We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and affordable hotel right on the piste”
Review of Clubhotel Piolet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Menuires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Piolet
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab and affordable hotel right on the piste”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We got a late deal through Skibound to this hotel and were not disappointed. It's a fab budget hotel. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and well equipped (e.g. a very modern bathroom and powerful shower). We stayed half board and the food was great (much better than other 3 star catered ski hotels I've stayed in) - there was only one meal I didn't really like and they were very flexible with dietary requirements/allergies etc.
The real selling point is the staff. The manager of the hotel, Chay, could not be more welcoming and helpful - with everything from buses, ski hire advice, planning your day out, where to eat at other resorts etc. All the staff seemed to get on and the hotel had a lovely informal feel to it - everyone stopped to ask you about your day and were genuinely interested in whether their guests were having a good time - It felt like staying with good friends. Our Skibound rep was brilliant - much better than service we've had from other company reps on previous ski holidays.
The location is perfect if you want to get a good night's sleep and get to the lifts early. It's a couple of minutes walk from the other hotels and bars so there isn't too much noise and you can ski right onto a green piste from the ski locker at the back of the hotel.
And of course the ski-ing in the 3 valleys is fantastic :-)
I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room (although all have lovely views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munkigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Spent a week at the Piolet a warm welcome on arrival. Room was basic but comfortable and clean great view from balcony. Food was excellent. Great atmosphere staff very friendly and helpfull. Hotel was in a great location you could ski in and out of the back door. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room at front of Hotel has view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have recently returned from taking a large school party to the Piolet Hotel.
As party leader, my room was "perked out" with a coffee machine, fridge, docking station and top notch comfy bedding. The rooms were ideal for our large party as we occupied the very unique and comfortable mezanine rooms.
The food was excellent. The kids' menu was superb and the staff's 3 course menu every night could have been served at any reputable restaurant (the duck was my favourite).
The staff bent over backwards for us and anything we asked for we got - including asking them to change the number of beds in two rooms on the day before our arrival.
The apres ski programme offered to us during our stay was whacky and kept the kids entertained every night.
Even though this hotel is part of a chain of hotels, the manager Chay runs this hotel with a "family" feel - friendly and very efficient.
Our party have already booked again for next year to make it 3 in a row. The doorstep skiing is ideal and the skiing would rival anywhere.
I would recommend this hotel to any teacher or group leader taking a large group to the French Alps.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fasty_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

At this hotel for a week food very basic mostly English food poorly cooked meat very tough. soups very very peppery food not really thought out salads pasta couscous very regular on menu not up to standard some staff better than others not really value for money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've stayed here 3 times in total, each time i have stayed with my school.
The rooms and food are very basic, but the staff are a joy, and really make you feel at home.
they have a set menu, and plenty of entertainment such as a town trail, bowling, karaoke and much more.
they provide breakfast, lunch and dinner. there is a bar, but it is quite expensive. the hotel is just a small walk away from the local super maket, so it is cheaper to go there, however you cannot eat or drink food you haven't purchased from the bar in the lobby,so you would have to eat or drink the things in your room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank appletree281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

this hotel is managed by a young english family and all the staff are english,ecellent food with a glass of wine. Les Menuries is very popular with school partys and i can see why, excellent piests with loads of off piste fun.there is a new luxury indoor pool / spa in the resort a bit pricy at 11 euro but worth it. i would recomend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetski7230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

After booking this hotel at the last minute and then reading the reviews, myself and my group of friends weren’t really sure what to expect as there were some bad reviews of this place. However once we had arrived, we couldn’t believe the value for money we had received from this Hotel.

The Staff
The hotel is run by a young family who were passionate about skiing and the area. They were always happy to help and point you in the direction of where the best places were to visit at the most competitive prices.
The rest of the staff were extremely helpful and always had a smile on their faces.

The Food
Even as a very fussy eater I couldn’t fault the 3 course meals which were served every night. After a long day skiing the meals were plentiful and cooked to a high standard. The meals were also served very efficiently which was important when you’re so hungry after skiing.

The Hotel
The hotel was very clean and had all the facilities you could ask for. There was always hot water and the room were extremely warm. There was also a tech room where you could hire skis from and get advice if you needed it. There was also a decent size bar and lounge area which served very competitively priced drinks which is an anomaly in a ski resort.

After 5 skiing holidays this hotel has definitely been the best place I have stayed and the value for money it offers is unbelievable. If you’re a person that wants the world for ‘nowt’ then this probably isn’t the place for you but for those looking to stop in one of the best ski areas in Europe, in a good hotel that offers good food and friendly staff then Hotel Piolet is absolutely ideal.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gazroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Menuires hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Piolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Piolet

Property: Clubhotel Piolet
Address: La Croisette, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Piolet Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing