We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Ilsington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed a week skiing with snowcoach it was a real bargain and the rooms were very well equipped.Staff very helpfull and friendly mainly students having a gap year but hotel in a really good location and just right for a skiing holiday. we had a ski bus taking us to ski runs but very close to a lovely park and a spa in les Bains.food was good french breakfast but english dinners great overall

Room Tip: first floor ok overlooking the park not the front ones
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rockoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Rockoholic,

Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear when our guests have had a great holiday.

We hope you will consider us for your next winter break!

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
27
35
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am a great believer in that if you are paying "rock-bottom" budget prices then this should be what to expect and this hotel will deliver at that level. I also think that reviews should reflect the 'level' that the hotel is pitched at....but the problem for me is that I've paid about the same per night for much better in the French Alps.

Food was basic, very basic. Cooked breakfast was limited to just three items per day (i.e. Day 1 = sausage/hash brown/tomato Day 2 = bacon/tinned beans/tinned mushrooms etc) not 'hearty' and not enticing (see the photo). It became a bit of a joke, but there were no eggs available... No eggs for breakfast is hardly the "problem of the century" but it is rather 'indicative' of bigger problems. Evening meals were just about acceptable. The cheese board had the most meagre amounts for a table of 10 people (in fact elsewhere you would be served more as an individual portion then was given to share between 10 here).

The bedroom was basic, which is not a major issue for me, it was clean with a recent lick of paint and new(ish) furniture. The en-suite bathroom was very small, having a bath (with shower hose) wc & basin - I suspect it's not been touched since the 60's/70's. Water from the shower had low pressure and did run cold one evening - even though the hotel was only half-full.

Maintenance is clearly an on-going demand, as you would expect with an old traditional building like the 'Terminus', but I got the feeling that it was two steps forward and three back. The central heating was not working in the bedroom, but there was an electric radiator provided as a back-up.

The bar and lounge were actually quite pleasant with new looking sofas. The "games room" is nothing at all to get excited about, the "fitness room" had a weight-lifting bar and not much else. The steam room was not working, and I thought the jacuzzi area smelt of sewage (but others were using it happily enough).

The ski lifts are accessed by mini-bus shuttles run by the hotel each morning and afternoon - this worked well for the small numbers in the hotel. There is ski-hire in the hotel, but this was rather expensive compared to other resorts I go to.

All in all, it is fair to say I didn't have a terrible time, I slept well and the staff were lovely....but... it was like the hotel is being run on a "shoe-string" and that spoils a holiday....so...as I would rather go elsewhere for about the same money it's getting a 'Poor' rating from me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolly_gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear jolly_gardener

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed some of your holiday, and would like to take the opportunity to elaborate on some of the points you have made above.

We offer a Continental Buffet Breakfast with a selection of hot options typically 3 a day. The breakfast is a buffet so you can help yourself to as little or as much as you wish, and so the picture attached does not hold a true representation of what was on offer during your stay. Eggs are not offered on a daily basis, as we have to cater for all tastes. Some guests do not like eggs and so we do not include this as the choice daily but they are offered at least twice a week.

For the evening meal, a selection of cheese is put out per table and guests can always ask their server for more. As we try to offer great value holidays, with comfortable accommodation and excellent service for all. To ensure holidays are affordable, we believe in minimising waste by not putting out an elaborate spread to be thrown away. But your comments have been taken on board and passed on to the catering team in the hotel.

We do not advertise a ‘Fitness Room’ in our brochure. The room that you are referring to is the ‘Games Room’. This room has a dart board, table tennis, a TV with English Channels and comfortable sofas. It also has weights, which some guests make use of. We cannot over clutter this room as it doubles up as a secure luggage store on departure days.

There is a maintenance man on site, any issues that guests raise are logged at Reception which is checked daily. The maintenance man also has driving duties, so depending on transfers, it is true that this list can get backed up, however, in the past few weeks, much progress has been made in the hotel. We would be interested to know what problems you are referring to.

If you would like to contact us at Head Office to speak further about your experience, we would love to hear from you so that we can address any existing issues and ensure the resort staff are aware of the problems you incurred. We are always looking for feedback to improve on the service we offer.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel = Average, Staff:= brilliant, skiing:= fanatasic! We have just returned from a 4 day break at the Terminus. We arranged our trip through Snowcoach which was so easy and laid back and was a great start to the holiday. We arrived about 07.30 and were welcomed by friendly staff and residents allike. Ok, the hotel is very basic and tired and if I'm honest could do with an injection of cash to upgrade it (eg the installation of a tv in the bar area which would create and increase revenue when sporting events are on etc!). The food is definitely on a budget BUT this problem is not down to the cook but purely the resources they are expected to work with. We really liked the fact that a member of staff joined the guests as "head of table" and this made it a very sociable occasion. Breakfast was good with a choice of a cooked breakfast, croissants, cheese, cereals, yoghurt etc. Yes, you do have to get there fairly early to get these choices but the first mini coach leaves at around 8.30 for the benefit of the guests who like to ski early (which is the majority). There are so many things I could say but at the end of the day, the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. They go out of their way to help you and sort any issues that you may have. Lucy, you are a star and Natalie, you had us sorted after 5 minutes at the bar! Overall a really fab experience, made some great friends and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Cheryl A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience, it is very much appreciated.

We would be interested to hear in further detail your thoughts on the food and reference to the resources that the cook has to work with. Both of our hotels work to the same budget and are stocked with similar equipment, and so we would like the opportunity to address this.

We pride ourselves on offering affordable ski holidays for new and existing clients and aim to make it a sociable experience for all. From a casual buffet breakfast in the morning to our social dining concept. We have kept the TV out of the bar to keep the ambiance of a social ski holiday, however we do have a games room with British Television on the lower level.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just came back from another great skiing holiday with Snowcoach,stayed at the Terminus Hotel,breakfast adequate fruit juice,yogurt,cold meats,cheese,croissant & jam,porridge & hot dishes & tea & coffee.Skiing all day then back for tea & cakes.Four course diner with red or white wine witch just keeps getting toped up finish with Tea or Coffee.
Mini bus to the slops seemed to work ok but made be a problem when hotel is full.Great bar & lounge.Great skiing Area.Town and area a little quiet.
Exceptional good Staff Thanks to all of them.Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear ray p,

Thank you for your great review!

We love to hear when our clients have had a good holiday, our staff in resort are always pleased to get positive feedback.

We hope you consider us for your next winter holiday!

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Shoddy room in poor condition, blocked sink, no soap etc. provided; noisy from road below; inconvenient location in Le Fayet at least a half hour walk down mountainside from St. Gervais centre and over 300m lower elevation; staff seemed nice but overall this was an unpleasant overnight stay which will definitely not be repeated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Stephen P,

We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

The rooms are serviced daily and soap is provided in hand dispensers in the bathrooms of each bedroom. We do have a maintenance man on site and so any problems in the hotel or bedroom are acted on promptly as reception complete a log each morning and afternoon.

The hotel is located 50 minutes from Geneva and a 2 minute walk to the train station where the local bus departs from to explore the local area. The tramway which transports you up the Chamonix Valley is next to the hotel. We also offer Après Ski in the town of St Gervais on selected evenings.

If you would like to write in to Head Office addressing the problems you had on your holiday, we would like to look into this and provide you with a more detailed response.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having stayed the terminus many times, sometimes saying this would be our last, we went again in march mainly because of the flexibility, price, and easy access from geneva.

Hotel indeed is basic, but this year the staff were vastly improved. Nicky, the new manager, was very organised and helpful. It was refreshing to see someone with experience.

Food was vastly improved, good choice for breakfast, including hot buffet, afternoon cakes with tea, and a 4 course evening meal, all very tasty.

The remaining staff were cheerful, ski transportation up the mountain by way of a mini bus good, but we were at the hotel when it wasn't busy and I have my doubts if this would work if the hotel was full, the mini buses need updating.

All in all, a very enjoyable short break with some good company, all like minded dedicated skiers. We will return!

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back are quieter, there is a main road at the front, although you will still ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scabbysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Scabbysailor,

Thank you very much for your review and taking the time to write it.

We love to hear when our guests have had a good time and also that you have recognised the efforts our staff have put in to make it better.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We've just come back from a three days skying trip with Snowcoach. The hotel is very clean but basic and fine on that aspect. The staff do their best but are under pressure from a lack of resources. Breakfast is basic and would be ok if you could get some! Our son had just bread, which he had to ask, for as croissants and pain au chocolat had run out before 9.00 am, breakfast finishing at 9.30!! They messed up the ski passes for the last day so half day of skiing lost... Don't get me started on the evening meal! The thinnest slices of roast beef ever seen in a restaurant. A shame as the staff do try their best to help you and feel bad they cannot do more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madongreece2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowcoach, Manager at Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear madongreece2010,

We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We would be more than happy to look into this further if you could send a detailed account of your experience to Head Office.

If you contact us explaining the ‘lack of resources’, we can investigate what the problems are in order to resolve them.

Please accept out apologies for losing ski time and for the Sunday evening meal, your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Manager.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#7 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Deux Gares
Hotel des Deux Gares
#15 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
#6 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Address: 150 avenue de Geneve | Le Fayet, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terminus Mont Blanc in St Gervais Le Fayet is wonderfully situated in the heart of the French Alps. The hotel is modern and well appointed throughout and is opposite the entrance to the Thermal Spa and Gardens and only a two minute walk from the bus and train stations. The hotel is an ideal base to from which to explore the Chamonix Valley. Geneva and Annecy are only an hours drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing