We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaya Chalet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Very well located, nice architecture and design.
The rooms are big, but always a problem: never clean. What a shame for a 4stars hotel!!! indeed during all our stay: the cleaning service never cleaned under the beds, in the corners.
The rooms are very too warm, even if you turn off the heaters! No AC.
So for people who have blood pressure troubles: good luck, as you will need to open the windows to have fresh and cool air in your room.
The hotel really need to do something with that, as it is not a new problem, and people already complain about that, but it seems that they really don't care about that and think that the clients say stupid complains.

The service at the Bar was great, thanks to the waiter from Marseille who speaks English!!!!
At the Restaurant: for the lunch: the choice is great and good.
For the dinner: they have improved since last year: they have now a menu for Kids. But they have to improve!!! Do you think a kid can enjoy old vegetables???? not so sure... make it simple with fresh vegetables.
No choice in the menu for dinner: if you want it light..... impossible: Why don't you offer the client the same choice as for the lunch???? Don't forget the Client!!!
The service: Manon was really great and thank you for your service.
As for the rest of the team: good! except one waiter: What a shame!!!!!!! The guy was not clean, doing nothing, except moving, runnning......Please you have to train your staff.
The cuisine is good, and the breakfast is great.
Spa is very nice and the staff too

This is the second time we stayed at Kaya: improvement has been done since last year, but you really have to visit some other 4 and 5 stars hotel to understand what is the service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    50
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
83
93
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at Kaya on a bed and breakfast basis in March 2012 for a family ski trip. Our first impression, as we got out of the car, was being greeted by the concierge who brought our luggage from the car to our suite and subsequently parked the car in the garage.

Our room, a Kaya Suite was perfect - the children had their separate bunk room (with good storage space - wardrobe, drawers and hanging hooks for ski gear) and adults had a huge bed and lounge area with fridge and TV - exactly as per website photos (which is not always the case!!!). Again, plenty of storage options for a myriad of ski gear and all those extras which you never can find enough proper spaces for (helmets, gloves, suncreams, tissues, snacks, ski bag luggage) without feeling cluttered for the week. We had a huge bathroom with bath and shower facilities. Two exit doors led to the balcony where we could soak up the late afternoon sun watching skiiers come down the piste.

Breakfast provided a great number of options - many varieties of carbs, hot cooked, cold cuts, yoghurt & fruit or boiled eggs. Lovely fresh coffee was brought to us every morning and our view was right across the sunny piste. We tend to have a more substantial lunch on the slopes and so do not require the large and quite late evening meals provided as a Half Board option. However, we did eat in the restaurant one evening just to see what it was like - it was very enjoyable, although expensive. Food was of a good quality and service was professional - I didn't experience other reviews' problems with the restaurant food or staff.

The boot room was spacious and never crowded - there's plenty of room for people gearing up for the day or returning (though this might be more to do with March not having been so busy). It's a few steps out to the piste which requires minimal hoiking of skis and poles - a lovely way to start the day and it is possible to slide right up to the boot room entrance on your return. A few cold beers on the restaurant balcony is another option if you want to sit in the sun before returning to the room. If you want to eat in the local restaurant, la ferme or visit the Sherpa, it's a short walk or you can take the (not really shabby at all) bus from the hotel door. I'm not a spa person so can't comment on any of that.

La Kaya is the best hotel we have stayed in so far (and we have been in quite a few!!) and for a family travelling alone and therefore don't want to share a chalet with unknowns, la kaya is perfect. We really don't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Highly recommended. Great food! I will return. Location next to slopes. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boteswaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The first impression was ruined by the restaurant. The quality of food and service is just inacceptable for 4-star hotel, especially for the price of 58 EUR per person. The waiters are rude and unhelpful, we had to call them 4-5 times to get their attention. The food was too salty, fruits were not fresh, not to mention about the taste, which was quite ordinary. Wi-fi connection was also unstable and in the end of our stay, they included to our receipt over 200 EUR extra service we haven't even asked.
Ski-room is convenient, and SPA is also marvelous. In general, the hotel is clean and cosy, but they need to work a lot on their quality for that level of price.

Room Tip: Junior suite 37m^2 with a view on slopes is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenija U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

A very good hotel. New and fresh. I think it is the best match of quality and price. I do not know why some people submit negative reviews. Let them go to Courchevel and pay 2-3 times more for the same quality hotel.
I. location is great.
1-real ski in ski out. No more shuttles, walking uphill and sweat.
2-situated at 2000 meters above all other hotels. Wonderfull view from the window
II. Rooms
we stayed in Junior suite. It was really big with all amenities you need: bath + shower cabin, flat tv set, minibar with decent assortment, comfortable king size bed, enough space to pile your clothes, heater in the bathroom. AND a huge terrace with sunbeds. Besides you have an individual locker for ski. Nobody will take your stuff by mistake.
III. Restaurant
Super for lunch (big choice of dishes and very delicious). For dinner there is a fixed menu (two options for starters, main course and dessert). I think it is made because many guests stay on HB. I did not like the dinner system, though food itself is super. Real gourmet. If you want something special you may ask at reception (in advance of course). We ordered oysters and our wish was delivered.
IV. Lobby bar
Fantastic. 4 o'clock tea. Any cocktail you like. Fire place + second floor with board games
V. Shop.
That was really a good idea to locate ski equipment shop and rental inside the hotel. 10 minutes and you are ready for skiing. Rental with 20% discount. Big choice of equipment (you can make an order beforehand and it will be delivered by your arrival).
VI. Spa, swimming pool, sauna/hammam
Best I've ever seen on ski resorts. Stylish, clean. The only WISH -- make sauna hotter. Sauna should be hot. It is not just a warm room. Hammam is perfect.
VII. Reception & staff
Very friendly and helpful. Need skipass? Order it on reception. 25 minutes and you may ski. I must say that it took me less than half an hour in the morning to arrange everything: ski rental, ski pass and ski instructor. Just in one place.

In addition a few words about Les Menuires. I liked it more than Courchevel and Meribel. Slopes are better (steeper than in Courchevel and boarder than in Meribel). Les Menuires is quite high - 1850 which is also a big plus. But it is not that high as Val Thorence which does not function at bad weather more often. Even after heavy snow which happened during our stay some lifts at the bottom worked while Val Thorence was totally shut down. Number of slopes is big in Les Menuires. Good reds

Want crazy parties -- go to Val Thorence. Want posh restaurants and clubs - go to Courchevel. Les Menuires is very quiet. Family resort. Apres-ski is mostly drinking hot chocolat rather than beer. Really good restaurants outside the hotel are quite few but you don't come there for a year. If you stay a week or two its number is quite ok. The only inconvenience is that you have to walk long (or take a free shuttle) to get to those restaurants. Hotel Kaya as I said is located at the very top of the town.

I must say it is a good place. I wish them to stay on top and don't spoil the quality of the hotel. We will definetely return to that hotel for the next season.
Small recommedations: make the sauna hotter (110-115C) and wifi faster. I did not use the latter much but for some people it may be critical.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tourist_SVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 5 days at Chrismas with our two children at the Kaya and very much enjoyed it. Food was excellent (even on half board), service was quick and efficient, slopes are right there as well as ski school (right opposite the hotel)
We had a Junior suite (45sqm), with a balcony overlooking the slopes and the valley, giving enough space for a family of 4
Overall a great experience

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Kaya Chalet Hotel is located literally on at the slopes 5-10 minutes drive from Les Menuires center. Les Menuires center is not very charming, but at the "Reberty Village" you are in your own world.

The hotel has a very high standard and the staff are, most of the time, very helpful and kind.

We have our own opinion about the restaurant "K" (we were not thrilled!), but you have other charming and good restaurants in the area like "L'etoile" (see separate review).

We will definitively go to Kaya again this New Years. That's the best recommendation we can give.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekofoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Menuire
Hotel le Menuire
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#12 of 29 in Val Thorens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Chalet Hotel

Property: Kaya Chalet Hotel
Address: Village de Reberty, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaya Chalet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architects and interior designer have succeeded in creating an atmosphere where modern design meets traditional materials such as stone, larch, slate, linen drapery...Like life at Kaya, it combines comfort and tradition.An exceptional view across the mountain peaks:You'll be delighted by the southerly aspect of the hotel and its location right at the foot of the slopes, just a stone's throw from the village centre, in a hamlet of Savoyard chalets. All the bedrooms and suites feature a balcony looking out across the slopes.Bedrooms and Suites: For your comfort, all our bedrooms and suites are equipped with:Direct telephone line, LCD satellite TV with international channels, CD and DVD player, Broadband internet access, free WIFI (with restrictions), Mini-bar, safe.Your bathroom features:Bath and multi-jet shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, complementary products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaya Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing