We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cool and relaxing, super for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
geneva
1 review
“cool and relaxing, super for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

very cool and relaxing small hotel.
convenient location: close to the mountain, close to the town center.
the staff is really friendly and the food in the restaurant is pretty good.
I would recommand it

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seb_thiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    107
    36
    25
    14
See reviews for
54
104
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc has an enviable location, very close to the bottom ski lift in a lovely French ski town. All of this was ruined though by small rooms, surly and unhelpful staff and a pretty awful attitude towards the paying customer. "You did not drink in our bar or eat in our restaurant while you stayed, so you must pay 5 euros each to use the shower in our spa area at the end of your last days skiing". I'm actually surprised that we did not have to pay to leave our bags in their luggage room!
Our room was baking hot 24 hours a day, they refused to turn off the central heating and did not know how to turn it down. While I would recommend St Gervais, I would steer clear of Liberty Mont Blanc.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smstreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed for one night before our ski holiday proper in Flaine. On arrival, the receptionist was rude and demanded to photocopy all of our passports, stating he had the right to ask other personal questions if he so wished. The room was dirty, with chipped tiles and mirrors. The whole hotel was dingy and in general need of re-furbishment. The room over-looked the car-park and was incredibly noisy all through the night. Also, the beds were like rocks! I am glad we did not stay there for more than one night. Despite this, it was in a pretty village with lovely restaurants etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights before going to Courcheval. The family room adequately slept the four of us without feeling cramped and was clean . The bathroom however was seriously in need of an upgrade, I wasnt wild about the burgundy and blue colour scheme and tiles were cracked and falling off . When we arrived various junior ski teams were staying which meant we had to leap over young Russians who were using the corridors for their training and gym sessions everytime we wanted to go to our room which wasnt ideal.
On the plus side the breakfasts are great and the evening meal ok although I would rather go up into the village to eat; The waiter was particularly nice and we always received extemely good service from him.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Tiny room, fair enough.
State of distinct ill-repair, not ideal.
Non-existant customer service = best not to come here.

One night we elected to eat in and ended up waiting best part of an hour before we'd even ordered. Lots of 'une minute' but we ended up walking out thoroughly unimpressed and hungry.

All came to a head when at check out the manager was confused over final cost. You'd have thought he might be able to work things out but he got things horribly wrong and maanged to get irate along the way despite the best efforts of a tremendously diplomatic friend who incidentally could speak fluent french.

After finally settling the bill at circa €2000, he then tried to charge a further €35 for the privielege of leaving our gear in one of the rooms. Fair enough you may think, until you relaise he'd said €25 a minute before. Point being that quibbling over €10 left us feeling a little conned especially after the attempt to chnage the room rates at the final moment.

Breakfast was very good - especially the freshly squeezed ornage juice but at €120 a night I'd want a reasonable room, reasonable service and a decent breakfast. 1 out of the 3 simply isn't good enough.

Cleaners were also very friendly, and easy on the eye if you know what I mean!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanGiddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Tiny rooms, small, old... I would never go back. We followed the advice from the other reviews and decided to stay in this hotel during our skiing trip and what a mistake!
The rooms were small and dirty and in a bad state of repair. The bedsheets had holes in them and the walls' paint was peeling not to talk about the bathrooms!... not what you expect from a 120€ a night room.
The surprise comes as well at the check out when they try to charge you extra for absolutely everything... 25€ to keep the room until later.... The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast which to be fair was very good. I would still avoid it at all costs!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Got 2 nights here at the last minute. Lovely room: the bathroom was a bit old and tired, but still clean. The hotel generally looks in the process of refurbishment, so the decoration wasn't perfect in places, but it was comfortable, and the service was excellent. Jacuzzi/pool area looked inviting although we didn't get a chance to try it out, and the ski lockers were relatively new & very good except that it was a bit of a struggle to fit in two snowboards. Breakfast was a continental buffet and was plentiful, and dinner was fabulous. It was a short walk to the main gondola, very well placed. My only complaint was that there was no control on the radiator, and we had to open the balcony doors!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiftneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.5 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
35.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
#7 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#11 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
#10 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc

Property: Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Address: 734 avenue du Mont D Arbois, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 stars with bar, restaurant, lounge, sauna, swimming pool, garden and private car park. Ideal for skiing, Sites seeing Mountain biking, hiking, Spa vacations and other mountain activities. Located at 250 meters of the hiking footpaths and gondola of the Evasion Mount Blanc (445 km of slopes) and 5 min with foot from the village of St Gervais. The rooms all are equipped with shower or bathroom, LCD TV with satellite and DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mont Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing