We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a bigger place than needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lagrange Confort+ Residence Les Arolles
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This residence has the basics. The apartments are ok. However, taking in consideration some reviews, we got an apartment for 6 people even though we were only 4. We were 4 adults, all of us just friends, so we all wanted separate beds to sleep on. I am so glad we got a bigger place! The beds available were: 1 double bed, 2 single beds (half- a single bed as far as I am concerned... see picture) and 2 more beds in the living room (they were set up as a couch but it was really a bed. I have to say the pull out and the bed in the living room was a lot better than the 2 single beds in the room. Actually, one of us ended up putting both single beds together to be able to sleep on them as if they were one bed. Seriously, the single beds are so thin, if you move you fall out of the bed. They might be ok for children but not adults, and I wish they were honest and warned you about this first.
The apartment comes with nothing. You have to take your own bed sheets and towels or pay extra for some when you get there. I do have to say the heating was great, we weren't cold at all. If you want parking you also have to pay extra. When you leave you have to leave everything clean, so we prefered to go with their cleaning service and pay for them to clean it. However, they still got on our case when we were leaving so that we would take the garbage out and wash the dishes. I don't see why if you are paying for cleaning, they can't just do that themselves? But we had to do it.
Internet access was not great at all, you have to pay extra for it and it is only availble in a living room they have on the first floor. The signal wasn't good, sometimes my iphone would not detect it at all, and once you got on it sometimes you would be bumped out of it and loose the signal.
It is NOT walking distance to the ski slopes, especially with ski boots, you have to take your car and park at the bottom of the ski slopes if you want to go skiing.
The people at the reception desk are only there on very restricted hours, and there is a day and a half when there is no one there, I believe it is Wednesday all day and Thursday morning. This means that if you have problems with anything, there is no one to help you. For the same reason, plan your arrival well, since there has to be someone there to receive you when you arrive.
Overall, I probably wouldn't go there again, and if someone asks me about the place I would give them lots of warnings.

Room Tip: Definitely get a bigger place than needed! Example: if 4 people get a place for 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Just came back from a week spent in a 8-person-flat in les Arolles.
VERY disapointed as it was not specified that the flat was for 6 adults and 2 children only. As we were a group of 8 adults , 2 of us had to sleep with the matress on the floor.

The bunk beds were not adult size, it was very unconfortable in the first night. Especially after skiing the whole day, you need a good rest.

When we complained at the reception they simply said that they knew already and that we were not the first to complain. They only offered a sauna session (€8) and said that we should have checked when we booked....

We are in the process of formally complain against this Company.

You have to pay all the time : car park ( not many spaces available), the sauna/jaccuzzi session (30 minutes) offered it only for one person! As we were 8 , 7 of us had to pay. And jacuzzi and sauna are separated which means that if you want to have both, you have to pay twice.


You need to pay extra for the bedlinen, extra for cleaning.

Finally it is very noisy, we heard the neighbors every night (moving table, chairs around) - VERY Annoying.

Plus you need a car to go to the car park with the lift. It was broken one full day.

Overall I definitely do NOT recommend this place.

AVOID!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Fortunately we had a car as its quite a distance from the lift and the town. We paid a fair price, and St Gervais is a nice town. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, it is hard work setting up the apartment and cleaning it. Having to pay extra for parking, tourist taxes and bedding is all a niggle, but common practice. My main advice would be to be prepared to have to use the car for everything if you have kids. It is too far to walk. St Gervais relies on one lift. On our first day this was broken. The other days the queues were horrendous. Skiing back to St Gervais is only for the advanced and adventurous. We ended up driving about 5 miles every day to get another lift. You would choose this place if is cheaper or the only one left!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, in an apartment with 3 bedrooms, toilet, bath and 2 showers, so it suited our family well. It had good heating and a heated towel rail. It was handy to have a kitchen so we could easily have breakfast and cooked a couple of evening meals as well. The drawback was that had to clean the apartment before we left, and there was no soap, toilet paper, sponges or dishwashing liquid provided. We also made and unmade our beds with the sheets provided. The apartment is nice but it lacked personality and charm. We paid extra for the undercover car park, and as we had a car it was easy to get to the St Gervais ski lifts, and to Chamonix. We paid extra for wifi which was only available in the public areas, not in the apartment.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que dan a la piscina tiene unas vistas de Saint Gervais espectaculares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santos j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#8 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Val d'Este
Hotel Val d'Este
#7 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Confort+ Residence Les Arolles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Confort+ Residence Les Arolles

Address: 488 rue du Mont Joly | Lieu-dit Le Nerey d'en Haut, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range: £41 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagrange Confort+ Residence Les Arolles 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lagrange Confort+ Residence Les Arolles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing