We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice residence but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Reviewed 3 January 2014

positive aspects:
- beautiful residence. A nice set of typical buildings
- very welcoming and professional staff
- spacious apartment
- meticulous decoration

negative aspects (possible progress):
- lounge bedding not usable by an adult (like a soap box)
- some apartments are located at the ground zero with a very cold floor
- no dishwasher

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed here many times and find the accomodation very agreeable. It is located at the beggining of Les Menuires (le bettex end). The walk to town is 15 minutes up hill, which i tend to do after skiing if weather permits. There is a shuttle which should run every 15 minutes or so, it is genrally quite reliable but i have waited for up to 30 minutes for it sometimes, often i have started walking and caught the bus on the way anyway. Some drivers will stop for you wherever and pick you up, although this is hit and miss as i think they are only supposed to stop at the official stops. Ski Access to the main slopes is fairly easy, but you'll need to do a little walk up a slope to get to a position to put skis on. The TV used to have more english channels but now has BBC world and one sport channel if i remember right, so we bring our Laptop with films on it incase we choose to stay in. The apartments are warm and the one beds rarely need more than one heater on before it is nice an toasty. The balconies are generous and some have spectacular views down the valley towards St Martin. The swimming pool is on the small side for lengths but is ok, and after skiing and on bad weather days it gets busy, as they do everywhere in ski resorts. The gym has 5/6 pieces of equipment, but is rarely used so there is no waiting. The there are two steam rooms and two saunas, sometimes they are all on, but sometimes not. Ask at reception if you would like more turned on. Wifi is free but is at reception only. There is a option to use resort wifi in your room but it is very expensive at 6 euros a day so it is probably cheaper using the phone network for small amounts of browsing. Ski Lockers provided are easy to access and are of a reasonable size. There are lifts and stairs to all floors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shortyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment knowing it would be crampt and knowing it was going to be a test on all of us - all four of us! We were two couples and decided to split the week into two - we got the bedroom at the end of the week (which I think was the better option). There is only one wardrobe, but you don't need to hang alot of clothes up and there are plenty of other hooks and curtain rails to dry wet trousers and jackets etc. As I said, we new it would be a tight squeeze, but we coped by being as tidy as possible and good friends.

The apartments themselves were impressive - fully equipped with everything that you need and some extra bonuses (they have egg cups and a salad spinner). I thought the apartments were well decorated in the style of a chalet and the fact that you have the facilities of a sauna, steam room, gym and swimming pool (even though a little cold at first), made it all the better. The fact that we could get out of the apartment and enjoy it's facilities was wonderful. The recption staff were really friendly and spoke good English. You could even order fresh bread and sandwiches etc for the next day and they will deliver to your door early morning - Excellant!

The location is pretty good - we didn't have a view as we were on the ground floor, but meant that we could hop over the terrace to the restaurant or slopes. To get to the piste it is an uphill walk (a little tiring first thing), but then it's all downhill from there. You can ski down to where you start from or catch the Bettex lift back up to the complex (this closes at 5:20pm).

There is a decent restauant close by that also sells takeaway pizzas and fresh bread in the mornings and there is a shop about 5-10 mins walk next to the petrol station.

We didn't need to use to ski shop close by as we all had our own equipment - we were all impressed that the locker room was coded and we had a large locker for which we had a key (so really secure).

Overall we all had a great holiday, Les Menuires is a super resort with fab runs and lifts (far much better than the expensive neighboured resorts).

I would go back, but maybe not as a four (hopefully we can afford a 2 bedroom next time),

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Booked a last minute half term week for myself, hubbi, son age 16 & daughter 13 with crystal. Cystal were great & we were the 1st drop off. Transfer was about 2 hours.
We were changed £8pp for towels & offered the tv for a rental price of £40 which we declined. Re epitome staff are very friendly & speak good English. Wifi in reception only which can get quite busy.
We had booked a one bedroomed apartment. Which we quickly changed to a two bedroomed as there was no way the children could sleep on the bed settee or the pull out bed as they were tiny. Plus only one wardrobe for four. Also you have to make the beds. Main bedroom had an extra shower room but the small single beds were tiny.
There is a ski set ski rental next to the reception. Per book & there are lots of voucher codes on line.
Ski in & out is great But lift don't open till 9am so this could be a problem if you need to get to ski school - not suitable for beginners.. There is a ski room & everyone gets there own lockable cupboard. We took our boots to the room as it isn't heated.
We are experienced skiers & we skied over to Meribel & val thorens les menuires is a great ski area. it was feb half term & the most we queued for the lifts was 6 minutes.
There is one restaurant next to the hotel which is ok. We went there once & ordered takeaway pizzas another. There is a spar in the garage which is a 5 min walk up the hill- sells everything.Buses to town run every 20mins up hill. We walked back the two nights we went into town. Best restaurant on the mountain is The grand lac. Went there most days. Restaurant seems to be the same menu everywhere you go.
On check out you have to strip the beds & clean the apartment or you are charged.
This is an ok apartment for what we paid. Says 4 star but more like 3.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paxton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were staying here in January 2013 having decent vacations until our brand new skis were stolen from ski locker at apartments. We went to local Police, report everything, report everything at front desk and recieved no support from staff. They just said that we should have our skis insured and they can not cover it... So we lost 600EUR on skis and they didn't make any compensation to us.

Really not professional from their side, I am never comming back ant to all who are - be sure to insure every propoerty you have there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked via Crystal and arrived around 3pm which I thought was going to be a problem after some of the reviews saying we couldn't get in until 5pm, but we were allowed straight up to the apartment. There were 6 of us in our party, 4 adults and 2 children, (2 and 13 years old.) The apartment given to us was only had 1 bathroom and was right at the top of the building, with the lift stopping at the floor below. To say it was a squeeze would be an understatement, and very inconvenient with a pushchair. However, the next morning, we find keys to another apartment in the post rack with our name on. On investigation, this one was much larger and had 2 bathrooms, so we asked to move and it was agreed we could do. Our name is very rare indeed, but we were then told that we had to clean the apartment we left and ensure it was ready for the new arrivals, (I don't know if they ever turned up!)
I will base the review on the 2nd apartment from now on.
The pros:
Clean, nice apartment, spacious if there are only 4 of you. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers, lots of crockery and cutlery, though tiny glasses which aren't ideal, but very French according to our rep.
The location is good if you ski, it is practically ski in. ski out if your boot room is near the slope next to the chairlift which ours was - a different building to our accommodation.
There was a problem with the Bettex chairlift towards the end of the week, so we had to get the free bus back from the Gare Routiere at La Croisette which is no big deal really, though it did get busy from 5ish. The bus stops at the top of the very steep slope to the apartments.
The staff I dealt with seemed friendly enough and the check-in receptionist was very polite and knowledgeable. Didn't have anything much to do with them as we were out all day, but my parents didn't have any problems.
Beds were OK, if a little slender. I usually don't have any problems sleeping anyway after a day of skiing, I have trouble staying up til 10pm most nights!
The cons:
The first apartment mix-up, but that was apparently Crystal Ski's fault for not telling them we had a child and wanted 2 bathrooms - I shall ask directly next time.
We booked these apartments partly because they had an indoor swimming pool which we thought would be nice after a day's skiing, and also great entertainment for my parents and my 2-year-old. Unfortunately, due to the temperature of the pool, they only went once, as did my husband, daughter and I. It was freezing! The foot bath was even worse, so even before you'd be fully submerged, you'd caught a chill.
Something to watch with small children is the amount of dog poo there is everywhere around the complex. This is something we've noticed in a lot of French resorts, but that doesn't make it right! The staff should ensure it is cleaned up.
My father also fell over on some of the ice which was piled up on some of the major walkways around the apartment buildings. There was no attempt to clear it by the staff and even though you had to walk over it to get to some of the apartment entrances, no one seemed bothered. My father has osteoporosis, so this could have been catastrophic for him.
We ordered the baby kit for my 2-year-old which included a high chair and a cot bed. (God knows where he would have had to sleep if we didn't have that!) The first one which was delivered only 3 sides clicked into place, but because reception was closed by the time we realised, we had to make do with it. The next day we asked for another which was promptly delivered after the reception had closed again, and this one was even worse! 3 sides didn't work, so was more dangerous than the first one. Reception was closed, so I ended up calling the Crystal rep who very promptly delivered us another one from the Niege et Ciel hotel (same chain) which actually worked. He even brought sheets and blanket which came with it apparently at the hotel, no such luxury at the apartments, even though we'd paid extra for bedding and cleaning!
The wifi is only available in the reception area, or in a little foyer just to the side of the reception doors after hours - it was freezing, so take a coat! Bit disappointed we couldn't have paid extra to have it in our room, but not an option. It is free, but has some serious drawbacks.
They wanted 40 euros for the telly - what a rip off! We didn't bother, I didn't ask how many English channels I would get for that, but previous reviews told me all I needed to know.

Overall, we had a positive experience, but the dog poo, icy paths and freezing swimming pool put me off necessarily booking there again. If the price is right though, I might put up with it for a brilliant resort.

Room Tip: Ring them to ask for a room with lift access if you have a young child, and if there are 6 people sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClareMNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We came back here for the second year in a row. This year we went for the two bedroom option which gives more space than the one bedroom appartment. I would recommend this option if there are more than 3 of you.

The appartments are fine for a ski holiday. Ours was clean, warm and had all the equipment necessary. As mentioned the reception is not the most welcoming/efficent but we didn't have any problems.

Once you get to know the place the location is fine. There is a free bus up to the centre which is regular if not always on time. Altenatively it's a about a 15 minute walk.

The appartments are almost ski in/ski out with a short climb in the morning to get up to the slope to take you to the chairlift. The return at night via the Bettix chair is pretty much back to the door.

We hired skis etc from the Skimium shop nearby but not within the actual appartmnet grounds. Good price and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ochust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
1.4 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#2 of 27 in Les Menuires
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Menuire Chalet Hotel & Spa
Le Menuire Chalet Hotel & Spa
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 28 in Val Thorens
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles

Address: Centre station, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Les Menuires
Price Range: £73 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the largest ski area in the world! At the heart of the 3 valleys, the resort of Les Ménuires will seduce you with the beauty of the surrounding countryside. You will be enchanted by your accommodation in the typical Savoyard style located close to numerous activities. The Belambra apartments are cosy and functional so that your holiday in the mountains offers you the wellness and relaxation you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau Des Airelles Hotel Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing