We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School trip”
Review of Clubhotel Piolet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Menuires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Piolet
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“School trip”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have just returned from a school trip over half term ,we stayed at the Piolet. The hotel was clean and warm. I shared a decent sized room with four friends it was warm, comfortable and had great views of the slopes. Breakfast and lunch were tasty and filling but the dinners a little bland. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was just a short walk into the town. An ideal venue for school trips. Even the teachers seemed to enjoy it !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Piolet over Christmas 2012 and found it to be a perfectly acceptable base to explore the 3 valleys area.

The Piolet is used for the majority of the year to cater for school parties, however this does not mean it is a 'children' only hotel, families and couples are very well looked after.

So, to the basics :-

Food :- the majority of meals were very good and importantly, plentiful.

Room :- basic, clean and a reasonable size with plenty of storage space.

Ski :- the boot room is large if a bit smelly, 25m from the piste. The in house equipment team are excellent.

Lounge area :- acceptable size and standard, with free wifi for all internet addicts and also large screen uk tv.

Staff :- From the manager Chay down, we found all staff to be very helpfull, efficient and keen. Lots of other hotels i've stayed in in the Alps could learn from them. Well done.

If you want 5* luxury the piolet is not for you, however if you want an affordable, friendly and clean hotel in the heart of the 3 valleys then the Piolet is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ricslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Just returned from a school trip as a member of staff. Party included 108 children and 16 adults. Hotel was an excellent location with ski in and out and a large boot room.
Ski bound staff were brilliant with Molly and Hannah our reps in particular providing round the clock service and excellent entertainment for the children.

The hotel manager went above and beyond to make sure our stay was good, even cooking some of the meals himself when the head chef was off.

The three meals a day were very good, plenty of food and variety throughout the week served efficiently especially considering the numbers.

The hotel had a good amount of social space for the students and staff.

Would recommend this hotel and resort for any ski break and in particular school parties.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joburts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Read previous reviews and thought that this would be a reasonable club hotel. Found this was not the case, food was poor and must have been produce on a very limited budget. Staff were on the whole poorly trained and seemed at times at a lose of what was required.Room was the most basic I have ever come across and on the first night found the radiator turn of and cold. The bed as I found out is very narrow due to this hotel being use by school children for most of the season. Only plus point was the ski in and out location.
This hotel is run by TUI under the skibound branding and I would expect better.

Room Tip: Would avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigvern001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

It's all about expectations. I visited this hotel in March 2012 and there was good and bad.

The good:
- it was a very cheap group deal, and you get what you pay for
- fair location, with easy ski out and ok ski in. It's located on a short run from the village centre to some key lifts, behind the hotels, so gets very busy when the ski-schools start, but not for long
- decent English staff - friendly if ill-trained
- clean and newish bathroom, if you ignore what was in the bottom of the platsic base holding the toilet brush (sorry, but it's true)

The bad:
- this is not really a hotel, it's a hostel, with a bar. It's clearly used to catering for school groups and didn't have the competence to cope with a group of largely professional adults
- the room was old and the carpet must have seen a lot over the years, and the bed was small'ish
- the food ranged from just-about edible to absolutely awful. On our first night we had a tasteless pasta dish with chicken chinks that would have broken a window, and mid-week we had a sort of rice dish that would have hung wallpaper. A friend of mine even held the plate upside down over someone's head and it didn't even look like coming off the plate. We had a couple of ok meals but you sort of lose trust in what you're eating after a while. Salads were simply plonked on the plates with the food
- breakfast was fine, with reconstituted juices and pastries etc.

Having said that
- our tour operator told me that some people said they liked the food, but then again ....
- I've had a fab holiday with great company, and I'd do it all again tomorrow!
- if I was a teacher taking kids away, I'd definitely use this 'hotel'
- Les Menuires isn't great, and neither is Val Thorens, but the skiing is simply awsome, for all ages and abilities. My advice would be to stay higher up at Val Thorens itself but make sure you are definitely ski-in and ski-out. And if you can afford a decent hotel, do it!

Nick

Room Tip: Find a nice hotel :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick Natalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We got a late deal through Skibound to this hotel and were not disappointed. It's a fab budget hotel. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and well equipped (e.g. a very modern bathroom and powerful shower). We stayed half board and the food was great (much better than other 3 star catered ski hotels I've stayed in) - there was only one meal I didn't really like and they were very flexible with dietary requirements/allergies etc.
The real selling point is the staff. The manager of the hotel, Chay, could not be more welcoming and helpful - with everything from buses, ski hire advice, planning your day out, where to eat at other resorts etc. All the staff seemed to get on and the hotel had a lovely informal feel to it - everyone stopped to ask you about your day and were genuinely interested in whether their guests were having a good time - It felt like staying with good friends. Our Skibound rep was brilliant - much better than service we've had from other company reps on previous ski holidays.
The location is perfect if you want to get a good night's sleep and get to the lifts early. It's a couple of minutes walk from the other hotels and bars so there isn't too much noise and you can ski right onto a green piste from the ski locker at the back of the hotel.
And of course the ski-ing in the 3 valleys is fantastic :-)
I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room (although all have lovely views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munkigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Spent a week at the Piolet a warm welcome on arrival. Room was basic but comfortable and clean great view from balcony. Food was excellent. Great atmosphere staff very friendly and helpfull. Hotel was in a great location you could ski in and out of the back door. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room at front of Hotel has view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Menuires hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Piolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Piolet

Property: Clubhotel Piolet
Address: La Croisette, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Piolet Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing