. No shower gel or shampoo were provided and there were no tea or coffee making facilities. We've been to many hotels in the Alps, and are aware that the accommodation isn't always what you'd expect elsewhere, however, these things are basic requirements in a hotel room and are relatively inexpensive to provide. The lack of WiFi was particularly frustrating and disappointing given that this is Esprit's flagship hotel.

Everything else about Deux Domaine was very impressive. The staff were brilliant; friendly, efficient and very hard-working. We were particularly grateful to the nursery staff who looked after our 5-month-old whilst we were skiing, I wouldn't hesitate to use Esprit child care again.

The food was good, and there was plenty of it. High tea at 4.30 was especially welcome each day!

The hotel amenities were very good and we made plenty of use of the pool and jacuzzis! The ski room was also good, with heaters that actually dried out your ski boots. Other Alpine hotels should take note! The hotel is close to the slopes, but being very late in the season we had a couple of minute's walk to the nearest piste.

In conclusion, if Esprit installed some WiFi equipment and bought some kettles and toiletries, this would easily be a 5-star review!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mattyboysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chalet Altitude
Chalet Altitude
#10 of 17 in Les Arcs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Deux Domaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Domaines

Property: Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Address: Belle Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 167
Also Known As:
Des Deux Domaines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing