We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a ski week with friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Les Menuires
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place for a ski week with friends!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have just came back from a ski trip with friends and we were very happy with this hotel. We had a 3 bedroom apartment for the 6 of us, but on the description is it written that it can accommodate up to six people - I would not recommend it as 2 persons would have to sleep in the living room. Location is really great: you can ski 50 meters till the cabin, and you can as well come back on your skis. The only disadvantage was the "lack of privacy" in the sense that the walls are very think and you could hear everything from any other room of the apartment. Swimming pool/sauna/hammam working every day and opened as of 4pm. Don't forget to bring/buy cleaning products, toilet paper, garbage bags and dish washer products.
And if you want to have bread in front of your door when you wake up, you can order it from: www.breadinbed.com - we used this service during our entire vacation and we LOVED IT!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    72
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
97
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed at L'Adonis two years in a row. It is located at the outskirts of Les Menuires (Balcones de Bruyeres) so it's nice and quite, no load people going to disco's. You can ski from the appartement building right down to the elevator, but you'll have to be a seasoned skier to do so.

The rooms are spacious and all have a great balcony, the view is amazing, you'll see snow and ski pistes out of every window.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We are just back from a week in Les Chalets de l'Adonis in Les Menuires/ Les Bruyères, booked via Madame Vacances.

Bad things (THE LIST IS LONG!!!):
- We must have been one of very few "normal" couples/families in the residence. The Adonis was taken over by hordes of students/youngsters partying until the wee hours of the morning and showing no respect for their neighbours' sleep or communal areas. I understand that it is common practice for ski chalets to rent out unlet apartments to big groups on the cheap, but when you expect 4*, you don't think you'll end up in a youth hostel atmosphere.
- There were thugs (residents) smoking dope most nights in the unguarded reception area, and nothing was done about it though the manager had been told.
- In general the flats are very badly insulated (from the cold - draft from the windows -, and from the noise - when somebody has a pee in the apartment above yours, you wake up!)
- No wifi in the apartments - we were told access was only available in the reception area by a lovely log fire - the fire was never on!
- The car park is not covered and is quite far and uncleared (snow/ice) making logging all your luggage rather perilous
- Swimming pool: the stench when you open the door to the swimming-pool put us right off!
- The bedding provided was soiled and uncomfortable (too small for the large bed). Small towels, and not enough of them. No tea towels.
- No foreign TV channels
- No DVDs to borrow from reception - bring your own
- Ski in/ski out rather perilous if you're not a seasoned skier
- We took advantage of the Madame Vacances offer to prebook/prepay our ski equipment: the deal is with a rental shop which is quite far away (there is a shop on the ground floor of the residence, not sure why the deal is not with them??), and when we got there, they had not kept skis for us so we were given old equipment ("Sorry but 150 students came this morning and took away all our stock", we were told.)
- Be aware that the chalet is in the Bruyères hamlet, with only a few shops (including a deli/traiteur with very poor/unfresh products - husband got "Delhi belly") and mediocre restaurants. Les Menuires proper is a bit better but not easy to reach (the shuttle service was unreliable - didn't come every 20 minutes as scheduled)

Good things:
- We got a 2-bedroom apartment, which was ample for all the stuff you tend to have on a skiing holiday
- The balcony is very pleasant, south-facing, but we only had 2 days of sunshine so did not enjoy it much
- The young Franco-English receptionist is delightful
- Being in the 3 Vallées is a plus
- A lovely cinema close-by showing all the latest movies including some in English

Needless to say, we are very disappointed and won't be going there again! We could have done so much better for our money!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CDN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Booked direct through Eurogroup booking office in France. Although most of the operators spoke reasonable English it wasn't the easiest things to do. Paperwork is sent by email which I don't consider a problem. But I did have to chase them a couple of times before I received it. Had a problem with the lift passes that you can book through Eurogroup at the same time as your apartment (at a discount). When we tried to present the coupon the lift pass office wouldn't accept. Had to go back to the apartment reception, who in turn claimed the lift pass people had the supporting paperwork. Anyway it got sorted eventually but then the lift pass claimed we had a local lift pass not the full ski area. A lot of this was caused in my opinion by Eurogroups poor documentation.

The apartment building is well situated. There is plenty of free outdoor parking available within a shortwalk of the apartments (100-300m). Two small flights of stairs and a lift takes you down to the ring of shops and restaurants at the heart of the Bruyeres area of Les Menuires. The apartments are ski and ski out for most. Beginners may struggle a little. When skiing out it is a short ski (200m) to the Bruyeres cable car that takes you to the top of the mountain. With a bit of sticking you could get over to ski down to go up the La Masse side of the mountain. For some reason the Bruyeres cable car doesn't open until 9.10. So a queue starts forming from just before 9 and doesn't go away until mid-morning. If they opened at 8.45 there wouldn't be a problem. Go figure. Anyway the Adonis is well placed.

Reception hours are reasonable and booking in and out is fairly smooth and organised. I believe we got a small room upgrade as we were supposed to have a room with one bedroom and one alcove but got two bedrooms.

The apartment was spacious. The combined kitchen, dining and living area lacked furniture and storage. Why one 3 person sofa for a 6 person apartment when you have plenty of room for a second? The bedrooms had plenty of storage. The apartment was cold on arrival with no signs of warmth coming on tap (this was at 6 in the evening). A visit to reception and it turns out they hadn't turned the heating on for our room. A bulb was out, visit to reception.. not enough blankets, a visit to reception. We only have one key (why?), visit to reception to get a second. Fair play to them they always came up with goods quickly and were always pleasant about it.

The swimming pool is only open 4 to 7pm as a rule. I don't think this is particularly unusual for these apartment buildings though, as they are unsupervised, I don't quite see the justification for it. But my biggest complaint is that they lockers and showers are in terrible state. Pool small but OK. We had two pre-schoolers and they of course loved it.

One of the reasons we booked the Adonis is because they have a diddy slope with a moving carpet close to the apartment, and it was our 3yo's first trip. Good for sledging for the little one's also.

Ski lockers are a good size.

Anyway, the Adonis just about justified it's rating. There is a Maeva residence just below it with smaller and slightly cheaper accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LayneWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Menuires
1.5 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Hameau des Airelles
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Valmonts
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#12 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis

Property: Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
Address: Route de Val Thorens Les Balcons Des Bruyeres, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Les Menuires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalets de l'Adonis is located in Bruyeres, just 300m from the centre of Les Menuires resort and its shops. This superb accommodation comprises 61 apartments divided between 2 large 5-floor chalets with lifts. Tastefully decorated, these comfortable apartments all come with fully-equipped kitchens containing a microwave, electric hob, dishwasher, fridge, and also cable TV (for a supplement), a telephone and sunny balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Lvh Vacances Les Chalets De l`Adonis Hotel Les Menuires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing