We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, perfect service, your home for ski fun !”
Review of Hotel L'ours Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, perfect service, your home for ski fun !”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I want to write a second review because ... after ten years wintersports in this hotel I want to emphasise the warm welcome in this family hotel. I can't understand that some people don't feel the nice viber in this place, but I'm happy there are very few of them ... Yes direct access to the ski tracks, but soooo much more ! The breakfast is very fresh and good. There is always fresh yoghurt and fresh home made fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants, ...everything you want. The diner is a regional menu prepared with care, perfect for a nice evening after a day of ski and fun. Steve, the sun of the family, puts a lot of renewing in the dishes and it's really a very good job from him ! You can also have a nice lunch on the big south terrace, a lot of sun, nice salads (smoked salmon and tartare de boeuf are super!)... it's fantastic !
You have the choice of a lot of rooms, with double bed our twins, family rooms, with south terrace, .... (there are few little rooms with shower, yes, but we take them for the children because they are cheaper ! All the rest of the rooms is very nice and spacious with bath/shower combination...). They also do every year a nice investment to renew a part of the hotel or rooms. And you also have an nice bar, with a fantastic bar keeper...you have the extreme friendly service of Margaret and Pascal, you can always ask them for any help you can think about. So after ten years, I will definitly go back there again next year !!! If you want a nice ski holliday, relax and feeling home, in a perfect location and with a very good breakfast and diner service...this has always been and is still the place to be in Les Menuires !!! Thank you at the nice Casali family !

Room Tip: If you like a nice view and terrace, ask for the south faced rooms. You can also have a family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am really reluctant to talk too highly about this hotel for fear of encouraging the masses. This is a hidden gem. A great location, great hospitality, superb cuisine, lovely views from the terrace and lovely cosy fire place / lounge area. Very conveniently located on the edge of the piste, excellent ski/boot room, if not a little compact - but we were given three lockers for all our gear! I'd go back again if the place wasn't already full for New Year!! Typical. Write a good review and the hotel gets booked up. Lovely hosts, friendly staff always available and ready to please.

Never had such wonderful hospitality. Only one downside, and that is a lack of ability to wonder around a town in the evening, so, no bars or shops nearby, without at least a 15 min walk or 2 min drive.
Simon and Louise Evans

Room Tip: Pick south facing room if available, but the rooms overlooking the car park are still pretty good an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartYah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This family run hotel is excellent. Spacious lounge, bar and sun deck. The bedrooms are not luxurious but adequate.

There is a Spa room with sauna, steam room and loungers.

The dining room is pleasant where the food is well presented and I would say hard to beat.

You can ski from the hotel straight on to the piste.

We have been using the hotel for the last eight year and see no reason to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eos41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Margaret and Pascal Casali and their team in service and kitchen make this hotel very special !
The house is located directly at de ski slope and has a big, sunny terace to the mountains and a great sauna and hammam. The cuisine is excellent and you have a great wine selection.
A place to enjoy and feel well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank franzi707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in March 2014.
The hotel itself is beautiful with a wonderful bar area & cosy lounge. The spa facilities were a great touch & Ski Room was perfect for us. Every member of staff we encountered was wonderful, nothing to much trouble, friendly, chatty, professional & would go far beyond great service without ever needing to be asked. The food was outstanding every night & the lunch time menu had a great choice.
The hotel has access directly onto the slopes which is perfect for long days or to make a quick escape to the warmth of the bar when the snow starts to fall! Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RouteSixtySixGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just spent a week this hotel. We were a group of 15 adults and had an amazing time. You cannot fault anything at the hotel. The service was brilliant and the food fantastic. It is the best place we have stayed on a skiing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyAllen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This charming hotel gets almost everything right. The location with ease of ski in ski out is excellent. Rooms are cute and adequate though certainly not luxurious. Most have beautiful mountain views though.

The cuisine for the most part is very good though as a non meat eater I was left wanting a couple of nights during the week as there are no choices in the evening. Meat is served 6 out of 7 evenings. They did try to accommodate me on most nights with a vegetarian dish or fish but on one night I was only offered a salad as a main dish. Nonetheless the staff are very pleasant and professional. The wine list is complete and reasonably priced for a hotel.

Most guests seem to return year to year and overall the atmosphere of the hotel is very pleasant. There isn't much to do after dinner and possibly offering some activities such as board games in the common room might be nice. We have stayed at other ski hotels that offer a mid day snack with tea or coffee and I think this would be a very nice touch.

The ski resort itself is outstanding and vast though navigating from village to village is really quite easy. As expert skiers we liked Val Thorens the best but there is excellent skiing for all skier levels at all the areas. One would certainly want to spend the bit extra and get the 3 Vallees pass. Renting skis at the hotel's choice of store Absolut Sports was very easy with professional staff and a rental process with ski delivery and pickup at the end of the week that made the whole process a breeze. Kudos to them !

Overall we loved the mountain and the hotel and I would have easily given it a 5 as a rating if it wasn't for the minor improvements I mentioned above.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBMENUIRES, Propriétaire at Hotel L'ours Blanc, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your comments that help us to improve constantly.

Please note that all diets are catered for. Gluten and lactose free or vegetarian dishes are served daily upon request.
On the main menu displayed daily in front of the restaurant we ask for all changes to be made before 5PM at the reception. This set menu does not display a choice. Rather than give a direct choice we prefer to discuss changes with our guests. We have a daily vegetarian dish and a choice of a meat or fish dish. Fresh fish is delivered twice a week. Starter or dessert changes are also available upon request. All changes are free of charge and always possible.

30 board games are available at the reception upon request.

With such competitive prices we do not offer snacks in the afternoon. A welcome drink with homemade pastries is served on Sunday evening and all guests receive a gift in their room upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ours Blanc

Property: Hotel L'ours Blanc
Address: Reberty 2000, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering ski in, ski out access, Hotel L’Ours Blanc boasts an ideal situation at an altitude of 2,000 meters on the slopes of the Three Valleys. A chalet style restaurant and terrace with panoramic views. You may work out in the fitness room or relax in the spa with hot tub, steam bath and sauna. Enjoy a before or after diner drink in the spacious lounge with open fire or in the wood decked bar with chimney and mezzanine overlooking the snowcapped summits.Rooms at Hôtel l'Ours Blanc include a balcony, a flat-screen satellite TV and an iPod dock. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. All rooms are accessible by lift, and facilities for disabled guests are available. Free Wi-Fi connections are available throughout the hotel.Skiers will find individual ski lockers and boot-warming facilities.Enjoy creative, authentic and balanced cuisine prepared by Pascal Casali, Maitre Restaurateur, his son Steve and their team, using the finest regional ingredients. Margaret Casali will assure your well being at all times. A la carte specialties and children’s menu.A free shuttle bus service runs from the hotel every 20 minutes to Reberty 1850 and La Croisette. Private outdoor parking is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing