We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Never again. Dangerously icy steps to the slopes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Goelia Le Village Gaulois
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked this accommodation because of the proximity to the ski slopes. 50 meters turned out to be vertical. Every morning and evening had to carry skis up icy steps, the equivalent of walking up a 10 storey flat (we were in chalet number 31). We asked several times for the steps to be gritted, but despite several falls and tumbles by other guests, nothing was done until the very last day. No ski lockers available at the top, so with three young children, I had to do the walk several times.

Be prepared to do the same track but with your suitcases, at check-in, check-out, since there is no parking near the chalets.

Check-in is chaos. had to wait 55 minutes in a line that stretched outside around the corner. Chalets are truly the smallest and worst equipped I have ever stayed in. The chalet was supposed to sleep 7, but it was far to small for a family of 5. Electric fan heaters and radiators. you pay extra for everything, even using the TV. Although not unusual to have to pay for bed linen and towels, at almost 90 euros for 5 people, the prices are steep. We contemplating the long walk up to reception to complain that the chalet only had three coffee mugs, until we realised the mustard jars in the cupboard, where meant to complete the set.

Blankets are synthetic with awful static. I swear I got real sparks lighting up the bedroom. Bring your own pillows, or better still, bring sleeping bags. This is camping.

Also, if you are anything other than a beginner skier, you will need to take the lift up and ski down into the main villages for ski lessons. Because the lift doesn't open until 8:45am and lessons start at 9am, you will have to time your long walk up the steps to perfection.

Also, this part of the village has no restaurants. only a smoky, loud bar, filled with drunk teens. for restaurants, you will have to drive or take the ski bus. There's a nice bakery though, which does lovely pizza, but other than that, our stay was awful, awful, awful...

Room Tip: make sure when you book, you get a chalet allocated at the very top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Visited twice this year, first time in January with the family so had a chalet that slept 8 Adequate room for 6 adults and a 4 month old baby. 1 double, and 1 twin both had good storage, the mezzanine level bedroom (twin) was very spacious and enough storage for a football team! The chalets themselves were clean and in good condition, as always we found seating in the living area 'sparce' but used the dining chairs so we all manged to lounge around. The mezzanine bedroom gets very hot during the night so make sure you turn the heating down before retiring for the night. The location is perfect right next to the lifts and as always with St Francois very little queuing.
We returned in March this time just the two of us so took an apartment, i have to say it is probably the biggest apartment for 4 i have every had. again all of a good standard good storage (so not tripping over boots and helmets etc) another great week had.

the reception staff were helpful and polite and best of all they allow pets so our two dogs had a great time!

For what i consider to be a bargain price you can not beat this accommodation, in fact i have paid considerably more for far less, and yes next year booked already.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topsy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

At first when we arrived it was disorganized.
But the staff were most accommodating.
Beds were not very comfortable mine leaned to the right .. There were four beds in my room but I was to tired at night to get up and change beds.
We had dinner bed and breakfast. Dinner was good but Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh baked pastries each morning. Flakey and so fresh.. The baker made fresh cheese to go on some of the bread.. like philly cream cheese but so much better.. Chocolate warm things to die for!
I don't know when I have had such a good breakfast..
Rates were good dinner bed and breakfast for two nights for two was 224 Euro and for a single 164.00
Booked this thru Logis de France on line

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank certifiedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maniak1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Delph286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: celles situées le plus haut, plus près de l'accès aux pistes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Francois Longchamp hotels
0 mi away
Residence Goelia Le Rond Point des Pistes
Residence Goelia Le Rond Point d...
#3 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
45 reviews
0 mi away
Chalet le 1200
Chalet le 1200
#4 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
3 reviews
0 mi away
Le Lac Bleu 1650
Le Lac Bleu 1650
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Residence Odalys Les Balcons du Soleil
Residence Odalys Les Balcons du ...
#7 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
49 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Goelia Les 4 Vallees
Residence Goelia Les 4 Vallees
#1 of 6 in Saint Francois Longchamp
133 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Perelle
Hotel La Perelle
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Goelia Le Village Gaulois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Goelia Le Village Gaulois

Address: les Longes | ZAC des Longes, 73130 Saint Francois Longchamp, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint Francois Longchamp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Saint Francois Longchamp
Price Range: £34 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Goelia Le Village Gaulois 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Goelia Le Village Gaulois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing