We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best ski hotel we have ever stayed in!!”
Review of Hotel le Menuire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Menuire
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We cannot fault this hotel. The owners, Roxanne and Emmanuel, are absolutely charming and completely devoted to making your stay perfect in every way. They employ a dynamic and dedicated team (many of whom they told us have been with them for some years) who just can't do enough for you. They are polite and respectful, yet very friendly and attentive to your needs.

The hotel is spotlessly clean - the public areas are well decorated and bright. A log fire is lit every night in the bar and there is a large projected tv screen for those who want to watch it - but, not at all intrusive and at very low volume.

The restaurant is spacious (not like some ski hotels, where you are almost sitting on top of other people) and the tables well presented. The restaurant is extremely well run - again, friendly and polite service. No rush. Last orders at about 8.30pm, but if you are slightly late, no worries. The food is exquisite. Five courses every night. Soup, a choice of two starters, a choice of two main courses, copious cheeseboard and dessert. Local wines are on the wine list and are fabulous. The food is all prepared by the hotel's chef (no boil in the bag like we had in Italy last year!) and is presented like a work of art. Varied menu over the week - including a couple of local speciality dishes on special evenings. We did not feel the need to go out to eat at all in the evenings. Instead we spent every evening over a long, relaxing dinner.

The room we had was large, clean and perfectly adequate. Maybe a little dated in decor, but the owners are aware of that - as indeed they are aware of the lack of shower curtains!! They explained that they are gradually refurbishing the rooms - one quarter of them each year. They would rather wait and do everything properly.

We would make a point of going back to Hotel Le Menuire. Apart from the excellent skiing we had (by the way, guest at this hotel can leave their equipment at Twinner Sport if you hire from there. This makes it really easy to walk the 5 - 7 mins from the hotel every day and then put on your boots and collect your skis right next to the slopes) the quality of this hotel really made our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2007

My wife and I very much enjoyed our week's skiing holiday at the Hotel Le Menuire. It's a five minute walk or a free bus ride to the nearest piste, although I believe it's possible to ski from the hotel when the snow is deeper. The hotel room was of a perfectly adequate size for two; three might be a little more squashed. The bathroom was especially good, with a full-size tub as well as a shower (albeit with the usual French problem of having no shower curtain!). Although our room faced the main road, traffic was light and the balcony doors sealed out all noise. The view on our side was not that special - a lay-by coach park - but views from the other side, including the dining room, look across the valley to the mountains opposite. Perhaps worth requesting a room on that side of the hotel?! The only criticism of the room was an intermittent humming from the floor above - presumably a bathroom extractor fan which the occupants left on for much of the night.

The couple who run the hotel are extremely friendly - our Thomas Cook flight broke down so we arrived at 2am in the morning, but they kindly left plates of cold food out for us. The restaurant food was excellent - guests have a choice of two starters (one of them soup), two main courses, a cheese course, and dessert. Twice a week there is the option of a local speciality (e.g. cheese fondue). There is also an a la carte option for a supplement, which we didn't try but which looked fantastic. Wine is extra and there was no particularly cheap house option. Waiters were friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was quite adequate, although lacked anything hot other than boiled eggs. I was also disappointed by the lack of pain au chocolat!

The bar area is homely, although there is a large projection TV which rather spoiled it for us. There are two games areas (darts, pool, table football) and a jacuzzi and sauna. The resort of Les Menuires is rather spread out and is not noted for its night life. We stayed in the hotel every evening; however there are some bars a few minutes' walk away.

The skiing is great, although conditions were not perfect when we were there (cloud and snow). Getting over to Meribel and then to Courchevel was a little tedious, with quite long queues in the morning. Personally, I prefer Courchevel's wide-open ski areas, but there is plenty of good skiing in Les Menuire and Val Thorens.

Overall: a friendly hotel in a good location. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TimOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La vue côté montagne est magique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Loïc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Menuires hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#5 of 27 in Les Menuires
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
1.0 mi away
Le Chalet du Mont Vallon Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Menuire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Menuire

Address: Les Menuires Centre, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Les Menuires
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Menuires
#4 Luxury Hotel in Les Menuires
#4 Romantic Hotel in Les Menuires
#5 Family Hotel in Les Menuires
Price Range: £179 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Menuire 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our chalet Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the> skiing area. You will enjoy our warm and friendly welcome as well as our ideal location close to the runs. We have a direct access to the world most extensive skiing area with 600 km runs : link to Val Thorens, Meribel, Courchevel, la Tania and Saint Martin de Belleville. For your convenience, our Chalet is located 250m away from the center, the shops and sport center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel le Menuire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing