We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in the Alps” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Menuire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Menuire
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Arrived last Saturday, sadly leaving tomorrow. The hotel first... Staff are excellent, friendly and welcoming. Receptionists are very informative, the waiting staff in the restaurant are very efficient and friendly and the barman makes the best mojitos! The food is quite simply excellent... 5 courses a night is quite something and all to a food standard. The standard of the hotel is good, the room we had was clean and quiet, on the third floor. The boot room is sufficient and convenient for the slopes. The hotel doesn't list itself as ski in and out, but this is actually the case... You might have to walk about 20 yards to get going and cross a road to get back, but hardly a problem. The location is ideal for the 3 Valleys area, we skied almost everywhere and it is great quality runs, snow and lunching points! Expect to pay on the mountain, but it shouldn't be a surprise.
Overall, having stayed at several resorts in the alps, this is the only one we'd return to. And soon hopefully.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattt782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    53
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel greets you at the entrance to Les Menuires. Booked through Neilson, it is very popular and has a lot of returning guests. Very good rep as well in the form of Simon. Very professional and helpful.

Breakfast is good, consisting of cereals, bread, cheese, toast, eggs, bacon and pastries, usual continental fayre. Served between 8 and 9.30 a.m. Evening meal (7-8.30 p.m) consists of 5 courses, soup, starter, main, cheese board, sweet, with two evenings dedicated to Savoyard menu. The food was excellent, very well cooked and presented. Service was also very good, and even when busy it didn’t falter.

There is also a nice bar/lounge area, with open fire, a large screen for those wanting to watch the football..etc. Waffles are also available to order.
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel at a fee, we bought a 24hour card for 10 euros.

Attached to the hotel is a small spa, swimming pool/steam room. Very small gym. Towels provided, as well as robes (40 euro refundable deposit for robes). Disposable flip flops are available for 2 euros. You can also order cocktails from the barmen by pressing a button. Massages are also available at extra cost.

Boot room is ok, individual lockers for skis, and heated boot rack.

Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. It was a room for 3, with a balcony. Although we weren’t able to sit on the balcony, as the snow was melting on the roof, so it was constantly dripping water onto our balcony, which was a shame,a s we had a nice mountain view. There is a TV in the the room, hairdryer, a few small items of toiletries, plenty of towels, and added bonus, ability to adjust the heating in the room. Most hotel rooms can get very warm. Nice and quiet at night. Bed was extremely comfortable.

The base of the skiing is about 200m away, but you are able to ski down to the nearest piste from the side of the hotel, along a path, snow permitting. Coming back is via a green run Violette, along a little ‘rat run’ past the Red Dragon Chinese (which does a very nice lunch), and this brings you out opposite the hotel. Again ‘snow permitting. Ski bus also stops outside the hotel.

Les Menuires isn’t the prettiest resort, a lot of 1960’s high rise architecture, which does have an ‘ugliness about it, but this hotel certainly did make up for that. It was a good find. Great food, friendly and very professional staff, and very nice hosts.

Room Tip: room 115, very sunny, mountain view and at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I wanted to go somewhere a little more special than the normal self catering apartment for our honeymoon - so I saw this hotel in the Neilson brochure - what a find!

Manu and Roxanne give you a very warm welcome (and a lovely cocktail on the house) when you arrive.

The room we had was lovely.

Spa was as good as perfect - the only issue we had was that the sauna was a bit cozy (4/5 people max) but they are extending this in the next year or so).

Ski in/out has had various reports in other reviews...Basically you walk out of the (heated) boot/locker room and then walk around 50m to the back of the carpark then you can just ski down to the Tourtolette chair lift which then drops you in the main Croissette area. Coming home you whizz down the Violette green, hang a right passed the Red Dragon - scoot 100m and you come out opposite the hotel. Not quite ski in/out but as near as damn it.

Food was excellent - almost too much most nights. Service very good. Food tasted great. Didn't try the wine so I can't comment on that.

Les Menuires is a great area to explore the 3V's. We set off one morning from Les Menuires and we were in Courchevel 1650 2 hours 30 later (we are not quick skiers).

We travelled with Neilson. The package they put together is very good - Flights, Transfers, Hotel, Ski Pass. Simon (our rep) was a legend and genuinely seemed to want us to have a great holiday - this guy needs some uber recognition!

The only issue we had with the whole holiday was Grenoble Airport. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! This useless heap of a so called airport is not fit for purpose on a change over day. Pay some extra and fly into Geneva/Chambery or just fill your shoes with pins and walk from the UK - it will be more pleasant.

Overall, if you want an epic hotel/ski base for the 3V's you cannot beat this combo and if you get Simon as your Rep from Neilson then you will have an even better week!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poz260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in lots of hotels in the alps over the last ten years and I love this place. A group of work colleagues and myself have stayed here for the last three years. It's difficult to get beds for 14 adult males for 5 nights during the ski season but the hotel has worked hard to accommodate us. We usually take the two family apartments and a couple of rooms and with a bit of flexibility we are always very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent consisting of cereals, bread, cheese, toast, eggs, bacon and pastries. More than enough fuel for a hard days skiing. The nearest piste is about three hundred metres away but can be reached by walking 50m and skiing the rest of the way on a footpath. Returning is similarly easy as there is road run that ends just across the road from the hotel.

They recently built a swimming pool/spa/sauna complex which is brilliant for tired legs at the end of the day and I find twenty minutes in the jacuzzi helped my stiff legs no end. There is a masseuse available if you feel like splashing the cash in a treatment.

The bar has a large log fire and is great place for a few drinks before dinner. The evening meal is usually five courses, soup, starter, main course, cheese board and a sweet. With two options for starter and main course. You my burn a few thousand calories on the slopes but you definitely won't lose any weight. My personal high point was a delicious rack of lamb but they also did an excellent tartiflette. None of our party was vegetarian so I have no experience of how they would cope but I'm sure it wouldn't be a huge problem for them.

We usually dined late and were almost always the last to leave the bar but we were never pressurised to hurry up and the staff indulged the 14 middle aged Brits with good humour and good service.

On our last day we usually finish skiing late and they store our luggage and allow us the use of the spa complex to shower and change. Les Menuires may not be the liveliest resort in the alps but if you just want a no hassle skiing session then this is the hotel for you. Ideal for Families and couples.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Welshrugbyfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at le menuire over last christmas.

This a wonderful family run hotel. It sets the standard for a boutique, non-chain hotel.

The Martinez (the owners) offer an exceptional, super friendly and professional service. Just ask and they will help you with anything (recommendations for ski spots, restaurants, change in room conditions, etc...). We felt welcomed warmly at every minute.

It is also clear that the owners have groomed their staff in the same mold. Just ask Arnaud, the awesome waiter who greets you with a big smile at every meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We have had a brilliant stay over new year 2012. The hotel has a great family run ethos, with every guest well cared for. The staff are all very helpful, all the team at hotel le menuire made our stay brilliant. Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matlamb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staff are so happy and friendly. Rooms cleaned everyday. Spa is as lovely as it look in the pictures, so nice for aching bones. We are booking again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
1.2 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
2.9 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Menuire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Menuire

Property: Hotel le Menuire
Address: Les Menuires Centre, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Les Menuires
#3 Luxury Hotel in Les Menuires
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Menuires
#4 Romantic Hotel in Les Menuires
#5 Family Hotel in Les Menuires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Menuire 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our chalet Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the <<3 vallees>> skiing area. You will enjoy our warm and friendly welcome as well as our ideal location close to the runs. We have a direct access to the world most extensive skiing area with 600 km runs : link to Val Thorens, Meribel, Courchevel, la Tania and Saint Martin de Belleville. For your convenience, our Chalet is located 250m away from the center, the shops and sport center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel le Menuire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing