We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but a bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ferme de Cupelin
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasant but a bit out of the way”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice looking traditional alpine building which is also nice and clean inside. Bit unimaginative in terms of the public areas, lounge etc but the views were good. Food was quite nice and the owners polite and helpful. The biggest issue is the location, because although the views are good the property is a long twisty way from anything else (which might be to some peoples liking) but we prefer not to drive when we are on holiday, particulary in the evening when we might both want to have a drink or two. All in all a nice enough break but will probably stay elsewhere if we go back to St Gervais as we have just met up with friends who are staying at a different place nearer to town which is lovely and more conveneint. St Gervais is a lovely town with lots to do and plenty of lovely bars and restaurants and of course the Mont Blanc Tram.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
121
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I never wake naturally early. I dislike getting up early in a morning. Not here. I awoke before sunrise to witness the sun rising over Mont Blanc. An image that will stick with me forever. To wake with THAT view was worth the money alone.
We also got a great room with a comfy bed, the hosts were warm and friendly, the breakfast was good quality - it was worth every penny and an experience that's hardwired in my memories forever. How do you put a value to that?

Did I mention the view?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guaynabo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

no one was there to greet us upon arrival. the keys were left on the door. it was our daughter's birthday. the dinner/chef was never there. no kitchen. went to bed hungry. too secluded and very difficult to find. far from the nearest town.

Room Tip: toss the dice. no rooms with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mari s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romain D, Propriétaire at La Ferme de Cupelin, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,
I understand your disappointment and I thank you for us to share.

Thursday is our day of closing. This information is provided on our website as well as on Booking.com and our phone.

In addition, the day on Thursday we can wellstock us fresh products are only components of our restaurant menu.

The village of St Gervais les Bains (and 18 restaurants) is a 4-minute drive from the hotel. This information is also visible on our website and on our Booking.com.

Hoping to see you in St Gervais.

Sincerely yours.

R. DESGRANGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely place and lovely people but we stayed just one night and were disappointed that when we got there we found out the restaurant was closed that night - otherwise I would have probably scored it 4.

The fact is this place is half way up a mountain so going anywhere requires at least 10 minutes of driving around hairpin bends - which if the restaurant is closed for dinner - puts an end to the idea of relaxing after a hard day's driving with a nice meal and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexinthemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romain D, Propriétaire at La Ferme de Cupelin, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes navrés que vous ayez été decu de trouver le restaurant fermé le jeudi (fermeture hebdomadaire).
Pourtant cette information est bien précisé sur nôtre site internet et par téléphone lors de vôtre réservation.
Pour ce qui est de nôtre emplacement, en effet nous ne sommes pas au centre ville de Saint Gervais ce qui nous confère un lieu très privilégié au calme face au massif du Mont Blanc.
Nous avons fait en sorte de bien préciser nôtre emplacement sur nôtre site internet et sur nôtre page Booking.com (grâce a une carte) , soit 5 minutes en voiture du centre ville. Nous reconnaissons que s'aventurer à aller dîner à pied au village est périlleux!!!
Nous espérons tout de même vous revoir parmi nous (sauf un jeudi).
Bien à vous,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have only just started using Tripadvisor, but it does seem that many people give really high marks for an average place. The Ferme Cupelin was clean and reasonable in many ways, but I really di not find that it was at all special. Far from it, whilst the hosts were pleasant, the acocmodation was fairly basic, the bedroom was decorated like it was for a 14 year old girl and not what we expected. The food was quite good, but it didn't change much and I think most people could get very good if they cooked the same meals all the time. For us the worst thing was the location which was far out of St Gervais when the information made it sound much closer. I hate using the car unneccesarily, but you absolutely have to go everywhere by car if you stay here.

I can see how some people might be ok giving this 3 stars or 3.5 if that were possible (3.5 can't be done on TA) but without any serious facilities such as a great pool or an amazing hot-tub, or being ski-in and ski-out I can't understand the scores given. If the location had been better I would have scored a 3, but I was genuinely disappointed and can't agree with some of the other reviewers. There are so many places to stay in the Alps which have better facilites and location so I will be looking elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

The stunning location provides a perfect location for a romantic visit, we were lucky enough to get room two which has the corner balcony and so views over both sides of the Mountain range.
The room was well equipped and comfortable.
Dinner was offered and we were grateful that the waitress was able to explain the menu to us. Each course was wonderful and we would highly recommend dining in.
Breakfast was also an option we are glad we took, lovely continental selection and just a beautiful way to start the morning on the terrace in the sun.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinchy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for three nights in this wonderful chalet hotel. The views are fantastic and the rooms were very comfortable with everything you could possibly want. Breakfast was taken outside on the sunny terrace each morning with an amazing view of the snow-capped mountains. Dinner was really delicious with an excellent choice and beautifully cooked food. Olivia and her husband, who is the chef, are very welcoming and we look forward to returning in the near future. The hotel had been recommended to us by a friend and we were so pleased we decided to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#5 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
69 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
#9 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme de Cupelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme de Cupelin

Property: La Ferme de Cupelin
Address: 198 route du Chateau, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferme de Cupelin 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Ferme de Cupelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing