We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and a week of varied and well presented restaurant themes. Good location for the ski lift and close enough to the small town, the pistes were well suited to learners and intermediates. Overall, highly recommended - be sure to attend the staff show at the end of the week!

Room Tip: A202 and A203 with an interconnecting door were tucked away in a quiet corner and well placed next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    88
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
174
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I got lost when I was looking for this (hotel) . So I stopped and asked in a local restaurant. They looked confused when I said hotel. She said " this is not a hotel"
I was confused as it had hotel in the title and I'd booked it for a week. When I finally arrived it turned out to be more of a hostel. A really tired old building desperately in need of a make over. They charged me an extra €50 a reception for early book in (rip off).
I had booked a triple room as I had my daughter with me. Walked into the room it was a single . The last time a stayed in
A place like this was in a hostel
In CZ and they had the cheek to charge €2600. I asked for a refund which they wouldn't give me. I left and booked into a hotel round the corner which was much better. If your booking this place don't pay more the €50 per night. It's really not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ernni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

First, the upsides; the Wi-Fi is indeed free and does indeed works in your room. The indoor pool is quite nice, and didn’t get busy whilst we were there. The spa tubs are clean but you only get a short time before you are turfed out for the next occupants. Don’t get excited about the fitness room, because you will be massively disappointed. But you’re there to ski, so that shouldn’t matter much!

Unless I’m paying a small fortune, I don’t have high expectations of Alpine ski hotels. The Monte Bianco lived up (or down) to them! The rooms we had were basic, the beds small and uncomfortable, no chairs, no mirrors, just no comfort touches at all. A lot like eighties hotel rooms in Eastern Europe I thought. Our bathroom was miniscule. We didn’t expect a tub, and there wasn’t one. Nor was there any soap or shower gel, or drinking water, or a hairdryer. Just some missing touches that matter a lot after a twelve hour drive or a day on the mountain. On the upside, the heater worked well and we had a small balcony overlooking the valley. There’s no safe in the room.

I assume everyone goes Half-Board. The evening buffet is truly uninspiring, but the produce is OK and there’s always plenty to eat. If you can live on bread and raclette, you’ll have a ball! There’s unlimited vin-de-table but no bar service in the restaurant. We took a carrier bag of beers in with us, and it didn’t raise any eye-brows. The dining experience is dreary, but the young staff is upbeat and try hard to make it pleasant. As you would expect from a family hotel , there are plenty of kids in the dining room. Luckily, most were French (they seem to train their kids to behave well in public) so it wasn’t too gruesome. The next day I saw several families on the mountain dragging tiny children strapped to sledges. That must be the punishment if you kick-off at dinner time!

There is a bar, and a friendly barman called Remy, who is the perfect candidate to practice your pub French on. They have draught Stella and Leffe (beware the Leffe) but not much in the way of wine. At the weekend, the bar was more like a family lounge or a strange mountainside McDonalds early on, but died around 10. Remy stays open until about 1130 most nights. Sadly the bar has none of the atmosphere you find in a real ski hotel. It’s more like a Mercure or an Ibis, so not a great place for a fun night in.

There was a lot of snow whilst we were there, so I’m going easy on the hotel for failing to clear the paths.

Location; The Telecabine to take you up (across) to the mountain is five minutes by car (lots of free parking) or fifteen by foot. You can buy all your passes at the Telecabine station, and even with a queue they move people fast. This ride takes about fifteen minutes, and takes you to the Le Bettex base of Evasions Mont Blanc. From here, you can switch gondolas (they’re literally side by side) and head up to the top. We found the ski-ing appropriate for all levels. A day pass for the whole Evasions MB complex is less than €40. Just make sure you allow an hour in the morning for getting up to the piste. Add ten minutes to stop at the Patisserie (a better alternative than the hotel breakfast) and the Tabac if you need to stock up on chocolate! They are 100m from the hotel.

Le Bettex is a great base. The Telecabine station also contains a great ski-hire location, with very friendly and helpful guys. There’s an excellent pub restaurant right next to it with a, and a snack bar for lunchtime. The ski school is also right there, and some of our party took private one-to-one lessons at about €78 for two hours. Also there’s almost no walking, because the runs all finish right in front of the Telecabine station. There are two nursery pistes by the Telecabine, one of which is quite challenging at speed, but a bit short.

St Gervais town is about fifteen minutes walk from the hotel. There are plenty of mid-range restaurants and a couple of pubs, as well as some convenience stores, a pizza takeaway (not bad) and several ATM’s. I wouldn’t describe it as an après-ski hot-spot though. St Gervais seems to be quite a family-oriented resort, and it’s cheaper because it’s further from the mountain, so it doesn’t seem to attract a racy crowd!

We got fed up and left for home two days early. The weather was getting tricky, one of us couldn’t ski so much, and there was simply nothing to do in the hotel other than lie on your bed or swim.

We chose this hotel because we wanted a half-board package but we were driving rather than flying, which limited our choices. On paper it looks too good to be true, with the pool and the spa and the free wi fi and what have you, and the website pictures, whilst not deceptive, definitely capture the very best angles and ignore a great deal.

This is a decent budget base for a family with small children (preferably French), but not the place for couples or groups of adults who want some life with their après-ski. If I had to describe it in a word, it would be Uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Chaque année on part au ski avec un club, cette année j'ai choisie un hotel MMV à St Gervais car c'etais leur premier saison aprés l'aquisition du baptiment et les renovations. Je détéste des petites chambres aussi courantes dans les hotels à la montagne. Je cherche le maximum de comfort et de service pandant mes vacances d'hiver, pas que de la neige :) J'ai 2 enfants de 6 ans et de 18 mois, donc un mini club est indespensable.
J'ai eu une trés bonne impression de l'hotel des l'arrivé. On etais placé dans 2 chambres communicantes avec 3 placands, 2 douches et 2 WC séparés (n'oublions pas 2 grands balcons!) Beaucoup de l'espace et belle décoration de chambres à notifier, tout est neuf, entierement refait.
Nous sommes les clients un peut casse cou, on demande toujours des choses en plus ou sur mésure, et je peux vous dire que la direction a repondu à toutes nos demandes.
Qu'est ce que je peux vous dire de plus? Le baby club est trés bien, on a eu de la chance car pour la 1ere semaine de la saison ma filles etais seule inscrite au baby club donc elle a eu toute l'attention de Cecile, raisponsable du baby club.
Le mini club est trés bien aussi. Mon fils c'est bien ammusé, il a fait plein des choses et il est super contant de ses vacances.
La réstauration. Correct mais sans miracle. Pour ce prix on peut pas attendre les repas gastronomiques tout les jours. Mes c'etais correct. Toujours suffisant et varié. Donc pas de reproches pour la nouriturre.
Le départ aux ski. un peux loin. Il faut marcher. Mais on marche en chaussure de ville donc pas grave. J'ai pas trouvé sa comme un défaut mais certains personnes ont trouvé ca un petit derrangant...
L'animation. Merci à Claire-Léa, raisponsable de l'equipe d'animation. Une jeune femme trés gentille. N'oublions pas que l'hotel est assez petit, danc pas de spectacles tout les soirs, mes il y a quand meme quelquechose...
Qoui d'autre à dire? On a passé un trés agréable séjour à cet hotel. Juste 3 petites remarques que j'ai déja fais au directeur... On a trouvé l'eau de la piscine un peut froide... Il y a un chéminée que j'ai jamais vu marcher... domage! car ca fais de l'ambiance. et puis ca serrais bien de manger à la terrasse de temps en temps quand il fait beau... mais c'est tout! pas d'autre chose à remarquer!
Merci encore à toute l'equipe de MMV Le mont bianco!
PS: super cadeaux de noel cette année pour les enfants!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the newly refurbished Hotel Monte Bianco during the School summer holidays and the vast majority of guests were families with school age children. The restaurant had a lovely terrace with fantastic views. We enjoyed eating outside on the terrace most evenings. We paid for full board and overall we thought the hotel was excellent value. There were a few adult and children's options at each meal and themed evening meals such as a raclette evening. It would have been nice if there had been more green vegetables on offer other than that the food was good.
The hotel has an indoor pool and a lovely steam room, sauna, jacuzzi area. The spa section is adults only and needs to be booked on arrival. There is children's club in school holiday time which you can use as much or as little as you want. It is free of charge for over 5s. In the evenings children can opt to dine with the club in the restaurant and then go off to do an activity with the children's club staff. Our bedroom was reasonably spacious and comfortable and had an ensuite shower room/loo. There are no rooms with baths which might be a problem for people with very young children.
Most of the staff were very friendly and the general atmosphere was very good.
My only real grumble would be with the washing up. Considering that the kitchen looked brand new the dishwashers did not seem very effective and most of the glasses looked smeared which was a little off putting. We were also slightly disappointed with the bar as it was the only place to purchase a hot drink in the evening and the hot drinks were very strong and watery.
Apart from these two issues we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would definitely consider returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evendine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#8 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
#16 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
77 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco

Property: Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Address: 400 rue du Mont Joly, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mythical resort, situated between Megève and Chamonix. Mini but spacious and contemporary family suitespanoramic restaurant and terracesIndoor swimming-pool and relaxation area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing