We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel and brilliant location”
Review of Hotel L'ours Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just spent a week this hotel. We were a group of 15 adults and had an amazing time. You cannot fault anything at the hotel. The service was brilliant and the food fantastic. It is the best place we have stayed on a skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyAllen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This charming hotel gets almost everything right. The location with ease of ski in ski out is excellent. Rooms are cute and adequate though certainly not luxurious. Most have beautiful mountain views though.

The cuisine for the most part is very good though as a non meat eater I was left wanting a couple of nights during the week as there are no choices in the evening. Meat is served 6 out of 7 evenings. They did try to accommodate me on most nights with a vegetarian dish or fish but on one night I was only offered a salad as a main dish. Nonetheless the staff are very pleasant and professional. The wine list is complete and reasonably priced for a hotel.

Most guests seem to return year to year and overall the atmosphere of the hotel is very pleasant. There isn't much to do after dinner and possibly offering some activities such as board games in the common room might be nice. We have stayed at other ski hotels that offer a mid day snack with tea or coffee and I think this would be a very nice touch.

The ski resort itself is outstanding and vast though navigating from village to village is really quite easy. As expert skiers we liked Val Thorens the best but there is excellent skiing for all skier levels at all the areas. One would certainly want to spend the bit extra and get the 3 Vallees pass. Renting skis at the hotel's choice of store Absolut Sports was very easy with professional staff and a rental process with ski delivery and pickup at the end of the week that made the whole process a breeze. Kudos to them !

Overall we loved the mountain and the hotel and I would have easily given it a 5 as a rating if it wasn't for the minor improvements I mentioned above.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBMENUIRES, Propriétaire at Hotel L'ours Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your comments that help us to improve constantly.

Please note that all diets are catered for. Gluten and lactose free or vegetarian dishes are served daily upon request.
On the main menu displayed daily in front of the restaurant we ask for all changes to be made before 5PM at the reception. This set menu does not display a choice. Rather than give a direct choice we prefer to discuss changes with our guests. We have a daily vegetarian dish and a choice of a meat or fish dish. Fresh fish is delivered twice a week. Starter or dessert changes are also available upon request. All changes are free of charge and always possible.

30 board games are available at the reception upon request.

With such competitive prices we do not offer snacks in the afternoon. A welcome drink with homemade pastries is served on Sunday evening and all guests receive a gift in their room upon arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This has got to be about our twentieth year at this Hotel and this was by far and away the best.

It is superbly situated for direct in and out access to the skiing, even the path to the slopes has been increased to piste beast size and is prepared daily. The ski locker room has boot heaters and copes well with the 50 rooms. There is a direct link to Absolu Sports and skis delivered there for a service are returned to your locker the same evening.

The food is superbly presented and a good variety, although staying for a fortnight, we chose to avoid cheese fondue night for the second week!

The staff are friendly, well-informed and very helpful, Sebastien is a star
. Having been there many times they welcome you back with affection. As to the owners, Margaret and Pascal, they are very professional, friendly and dedicated to making your stay an absolute pleasure. I know we're biased, having been there so often but I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIC2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just spend a week again (6th visit) and it was like coming home again. Really everything is excellent, no complain at all. Only the sun was missing. Very good value for money. We will go back next year again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were a group of 19 from Canada staying one week on half board, breakfast and four course dinner. Margaret and her team were amazing. Sebastion was wonderful in the bar. The dinners were Over the Top! Breakfast was lacking in fresh fruit but all else was fine. We bought our own fruit at the store. Definitely recommend the half board. Location is great for ski in and out. Short walk to the grocery store. Free shuttle bus to the town centre. Rooms were very nice for a 4 star budget hotel. Good views from the hotel rooms deck. Heated ski lockers created warm, dry boots. Only negative was the hotel recommended ski tuning service. A group of us had our skis done on the Friday night as we had another ski week in Tignes. Many of us had problems with the skis hooking as the skis were sharpen tip to tail. One pair of skis were railed. This was a disappointment for all of us as we had to take time out to de tune the tips and tails of our skis.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same with decks and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay. This is an excellent hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The ski lockers are warm and provide direct access to a blue run slope. There is a spa with an indoor hot tub, sauna, steam room and relaxing chairs - this was kept exceptionally clean (bath robes were provided in the room). The lounge and bar area are very nice - in the lounge there is a huge open fire which was lovely to sit round after your evening meal. The evening meal was a set menu each night which was wonderful - every meal was fantastic and was enjoyed by myself, my husband and my 13 year old son (who can be quite fussy but enjoyed it every night) - if there is something you don't like you can request to change. The owners of the hotel were very friendly and made you feel like nothing was too much trouble. We previously stayed in Val Thorens for a few days before our visit to L'Ours Blanc but when returning to this area in the future we would always choose this hotel - after a hard days sking it was lovely to relax in the spa then enjoy a superb evening meal. The hotel does serve lunch meals but as we were always too far away sking we did not try this but I believe from fellow residents that these were very good and reasonably priced - they have a sun terrace so you could enjoy this outside in the sunshine (we had lots of sun during our week).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is by far the best hotel that we stayed in the French Alps. The hotel is very cosy with a warm atmosphere. The rooms are clean and the size is ok. We stayed in a room for 3 people. The food is excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very easy access to the slopes via a path outside the ski room. You need to be able to ski down a blue slope to return to the hotel in skis. The owners Margaret and Pascal are very polite and they are doing their best to keep everybody happy. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitsaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ours Blanc

Address: Reberty 2000, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Price Range: £117 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'ours Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering ski in, ski out access, Hotel L’Ours Blanc boasts an ideal situation at an altitude of 2,000 meters on the slopes of the Three Valleys. A chalet style restaurant and terrace with panoramic views. You may work out in the fitness room or relax in the spa with hot tub, steam bath and sauna. Enjoy a before or after diner drink in the spacious lounge with open fire or in the wood decked bar with chimney and mezzanine overlooking the snowcapped summits.Rooms at Hôtel l'Ours Blanc include a balcony, a flat-screen satellite TV and an iPod dock. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. All rooms are accessible by lift, and facilities for disabled guests are available. Free Wi-Fi connections are available throughout the hotel.Skiers will find individual ski lockers and boot-warming facilities.Enjoy creative, authentic and balanced cuisine prepared by Pascal Casali, Maitre Restaurateur, his son Steve and their team, using the finest regional ingredients. Margaret Casali will assure your well being at all times. A la carte specialties and children’s menu.A free shuttle bus service runs from the hotel every 20 minutes to Reberty 1850 and La Croisette. Private outdoor parking is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel L'ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing