We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and nice hotel”
Review of Hotel les Bruyeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel les Bruyeres
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

For skiing holidays, this is a good place to stay. Comfortable rooms with a nice balcony and view from the room on the mountains.
Bathroom is comfortable although a little small but hot water service was always ok.
Breakfast offers a good and various choice and is a possible extra to your stay.
Staff was always helpful.
Parking can be a bit difficult in busy holiday season.
A big compliment to the cleaning people, a very good job done!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JochenD140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel les Bruyeres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

in summary
---------------
we enjoyed our stay. the staff was always helpful, friendly and spoke english or found someone who did. we stayed 6 nights; 2 adults, one child in a room on the 5th floor with a nice view of the mountain across the valley.

getting there
----------------
we flew into geneva international and used pre-bought bus tickets on http://www.altibus.com/ to get to les menuires; approximately 3 hours away; i found the bus trip expensive, but it’s really an easier option as a car in les menuires is more of a hassle than it’s worth. les menuires is a group of small villages; la croisette being the main village where the altibus terminates after a bus change in moûtiers. from la croisette we took a free local shuttle to les bruyères, which stops right in front of the hotel entrance, the 2nd stop in les bruyères.

the hotel room
-------------------
very clean, small but suitable and a nice twin bed for a child. it would have been nice if the bed sheets were changed at least once during our 6 night stay; the towels were changed as needed. we probably could have requested the sheet change by phone; the staff was very helpful, giving us an ice pack for an injury and additional ice and dishes for our in home meals.

a funny thing happened on arrival. we were originally given a room on the 3rd floor; when we got there, someone else was already in it! the front desk found us another room on the 5th floor, which was a bit nicer because of the view and being away from the road and restaurant.

nb: reception is on the 9th floor, the slopes are on the 10th floor, the rooms are all below

the sauna/hammam, fitness room
--------------------------------------------
this is not a historical turkish hammam from the ottoman empire or a scandinavian king’s sauna of yesteryear, it’s more like an ikea/home depot installation, so don’t expect anything extremely special. both the steam bath and sauna are small; holding about 4 sitting adults in each and 2 or 3 lying down. it is relaxing, functional and that’s about it. there are 2 showers in the area and a shared fitness area that has a programable bike, step and walking machine.

restaurant
--------------
we didn’t use the restaurant as there were no vegetarian options and we found the €13 breakfast too expensive. it is a nice looking place.

bar
-----
a great relaxing area in front of an open wood burning fireplace, unfortunately, it only opens at about 16:00.

slope access
------------------
there’s a convenient ski room with several lockers, but it is very cramped and allows only one way traffic, so you have to scoot to a side locker area every now and then. still, access to the slopes is a short walk across a wood bridge over the road below and onto the lower slope area.

other restaurants/cafes, baker
---------------------------------------
there is a baker and several restaurants/bars in les bruyères at the bottom of the slopes and even more in the main village, la croisette, which is accessible via the free shuttle - don’t know what time they stop running; we just ate in les bruyères - mostly at crêperie la chouette, which provided a very nice vegetarian option for us upon request. there’s also a great little take-away pizzeria near the candy shop.

ski rentals
--------------
we rented from skiset, friendly staff, decent price, but be careful with the bindings. my skis did not come off when i fell, so i injured my leg. make sure you give your skis a good whack with the other ski to make sure the bindings will release when you fall.

groceries
-------------
there’s a sherpa grocery across the street from the hotel, which is perfect for low budget travel, they even have a few bio items as well as carrefour in la croisette. be careful with returns, the french shop owners are very picky!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The price was unfairly high. Yes, we did get the location right on the slope. But all other features were so poor. For example, there was no parking area around the hotel, spa center had turkish sauna with plastic walls and benches. Classic sauna was so small, so we were able to divide our group into 2 parts. The most "attractive" was service at the reception on the arrival: actually we've got lost on the way to Les Bruyerres, so we were late for the NY dinner. The staff refused to serve something in our room though we were ready to pay for it. When I asked where we can find some food, the answer was: "nowhere, everyhing is closed" (there was a child in our group and I was pregnant, so I didn't expect to hear such an answer). Just few steps from the hotel we've found good pizzeria with fine NY atmosphere.
Breakfasts were the same all the time, so it was very boring to eat eggs and muslie during 8 days. Dinners were different, sometimes tasty and very small for men.
Ski cameras were without heating.
So we'd decided not to come back for skiing to France.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaTyalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. Hotel was very good, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although room/bathroom was a little small (we had a 3rd bed put in), it was really clean and comfortable! Our room had a lovely view towards Val Thorens and the mountains. Parking on the street was ample - it would have been nice though, if there was an entrance on the ground floor so that you don't have to walk all the way up the hill. Having said that, short term parking is available for loading and unloading. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinginTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A really lovely hotel. Nice rooms as per pictures. The staff were very good and always helpful.
We had a crystal rep called James who went the extra mile. The food was excellent every night and always a good selection.
Ski too door was possible, a little slushy in the afternoon, but the sun did shine all day every day.
We ordered ski hire on line with height, weight and shoe size but felt it was pointless as we had to supply all the info again! (Skiset)
One complaint was the coach on arrival would not go up the hill, so we had to cart our cases up quite a steep hill, not a good start to our holiday! Strangely it came up the hill to take us back to the airport!
All in an excellent hotel for a ski trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolwerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a short trip for a group of 80 people and the hotel could not have been better.
Food was great, the staff were excellent, everything was so easy to arrange with them.
You can't beat the ski-in/ski-out location, facilities (bar, boot room, wifi, proximity to all amenities, luggage rooms, meeting rooms with natural daylight). The rooms were lovely, all with mountain views and newly fitted bathrooms, fluffy towels, flat screen tvs and free access to the outdoor heated pool.
I really can't fault this hotel it exceeded all my personal expectations and my 77 colleagues were suitably impressed.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all great with a view & a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy-boarder-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is a great hotel in a great location. I believe it was re-fitted in the last 12 months. The food is excellent ( Buffet style breakfast and table service evening meal ). It has a large comfortable bar. The location is perfect for skiing with skiing straight to the door and easy access to an excellent lift ( about 100m gentle pole ).
The staff are friendly and there is a very very nice sauna / steam room suite which we took full advantage of.
The rooms are very well appointed Vs other ski hotels I have visited. There is a full sized bath and a seperate WC which is a welcome asset. The rooms all have a good balcony and the beds are very comfotable.
If I had to come up with criticism and I agree that its not a fault with the hotel itself, it would be that it is not set in a lively area and that for a "mates" type holiday it is slightly isolated from any lively bars.... Otherwise, I have to give 10/10 and add that traveling with Crystals it was excellent value and zero hastle. I would certainly use this hotel again. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Level 7 is the best as its not directly below the restraunt. Lower levels are a longer lift ride to...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
0.4 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
1.4 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
2.0 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Bruyeres

Address: Quartier Les Bruyeres, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Price Range: £101 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel les Bruyeres 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Olympic Savoy, Les Menuires resort belongs to the famous Three Valleys, the world’s biggest ski area. The wide, perfectly exposed site is very sunny. Les Ménuires is a sports enthusiasts’ and thrill-seekers’ paradise as well as a family resort with many activities for non-skiers. But this friendly, functional place is above all a ski resort where you can literally set off for the slopes with your skis on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel les Bruyeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing