We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clubhotel Piolet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Menuires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Piolet
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we wanted”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I can only echo the previous reviewers comments. For the price you pay you don't expect 5* luxury but what you do get is the perfect location for a fab weeks skiing holiday with friendly staff and great food. There were three adults in our party and we had a great room with lots of space. There were a group of school children there whilst we were there but they were very well behaved - a credit to their school. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, breakfast was standard, evening meal was great, three courses and wine - more than we expected. Location was great, ski in ski out and close to the main area. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and we didn't feel the need to venture out in the evenings because the bar here was perfect for what we wanted after a great days skiing, good value drinks and they even put a quiz on and a special meal at the end of the week for the adults which was great fun. Cannot fault Chay and his staff for their hospitality. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skutler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We (3 x 28yr old lads) stayed in the Hotel Feb 2013 (meant to write on here but never got around to it). Its all about expectations, If you book a cheap holiday you get what you expect. The difference with the Clubhotel Piolet is the people who run and maintain it. Chay who manages the hotel with the help of his family, is a great host who makes you feel more than welcome. It makes for a very relaxed environment, The staff where all a great help often stopping to speak with you for a good ten minutes, just to get to know you.

The Hotel has two school groups in and 2-3 large families and a few small groups in when we stayed. yes at night the Kids did run about playing and at meal times it wasnt the quietest of places to eat. But for us, it was perfect. We wanted a place that we could use as a pit stop in the day and a place to collapse at night and this ticks all the box's. You can go out in Val thorens if you fancy a midnight Ski down to the village (probably not wise) or spend the day in the folie douce and get back to Les Menuires with ease.

In short: Its not glamorous but its very welcoming, very homely/Relaxed and a sociable environment with great access to the slopes (ski in and out) and into town.

Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATKCREATIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from a week skiing with a school group. Found Hannah to be very competent; Chay to be a really good manager, happy to speak to everyone and ensure things were running smoothly. He even took an hour out of his day to take me skiing after I missed an afternoon ski lesion due to looking after an ill pupil. That's service. Rest of the young staff were a credit and the chef produced fabulous food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aaflyer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have just returned from a school ski trip with 66 students and 8 staff. I have stayed at Le Piolet countless times but the sfatt this time went above and beyond to accommodate all our needs. Chay is a fantastic manager and this results in his Staff, Nicki, Matt, Hannah and Molly especially being willing to work extremely hard and go the extra mile for the guests. The snow was awesome, kids enjoyed themselves and staff were able to supervise the students with back up from the staff. We had a couple of students sick and the staff looked after them, cooked separate food, checked on them regularly etc even though we had staff left in the hotel to supervise the girls.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellasanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have just returned from a school trip over half term ,we stayed at the Piolet. The hotel was clean and warm. I shared a decent sized room with four friends it was warm, comfortable and had great views of the slopes. Breakfast and lunch were tasty and filling but the dinners a little bland. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was just a short walk into the town. An ideal venue for school trips. Even the teachers seemed to enjoy it !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Piolet over Christmas 2012 and found it to be a perfectly acceptable base to explore the 3 valleys area.

The Piolet is used for the majority of the year to cater for school parties, however this does not mean it is a 'children' only hotel, families and couples are very well looked after.

So, to the basics :-

Food :- the majority of meals were very good and importantly, plentiful.

Room :- basic, clean and a reasonable size with plenty of storage space.

Ski :- the boot room is large if a bit smelly, 25m from the piste. The in house equipment team are excellent.

Lounge area :- acceptable size and standard, with free wifi for all internet addicts and also large screen uk tv.

Staff :- From the manager Chay down, we found all staff to be very helpfull, efficient and keen. Lots of other hotels i've stayed in in the Alps could learn from them. Well done.

If you want 5* luxury the piolet is not for you, however if you want an affordable, friendly and clean hotel in the heart of the 3 valleys then the Piolet is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ricslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Just returned from a school trip as a member of staff. Party included 108 children and 16 adults. Hotel was an excellent location with ski in and out and a large boot room.
Ski bound staff were brilliant with Molly and Hannah our reps in particular providing round the clock service and excellent entertainment for the children.

The hotel manager went above and beyond to make sure our stay was good, even cooking some of the meals himself when the head chef was off.

The three meals a day were very good, plenty of food and variety throughout the week served efficiently especially considering the numbers.

The hotel had a good amount of social space for the students and staff.

Would recommend this hotel and resort for any ski break and in particular school parties.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joburts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Menuires hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Isatis
Chalet-Hotel Isatis
#7 of 27 in Les Menuires
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Piolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Piolet

Property: Clubhotel Piolet
Address: La Croisette, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Piolet Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing